My Content Creation Toolbox - Must Have Tools For Every Content Creator...

in #content6 years ago (edited)

My Content Creation Toolbox.png

Content creation These two words didn't seem to be around a few years ago....Now everyone is becoming a content creator of some sort...

How does one become a 'content creator' in the first place?

For me it was easy....I just wrote about what I loved on my blogs! And that was working from home.

And it then transformed into live streaming, recorded videos, podcasts, social media posts and heck...Even a self-published book.

I was hooked and had a huge passion for sharing what I loved with the world. And it hasn't changed, sure the technology does but when you are obsessed with what you love, creating content becomes second nature.

Over the years, I've used certain tools....Some are no-brainers and others might get you scratching your head. But I hope my little cheat sheet helps you discover the uber-passionate content creator that's hiding in you...

1. My Personal Library

There is a reason I do book reviews on @dtube every Friday. I love to read! I truly believe self-education can lead you to fortunes but more importantly you become better after reading a book. And nothing gets my creative juices flowing more than reading from a marketing, business or personal development master. I'll say it over and over again, the best investment you can ever make is to build your personal library!

2. My Blue Yeti Micrphone

Isn't she lovely?

IMG_0446.png

I record videos and live stream a lot. So a good microphone is a must. The best thing about the Blue Yeti is that it doesn't require a mortgage payment to purchase it. And it's a USB mic which means....You also don't need a PHd in computer science to set it up. Plug it in and away you go!

3. My iPhone

Or Android. Or smart phone. Or heck, whatever floats your boat...But my phone is my lifeline for content creation. Here's something I'm ashamed to say...I have this fancy Canon EOS camera sitting in my office that I've never used. Why? Because nothing beats...Pulling out your phone and taking a pic. Or recording a video. Phones these days are crazy powerful and simple to use. I like that :)

4. My Journal

Sometimes I'm reading and take a pic with Evernote on my iPhone (see above...lol) when I find a quote I want to remember, but one look into my Moleskines and you'll find about a decade plus of ideas, thoughts, quotes and inspiration that I've written down for future reference. And if you knew how many pieces of content came from journaling, you'd understand how important it is to my creative process. Spend a few bucks and invest in a journal...Your future self will thank you!

IMG_0447.png

5 My Whiteboard & Bamboo Spark

I love to mind map ideas and nothing is better than putting your thoughts on a big huge white board and just...Stare at it! Weird right? And I love to take one ideas and see how many others come from that single thought. It's such a powerful technique for content creation and developing business ideas....I also love tools like my Bamboo Spark.

I admit, I haven't been using it much yet here on Steemit, but that may change :)

IMG_0448.jpg
Written on my Bamboo Spark :)

6. Steemit!

You won't believe the inspiration you will find my watching and reading some other Steemians produce epic content! And the best part is, we have access to it RIGHT NOW and RIGHT HERE! I'm honored to be a part of this community and can't wait to see what 2018 will bring. And the things I've learned in my short 2 months here have been...A massive blessing!

Poke around, you'll get some fantastic ideas from your fellow Steemians on what to write about, podcast about, stream about and do videos about! No need to go anywhere else online, we've got the best people right here!

7. And finally....And this comes as no surprise....

Untitled design.png

Coffee.

Glorious glorious glorious java!

I mean...Without this....How can we ever survive :)

I hope you enjoyed my 'must have content creation tools'...

Is there something I missed? What would you recommend for other creators to try out?


UpvoteFollowResteem.png

Sort:  

Journals are something every self-respecting write should have. I know that. I've read it over and over again. I don't have one. Now I've seen a pic of yours I'm inspired to go ahead and start journaling. Just another reason why I still follow you

LOL Thanks man. Great to see you on Steemit too. Looking forward to reading your content :)

I let my phone go to waste when it comes to content creation. Something I need to leverage more is my thoughts and ideas by journaling. Again, good post Jon.

Yeah man, write everything down. You may think you'll remember something but if it's not down on paper consider the idea gone. Glad it helped :)

yea, I mean your posts are always useful and contain good information.

excellent creation D./@jongolson
please come on my blog

Thank you jongolson for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 1.62% on this post!

Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem!

The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me!

For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily?

To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

This post has received a 1.95 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @jongolson

You got a 12.91% upvote from @inciter courtesy of @jongolson!

Great collection of content creation tools, Jon! Here's one thing which is not a tool in the strict sense, but very useful for any of them: attention to details. I also need to use my phone, but also journaling more to capture my thoughts.

Thanks man. Yeah for sure. I tend to 'fire and then aim' and miss some things when I do. Something I need to work on for sure.

The upside is you take action sooner than others.

Yeah man, and that's always a tough sell to people....Telling them they need to take action. Daily. It's not what most wanna hear.

You got a 2.17% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @jongolson!

Lol, Coffee is DEFINITELY a must! I'm looking to get a new Mic so I'm glad I now know what you're using. It sounds really clear and saves me having to research hundreds of mics. So thanks!

LOL Yeah man, required throughout the entire day! Yeah the Yeti is great. Affordable and some great tech. It's not XLR quality but for what we're doing here...Perfect.

Planning & Mind Mapping are Powerful - I'm right at the stage right now for doing some 2018 planning and mind mapping, the basic ideas are down on paper but now it's time for "careful and detailed planning" No ship ever got to the port without first plotting it's course and I think I might need to get one of those sexy microphones for all the great news and events about to take place this year. Thanks for providing the value you do!

Ha ha ha ha Yeah man, these are great. Very affordable too but functional and work great.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51