#MeatyMondays episode 5 - Win a @SteemBasicIncome share

in #contest6 years ago

#MeatyMondays?

Every week, on a Monday, I'm going to be giving away a @SteemBasicIncome share (more if the posts become popular). In doing so, I increase my own @SteemBasicIncome shares as well... so it's a win-win for everyone really.

Now I could have just randomly picked one of my followers every week (which I might still do, so make sure you're following me :P), but instead I've decided to give away a new share every week to a braai loving follower.

Last Week's Winner?

There 5 awesome entries in last week's competition (#MeatyMondays eps 4), so I put their names into a hat, donned a blindfold and put my hand in to draw the lucky winner.

So Who Won?

... and the winner is.... DRUM ROLL PLEASE ........ the winner is.... @karolczyk1987

Congrats and high-5s ... and thanks for playing with @karolczyk1987!

So what was on @BraaiBoy's grill this week?

I had the very good fortune of heading off to Bataleur's Nest, a private game reserve in Klaserie, Kruger National Park this last week. I only got back a few hours ago (which is also why this post is a little late this week... and also why I haven't made any other posts... p.s. keep an eye out for my latest BraaiBoy TV coming in a few hours... if @dtube uploading play along).

Anyway... the reason I was at Bataleur's Nest was to help judge their annual biltong competition this year.


a tough job, but someone has to taste all the biltong ;-)

... and being a game farm, we decided to do 2 x rooibokkies (aka impala) on a spitbraai. I was the first time I'd ever done venison on the spit, and to be honest, it was a little dry for my liking... but that just inspired me to do more of it now, and try remedy that... Watch This Space!



job's done... time top carve up and chow

OK... so now it's your turn... show me your (recent) braai pics and stand a chance to win that @SteemBasicIncome share.

Rules

  1. You must ReSteem this post - an upvote is appreciated, but not required.
  2. Share a picture of your braai or braaivleis (p.s. "Braai" = BBQ & "BraaiVleis" = meat).
    That's it! Easy Peasy!

P.S. You can win more @SteemBasicIncome shares:

  • Every Wednesday
    Guessing what's on my grill in my "WysJouVleis" contests
  • Playing dice for free
    Head over to @PlayDice for details

UpVotes & ReSteems are held in high (e)steem :P

If this post is older than 7 days please support by upvoting my latest post

vote latest post view latest post

All my @dtube videos here:

Play Dice for free, win STEEM & @SteemBasicIncome

https://steemit.com/@playdice

Connect with me on Social:

Steemit: https://steemit.com/@braaiboy
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BraaiBoy
Twitter: https://twitter.com/BraaiBoy
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/BraaiBoy

View Printable Recipes on my website:

http://braaiboy.co.za/braai-recipes/


BraaiBoy TeamSouthAfrica Footer.png
footer by @bearone for #TeamSouthAfrica

Steemit Bloggers
animation by @zord189 for #SteemitBloggers

Sort:  

Traveling bbq pork balls braiiboy contest fitinfun.JPG

Here are some travelling bbq fermented pork balls from Bangkok. You can see a bit of the motorcycle in the back of the frame. The grill and fixings are on a sidecar.

This nice man arrived where I used to live each night at 7:30 and his squeaker horn made me react like Pavlov's dog. I can't get these in Malaysia as far as I know and I really miss them. 20 thb for 10 +1 more that he gave me as a loyal customer. They came with sliced raw ginger and cucumbers and a lot of raw cabbage. Wrap all that around one of these balls and pop it all into your mouth for an awesome treat!

When you say "balls", are we talking "rolled into a ball" or "gonads"? I've had "skaappere" aka Sheep Testes before... and there's a video on the Internet somewhere of me chundering in the garden for 5 minutes. Needless to say, I think I'll give it a pass if it's the former :-)

Either way... thanks for sharing. The anticipation is growing each week to see what you're gonna share next :-)

Well, I guess it would be more interesting the other way, but this is ground pork, mixed with rice and spices and set out somewhere to ferment until it is fermented to perfection. Then it gets stuffed into intestines and "balled off" with more intestines. The vendor has to cut them apart for you with something like pliers.

I guess most westerners don't like this and any new vendor would tell me "It's sour!" But I love the stuff, and I hope I find it here.

Now I will have to up my game for next week :)

Ah! Yeah... now THAT'S something I wouldn't mind tasting. :-)

Braai Time!

IMG-20130507-00250.jpg

Selecting the right piece of biltong would surely be difficult, some like it slightly moist, some like fat, others love it dried and crispy, glad it was not me selecting the right piece.

Impala on a spit needs loads of TLC injecting meat to keep moist, that much I do know, never cooked one myself.

Yeah... making biltong is a lot harder than just eating/judging it :P

Thanks for weighing in re the spit. We injected it with lamb fat... a lot. I suspect we may have let it go to long as well. Will take it off at medium rare net time.

I really don't think there is much that compete with a delicious spit braai

Fortunately it's not a competition... share anything you braaied recently, and you're in the draw :-)

FWIW: I'd give this attempt a 5/10... I still have a lot of work to do to make venison tender and juicy on a spit.

Yeah I think the fact that it is such a lean meat makes it a huge challenge to cook. I look forward to seeing some recipes once you have perfected it.

I keep forgetting to take pics of the braai. Did a delicious rump steak and pork swords (sausages) this past weekend. I use the excuse that the kids love the sausages but in fact I just can't stay away from them.

That rooibok surely looks great, although I can believe it is a bit dry!!

Indeed... the flavour was amazing...will try using double the amount of fat injection next time, and not let it cook as long as a lamb for example.

IMG_20180714_003509.jpg

Here is my BBQ entry.

Looking Good!

Thanks for sharing... check back next week Monday for the winner and for a new competition.

Yeah it was delicious... Thanks... Hope I win BBQ sbi share... Lolzzz

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by 🔥🔥🔥BraaiBoy🔥🔥🔥 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36