Constrained Writing Contest #15 – The Waiting

This is my entry for the Constrained Writing Contest #15 + Winners of Constrained Writing Contest #14, hosted by @svashta.

Each week @svashta gives us a different writing constraint for a short fiction story. This week’s constraint is: Write a story from the perspective of an inanimate object, but never tell us explicitly what it is. The story must be a minimum of 250 words.


Imgur


I stay here each night, in the dark, waiting. The time seems to tick on slowly. Each passing moment longer than the one before. And I wonder what she does without me; how tired she must be. I wonder if she thinks of me; if she wonders how I am; if she thinks of me at all.

I’m not alone, she keeps me with my family, but without her I am empty. I am cold, and useless. My every reason for being is to serve her. Oh, how I wish she had more time in the day to hold me close. To feel her warm breath against me; her hands wrapped around me; grasping with desperate delight.

In the mornings, I can hear noises down the hall. I sit and wait and listen. I want to jump at the thought of her coming to see me, but I cannot move. If I knew how to count I would count the seconds, but I don’t have a handle on my math. Was it fifty seconds in a minute? I don’t remember.

Finally, I hear the water run outside my door. A sure sign she is getting closer. I can hear the cat meowing, trying to delay her from her visit. Be gone cat! Nope. She stopped to feed the beast. Why does she talk so sweetly to that animal? Does she not realize this feline takes her attention from me?

Oh, I hear her. But, she walks past again. I can hear the gurgle of the machine, so I know she will be here soon. But until she returns, I sit waiting. Now I’m nervous. What if she doesn’t pick me? I look around at my competition. There seems to be a full house today.

I hear her footsteps approaching; getting closer, and more distinct. Finally, I see the light. She glances my way, and I give her my most welcoming smile. I feel uplifted when she chooses me. She holds me tightly, so I don’t fall and sets me down gently. The warmth of her love fills me full, and I am complete again.


More Post @simgirl
DnW Poetry Contest #2- @simgirl, The Rain
Weekend Freewrite 1/14- The Exam
The Old Steemian Home A Look Back
Combo Story- Old Steemian Home/ Constrained Writing Contest # 14

follower postsimgirl reputation sp

Made by @albertvhons

Simgirlbanner Made by @son-of-satire

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Imgur

Imgur


APP.png

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

Definitely leaves a lot to the imagination and interpretation! Well written piece here, and what a cool contest! I find more and more interesting ones all the time. Cheers!

Really loved the suspense you created. I am not usually good at guessing, so I am not going to give it a try, Don't want to embarass myself :)

Thanks for reading! I was trying to make it easy, but not too easy :D

Loved it!

“She stopped to feed the beast.”

❤️❤️

I’m thinking mine was too obvious now.

Thanks! I will go read yours now!

I had a hunch by the end of the second paragraph and I was sooo anxious to read on to find out if I was right or not. :D
And then, of course, read it from the start again just to make sure I didn't miss any clues :3

Phenomenal story, as always! Thank you very much for your entry! :D

Thank you!!! I was hoping I didn't give too many clues!

Your story is really awesome to read, You must have a book of stories by simgirl :)

Thank you! The stories are beginning to stack up!

Ahaaa.. Stack up stories should be implemented to any collected material like a book.

Fascinating! Do you participate each round? I should give this Constrained Writing Contest a try as well.

I have been participating in this contest for a while. I do try every week, but sometimes I miss one here or there. You should definitely try. They are a lot of fun to write.

Well, I see.. And it's much more easier to take part in the Constrained Writing Contest or in the STACH Short Story Contest, however it's not easy at all when it comes to the Shipwreck Writing Challenge.

Nice one!! You didn't give much away. Though I could guess what it was at the end.

Thanks for reading! There were many good stories from this writing constraint!

That was nicely written. I've read two of your works since I started becoming active in this community three days go. I say, I'm your fan. :)

Thank you! And, Welcome to Steemit! be sure to join some discord channels. This one is good for new members:

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42