💡I Love Lamp! 💡Art Prompt Contest 💡THEME: Light (Entry)💡

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

I love Lamp!.png

Greetings, Steemians!

I made art! Me! I did it!

Now, why would I go and do a thing like that?

Jenny's Art Contest, of course!

This week's theme was light.

As SOON as I saw it, I thought, "I love lamp!", and knew the course I needed to take.


And then I remembered... I'm not good at drawing! But I'm gonna go for it.😎

Here is my muse: Lamp. Lovely, lovely Lamp. Lamp is the best Lamp. Though there's another lamp that became jealous and starting flashing whilst we were talking about how much I love Lamp... #truestory 😲 Here he is. (Yes, it's a he.) I just went and snapped this pick so the shadows are different....😏 And please disregard the weed paraphernalia... it's legal here. 🙃

And the drawing of love:


I used graphite and charcoal pencils. I didn't find an eraser until the next day, but it worked really well! Quite frankly, I'm impressed I can tell it's a lamp. 😀

From here, I began to edit the photo in a program. I came up with some really good ones. I'll share those (obviously, you don't need to see the awful ones 😏). These are my top 6 I created. And at the bottom, I'll choose ONE to enter. (If you're astute, you'll already know the one.😎 ) 😏 And since, I'm pretty late to this contest....

Which one is YOUR favorite?🙃

"Lamp in Space"

Lamp space.jpg

"Lamp en Fuego"
Lamp fire.jpg

"Smokin'"
Lamp smoky.jpg

"Shadow Doodles"
Lamp pen art.jpg

"Cracked"
Lamp sharp.jpg

OFFICIAL ENTRY : "I LOVE LAMP"

Lamp final.jpg

💗 This last one really shows my feelings of amore towards Lamp.💗


If by any chance you'd like to vote for me, I'd be most appreciative. Simply pop over to the CONTEST and vote on my comment. You're the best!


That'll do it. You've now seen a new side of me, and know a deep, dark secret: I love Lamp.



New here? Wanna know a Steemit Secret? Check out The Secret to Earning Followers by @chrisroberts. He just may be on to something... 😎


Need help formatting your posts? Check out this great (if I do say so myself) tutorial:

Are you stealing Google images?! Learn how to do it LEGALLY:


If you find yourself needing help or just have a question or two, find me on Steemit.chat or Discord.😀


All images were taken from the OP (original poster), created/taken by me, or from Bitmoji.com. Make your own today!


As always, thanks for stopping by!

Hugs & Kisses 💋carrie signature.gif

carrieallen signature 3.png

steemusa carrie long.png

Sort:  

My favorite for sure was the "Lamp en Fuego" because it reminded me of the need to be a light in a land of darkness. There is nothing like the fire inside a person that comes from loneliness, friendlessness and despair. I will always remember some of the worst pain that I ever felt was being at Summer Camp and having no friends or anyone that I knew there. I became so homesick that I could not stop crying, no matter what the Councillors did I just kept crying uncontrollably. Even after someone in the family came and picked me up I still cried until my Mom and Dad arrived to take me home.

I had been to Camp the two previous Summers with no problems at all, but then I had my older brother and an older cousin who were in another section of the Camp. I had also made friends early on and had somebody that I could trust and hang with. But that year there was no one, the other boys were all mean to me and the councilors ignored me. Then some bullies broke into my locker and stole all my money, that was the last straw.

My point being that I have felt horrible fires that others can't see, they burn in the dark places in our lives and can only be extinguished by some light filtering in. In my case that light was the comfort of someone that I knew and trusted being nearby, in the darkness of loneliness and insecurity I was burning with the need of a friend or some love and kindness. I Love Lamp!

Wow. I totally understand.

I wish more adults would/could remember what it was like to be a teenager (I work with teens). During that time particularly, we are struggling with learning who we are and it's VERY easy to get stuck in the darkness.

You're completely right, the darkness is extinguished by little bits of light until the darkness simply can't exist. That's the thing about darkness, shine a little light and it simply disappears. I often try to be that light wherever I go (it's not terribly hard for me 😍).

Ironically, perhaps my choice of a literal light in this challenge had much to do with my own journey.

Thank you so much for pointing this out and reminding me what art does for us without us even knowing.

I hope to see ya around more! Do you participate in contests? I find them the best way to interact and get to know each other here. 😀

I have just started finding out about the different challenges and contests and that is helping me to meet and get to know new people on Steemit. I just won my first contest "Deadpost Initiative" this week. I will be looking for other contests that I qualify for as time goes by. I'm writing on Steemit for both challenges and contests right now and that's keeping me busy! I like to read and curate what others are doing also, so it is amazing how fast the day can blaze past! 😎

Let us both always be found walking in the light! 👍

P.S. I'm working with teens again at our Church, I always feel younger myself when I'm around a group of teenagers.

Oh! That contest is so nice! It's true a LOT of great content gets lost here. But before Steemit, all of it got lost (basically), so at least we've got a chance. 😉

I'm only 36, but really love working with teens. They need that special understanding.... of how it feels to be them during a HUGE transitional period of their little lives. I find I feel MUCH younger (or have to) when I'm around them more often. It's great. 😍

That is a good time of life to work with teens, you are not too old to relate to their problems and their likes and dislikes. I'm 60 now and it is hard for me to even understand their language or to relate to the things that they are going through. I'm having fun teaching them how we did it in the old days though, and you know what, it's new and fresh to them now and they seem to like it. You know that I'm a cool guy too for my age lol, I'm not a complete stick in the mud like the older generation that they are used to, and I'm not a complete idiot when it comes to technology so that helps also.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 98.0% @mamqmuqit upgoat, thanks to @carrieallen
It consists of $5.57 vote and $1.29 curation
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

😍 I can always count on ME and @minnowbooster ! Lol! Thank you for existing!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @carrieallen to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

this stuff is awesomeee !
yea apparently you can ! :D

Lol! I always surprise myself. 🙃

Congratulations @carrieallen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Yes, you can!!! That came out really nice! You should be proud. I have no idea how you really achieved this image, I am that unartsy!

I love the subtleness punctuated by a flash of color.

Beautiful entry! Good luck!!! tip!

Thank you! Program editors have filters... it's like cheating 😎 Cheating like a boss. 😎

I mean... I do play with them and tweak such... But mostly, someone already wrote the code. I'll get better. 😍 At everything. 😉

Ohhh! You cheat so nicely. ;)

I love it @carrieallen, wonderful collection of your artistic rendition of that lamp you design....very nice!

Up-Voted for creativity and for sharing your fabulous flowerly filtered fancy lamp.

Ooooo! What fabulous alliteration! And thank you!

most welcome @carrieallen....most welcome :)

Congratulations @carrieallen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59838.11
ETH 2384.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51