Art Explosion Week 30 Entry: Deviance -- The Art of the Eye Patch Part 3 --HONORABLE MENTION!

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Art Explosion Week 30: Theme Deviance.  Deviance is "To depart from usual and excepted standards."    

Here is a deviant leather project can I make quickly for this contest... I know, something that comes from what I call "Mad Max" line of leather goods, or AKA, The Great Eye Patch of the Apoccalypse"   

More of the back story of how these are made...
In the post below I have done a photo blog showing how I make eye patches -- making the cups, laminating the hide, and coloring.  

https://steemit.com/art/@armadilloman/the-art-of-the-eye-patch-part-2-an-armadilloman-photo-blog-making-a-tough-looking-eye-patch

The next post is a photo blog outlining how I take plain old cowhide and hand distress and color it to get my the look I call "Mad Max."

https://steemit.com/art/@armadilloman/leather-is-my-art-medium-the-great-wallets-phone-cases-and-hats-of-the-apocalypse-part-2-making-the-leather

Here are some shots from process of making this eyepatch today... 

A piece of 3/4 oz vegetable tanned cowhide is distressed and textured for the red side of the patch. 

 

This now textured leather piece is colored in red with burgundy splotches. 

 

The strap pieces cut from other textured pieces  I had left over from another project  and brown piece is laminated to one side of the eye cup . This is a right eye were making. 

 

All the parts glued together and riveted with distressed (the plating sanded off and some rusted) rivets. 

 

Gluing and then riveting on the straps. 

 

Then lastly the holes are punched, the buckle mounted, a strap keeper made and then.... 

 ... all is coated with a clear acrylic finish and the eye patch is done. 


As always, ask me any questions about, life, leather work and the universe.

WANT MORE VOTES AND FOLLOWS?  Sign up for these free applications and get GUARANTEED upvotes and followers!  

SteemFollower
https://steemfollower.com/?r=14068
SteemEngine  
https://steemengine.net/join?r=2278

***EDITED TO ADD:  THIS ENTRY RECEIVED HONORABLE MENTION IN THE CONTEST! CHECK IT OUT! *** . https://steemit.com/art/@juliakponsford/art-explosion-week-30-winners-the-theme-was-deviance

Sort:  

Great series of photos showing the process!

And all taken with my blasted cell phone! I really don't get the SLR out much.

Yeah, we don't even own a real camera anymore, at least not one that I can find.

I love the processes!

It's interesting that the dyes don't come out the same color. Really adds to the artistic touch because you have to know and understand the different effects.

I didn't realize the texture was added too. It looks great and has a lot of character!

How long have you been practicing leather work?

Thanks Nate!

Most dyes are transparent to translucent so you have an additive effect. Some color schemes I do have 5 or 6separate color steps. I started texturing my own leather when I just could not buy anything done at the tannery that satisfied me.

I have done leather off and on (more off then on) since since I was in Jr High shop class....in 1973. Professionally for 2 years.

Oh nice! So you're what I call a grown-up lol

Reminds me of a pottery glaze. They go on one color and come out another.

Yeah, I'm a big boy now :)

Congratulations - You were selected to receive a 100% up-vote from @fivefreeupvotes. Enter once a day
UP-VOTE WINNER.jpg

this is really cool, where i can order one dopet steemit, like wallet @papa-pepper.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63049.68
ETH 3022.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50