You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #MeatyMondays episode 5 - Win a @SteemBasicIncome share

in #contest6 years ago

Traveling bbq pork balls braiiboy contest fitinfun.JPG

Here are some travelling bbq fermented pork balls from Bangkok. You can see a bit of the motorcycle in the back of the frame. The grill and fixings are on a sidecar.

This nice man arrived where I used to live each night at 7:30 and his squeaker horn made me react like Pavlov's dog. I can't get these in Malaysia as far as I know and I really miss them. 20 thb for 10 +1 more that he gave me as a loyal customer. They came with sliced raw ginger and cucumbers and a lot of raw cabbage. Wrap all that around one of these balls and pop it all into your mouth for an awesome treat!

Sort:  

When you say "balls", are we talking "rolled into a ball" or "gonads"? I've had "skaappere" aka Sheep Testes before... and there's a video on the Internet somewhere of me chundering in the garden for 5 minutes. Needless to say, I think I'll give it a pass if it's the former :-)

Either way... thanks for sharing. The anticipation is growing each week to see what you're gonna share next :-)

Well, I guess it would be more interesting the other way, but this is ground pork, mixed with rice and spices and set out somewhere to ferment until it is fermented to perfection. Then it gets stuffed into intestines and "balled off" with more intestines. The vendor has to cut them apart for you with something like pliers.

I guess most westerners don't like this and any new vendor would tell me "It's sour!" But I love the stuff, and I hope I find it here.

Now I will have to up my game for next week :)

Ah! Yeah... now THAT'S something I wouldn't mind tasting. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59131.70
ETH 2599.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40