---Is there a bit of light at the end of the tunnel?--Project front wall and gate in Thailand--Part 5

in #construction7 years ago (edited)

G'day everybody,another update/progress report.It is very nice to see how it all comes together.
For new readers,who want to start at the beginning,the links are right here:

Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4


The next day,the concrete truck came with a load of premixed concrete..There was a bit of a problem at the beginning.No concrete came out.Well you wonder why?With the newest model out in market,you won't expect any problem...Jokes aside,after a while it worked.I don't know how old this truck is,it looks fairly old to me.

concrete1.jpg


concrete2.jpg


Nearly the entire driveway is done,just the last patch of concrete.Even the boss is kind of helping(not really)


driveway row finish.jpg


This is the view towards the house.We gonna finishing it off with "sanding",that's how they call it here...later.They will do the same around the house for a walk way.We don't want tiles,bricks or simple concrete.


primer paint.jpg


The painter(me) has finally moved his bum too and started with the primer paint on the wall.
By that time,when the drive way was finished with the concrete,we started to move stuff from my parents in law house to our new house.Hired a couple of locals(relatives)of my wife and she has overseen the whole process..


frame around poles.jpg


An addition on top of the poles,they made a frame around,they were ordered and came finished.They mounted it on the top of the poles.I quite like it.We had to pay extra for that,about 1600 baht ~ which is about 48 US$ or 60 AUD for the whole lot including the work.


light grey paint.jpg


I was very busy with all this painting.The frames around the poles and the light grey on some parts of the structures.The remaining bits gonna be in a darker grey.
We have almost a bucket each of the 2 grey colors remaining from the house built.The foreman from PD HOUSE wanted to take the colors with him,but I insisted they gonna stay here.So I looked that they were in my hands and gave him no chance to take it.He tried it once before,I just called him off.The buckets were already on his ute/pick up car.

In the meantime,we had the second boss of PD HOUSE in Nakonratchasima/ Korat and an office lady here for a visit.They wanted the last installment of the payment for the house.
I knew it will be a long and never ending meeting,which it was.I hate this sort of things with Thais....You talk and talk and talk and make no progress.They complained on top that we moved into the house and made a drive way and a lot of bla bla bla.I told them(my wife),that the contract is finished for over a month now and it's not their business anymore.I finally walked off at a time....enough is enough.....
We insisted all the time we're not gonna pay until everything is a 100% finished.They didn't understand it.My wife explained it beforehand on the phone it will be a waste of time....which it was for us and for them.

So long story short,they gonna come and fix and replace the missing,scratched materials and then we meet again.I can't wait for that.....it's gonna be a lot of fun....I really hope that we can finish off with PD HOUSE,the sooner the better.I get almost sick when I just hear that name.
The good thing is,we are very happy with this new crew who does the drive way,gate and the walk way around the house.


All pictures are made around middle of July 2017

Stay tuned...more to come...


Thanks for visiting
Liked this article and pictures? Feel free to comment and upvote and resteem.
Urs

follow me!

tiny aus banner.png



Sort:  

Congratulations. This post features in my latest Curation Article. @MrSquiggle - supporting the #TeamAustralia community and promoting creative content. Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @mrsquiggle to continue to support the #TeamAustralia community.

Thank you very much for featuring my article here.It was a big surprise for me,when i saw it...
cheers

Hi Urs, thanks for this post. Your PD House mates seem to be very "business" type people - screwing little liars. Hope everything is swiftly resolved. Tell me, I looked at the drive way pics and see the concrete slab is about 1" lower than the border stones. Is some layer still going to come on top of that? The wall seems to have turned out great. Can't wait to see the inserts and gate.

thanks Jegor,they all are...not only PD HOUSE but they are the worst we dealt with so far..
we (me and my wife came up with a good plan)it seems as it is very common here in thailand,they all sweet talk to get your money,than dont hear,see them anymore for quite a while....or have one excuse after another one.....make promises(dates)on which they should finish,but never happens..

yes the wall looks very good,im very happy with the local crew..
there will be a layer of small stones on top of it,that inch to make it even.i dont know the exact name for it....
will show on next post(which should not take that long anymore until i will post it)
it looks good and they just finished with the inserts yesterday...still some patch up work to do....

Urs, I think you mean the small grit with resin? Yes, that is high quality. Would like to see the wall when it's finished. What did you say the whole project cost you? Would you build again on the greenfield, or go for a used house in future?

yes on top of the drive way will be very small rocks,kind of gravel,mixed with concrete and synthetic iron oxide...you will see it in part 6...
front wall and gate did cost me 170'000 baht which is about 6500 AUD..with remote motor,the whole lot without the painting,which i did..the painter blew the budget....lol....

well that is a good question,if i could buy a nice lot of land close to the beach with an old house,i might would renovate it,or build a bit a cheaper version....
i would do it again,which some little changes...as you get smarter.....lol...in overall,im very happy with the outcome,indeed.

This post has received a 58.82 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @urs. Send 0.100 or more SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Looks like a big project for sure. The grey with the white really makes the gate stand out well, very nice.

it is,or better it was a big project the house....the gate we said after a while thank you very much....
the white will be a grey color...its only primer paint...you will see it in the next part...its gonna look even better...white is too fussy for a wall here...

I am a new steemians, maybe i should study first with you, regards know me
https://steemit.com/@techinformation please follow me
I followed and upvoted.Would you like to follow and upvote me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61720.10
ETH 2429.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63