Punishment - constrained writing

in #constrainedwriting6 years ago (edited)

Cold and dark. Everything around me is cold and dark, but me. I wish I could be so empty and emotionless like the dirt surrounding me. But my fate is much worse, and I deserved this, the harshest of all punishments. There is no greater pain but to be reminded of failures for all of eternity.

Time is eating me away, I feel it, but my punsihment is not the slowly death creeping on me. My punishment is that He still thinks of me as His most prized posession, but God knows I am not . I am nothing but a useless tool, that let down those who were dearest to me. Buried in a grave with HIM. My only love, my only true friend. My dear Tobly.

image

He is nothing more than a skeleton now, His beauty has rotted away. Yet.., yet He still holds me firmly, even in death He holds me close to where His once beating heart was.

I still remeber how tall and handsome He was with a strong jaw and a thick black beard. He looked like a king, in fact He was my king. But his hands I liked the most. They were strong and always full of blisters, but they were not rough. Those hands were hands of a loving father, of a dedicated husband, of a hardworking lumberjack... those were His hands, my friends hands.

He was beloved by all. His greatness and kindness could not be unseen by other people. That is actually how Him and I met. The roof of the blacksmitsh's workshop got destroyed in a big storm and He built him a new roof for free. He simply couldn't stand watching the poor blacksmith work in a roofless shop. To repay Him, blacksmith created me, his best work- I really heard him say that.

When He brought me home His wife Arlena and His daughters Enna and Marla were thrilled to see me, the blacksmith's masterpiece. I was so full of myself.
After some time Tobly and I became inseparable. We often went to woods to work. It wasn't hard, actually I enjoyed it. He always encouraged me to be the best I can be. After an honest day of work He always praised me. In front of others also. But the best part was when we would get home. Every night He sharpened me and cleaned me. He used to say : "*You are providing food for my family, I will always take care of you *". I knew He really meant it, every word. Only now I realise how blessed I was to just know Him, let alone to be part of His family.

image

I was surrounded by love, until that faithful morning. Village bells rang loudly. I've heard them before, when a pack of wolves entered the village so I wasn't too nervous. Tobly picked me up and said: "Girl, duty calls, lets be brave". But I soon realized this time there were no wolves. It was a band of raiders intended on pillaging and burning. Monsters. But His courage didn't falter. I could feel His grip tightening, His resolve solid as a rock. He ran towards one raider who was about to struck an old lady laying on a ground. Stop - He yelled, getting the attention of a murderous bandit. Raider swang his , already blooded, sword at us but Tobly managed to evade with ease, then He struck, aiming at monster's leather shield. Now was my chance to save the day, to save my friend.
But I failed. I failed even to get the raider off balance. After all the woods I chopped, after all the trees I knocked down, I failed against the simple leather shield. Why?
Because I choked. I got scared. And beacuse of that Toblies broad chest got pierced by that monster's sword. I yelled and screamed, but no one heard me. No one noticed that a good soul, the best soul died.
All because of me.

I was in a shock, but I knew I was to blame. Moments later Arlena dropped on her knees, sobbing and crying over the dead body of her beloved one. The girls remained locked in the house, better for them. No one could console Arlena, or me.

Days passed and funeral was organized. The biggest funeral the county has ever seen. Everyone was crying and grieving for the loss of a great man, my Tobly.
His wife decided that it would be best if He was with me. Did she honor Tobly in that way, or was it just that she could not bare to look at me anymore. I don't know, but I don't blame her. I deserve resent and anger, and much, much more.

Me and Tobly forever, that would sounded great long time ago, but now I cannot stop but wonder does he know that I am the reason for His early departure from His girls and what is even worse, do I want Him to know?


Image source:

pinterest.com
https://www.videogamesartwork.com/games/blade-soul/burning-village


This is my entry for the constrained writing contest organized by @svashta

Sort:  

Dao bi ti savjet sto mi se svidja, ok ono sto je bit da radnja drzi citaoca za ekranom u ovom slucaju. Tu si dobar i dobar si u drugom segmentu, po meni je to sažeti nekako na citljivu duzinu bloga tj. price.

Recimo moje reagiranje na ovaj blog je bilo preletio sam da vidim kolko ima vidio ok velicinom idem procitati i nisam pozalio... Eto moje neko iskustvo mozda ce ti znaciti u daljnjem radu i napredku..:D

Znan sta oces rec, ali nije lako puno sazet pricu, kad razvijan neku radnju. To mi je lakse kad ocu uvatit neku scenu ili neku emociju

Great story, from the perspective of an ax.

Good luck with the contest, this is one of my favorites.

Thank you for your support. I didn't try to hide the object, I just didn't explicitly mention it. What I intended to do is to show the connection between the tool or a weapon and a man. It was very common in the old times, but it is also common today. I am also like that. I prefer some old stuff with all their flawes rather than buying new stuff. Too sentimental

You got all of that across in your story.

Worth reading twice.

Thx again :)

Wow! That was awesome. The best story I have ever heard told from the perspective of an ax. I really felt for that ax. Great job!

Thank you for the compliments. Like I replied earlier connection between a human and a tool or obnect can really exist, just this time it was writen from the perspective of an ax

Great story! Oduševljena sam steemitom ako radi ničeg drugog onda radi toga što otkrivam ovakve tekstove. Gušt te je čitat, baš je :)

Sta da kazen. Fala ti puno. Meni je neopisivo drago da neko i cita moje svrljanje :) haha

Švrljanje je ponekad poanta svega, kad nestane kreacije nestat će i života... Odlični su ti tekstovi i thanks kaj sam prek njih došla do constrainedwriting-a, bać ću se probat okušat :)

Provaj, interesantno je skroz. Dobijes neku instrukciju, ali uopce te ne ogranicava, nego bude nekako jezgra oko koje razvijes pricu. Poticajno je dosta. Nisan siguran jel znas za #steemitbalkan i @steembalkan. Tu ima naseg svita dosta pa se citamo, ima svakakvih autora, nadje se bas zanimljivih stvari

Uuuu, još malih hrvata posvuda :) Hvala na linkovima, budem i to pogledala. Ma newbie sam totalni, tek par dana na steemitu pa sam hvatam sve informacije, malo mi je overload. Veseli me onaj Discord server za hrvate na steemitu, valjda bu i tamo korisnih informacija.

Polako, povatat ces sve. Ima mali miljun pojmova. Ja svaki dan nesto novo vidin. Procita san ti pricu ovu zadnju. Bas je bomba. Miljun malih asocijacija mi je doslo dok san cita. Sta da kazen imas mota. Followan definitivno. Cujemo se, vidimo se jos. Pozdrav

Awwww. thank you. Čitamo se...

You really have a way of making characters feel "alive", @spalatino.
First your story "Donkey", and now here... You really manage to give your characters something that we can all cling on to.
Very, very well done!

Did she honor Tobly in that way, or was it just that she could not bare to look at me anymore. I don't know, but I don't blame her.

Loved that part especially.

Thank you very much for your entry.

Edit:
Oh and.. I'm rather happy you didn't try to conceal what the item is. Knowing what it is made the story all that much more immersive.

I am glad you liked it. It means a lot to me considering this story is close to fantasy genre I really prefer. Lookung forward to our next assignment

But I failed. I failed even to get the raider off balance. After all the woods I chopped, after all the trees I knocked down, I failed against the simple leather shield. Why?

This broke my heart.

That was the intention.. hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69279.36
ETH 3870.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73