Fictioneers Writing Contest - 20 SBD Prize! Man vs. Society Update!

in #conflictprompt7 years ago

Fictioneers Img.jpg


With the incredibly generous (if I do say so myself) entry window for the Man versus Society #ConflictPrompt Contest, I seem to have made a bit of a blunder in the rules. Normally we have a week or less for entries and that leaves the announcement post open for the required upvote/resteem. But as was recently pointed out by @creatr, the original post is past payout, and as much as I love that alliteration, I hate that it left some potential entrants wondering if they may have missed the boat. The question is on many lips: “Am I too late?” And the answer is simple:


No! The answer is, no!

This post is a follow up and you can upvote/resteem it to donate to the contest prize pool. Many thanks and many apologies for anyone who thought they might have been left out in the cold when it comes to this, my absolute favorite Narrative Conflict.

Hopefully you saved your entries to be posted this Thursday or Friday so you are still in open payout when we choose the winner and announce it on the Fictioneers on Tuesday, November 21 at 6 pm EST. And by the way, be sure to catch them tonight as well, even though yours truly will be absent.


Aw, I know you’re disappointed but I’ll be back next week!

And now, the same schedule that has me skipping out on the best part of my week, has me repeating the same text from the previous post here, risking the wrath of the Cheetah-Lords and the disappointment of all who follow me. But seriously, you have no idea… my schedule this week is crazier than navigating the gauntlet of aggressive knob-polishers that is Hollywood, so don’t be hard on me--er--keep your pants on--um--please forgive my shameless self-plagiarism.

Aaaand… scene!

This Conflict Prompt will be a bit of a departure from the norm. For one thing, we will be expanding the allowable word count to 750, rather than the 500 we’ve been sticking to. After discussing it with our super-special guest judge, I agreed with her that the level of world-building necessary for even flash fiction of this nature warrants a somewhat higher limit. 750 is still tight though, so take advantage of the resources at The Writers’ Block Fiction Workshop to help make every word count.

Oh? The super-special guest judge? That would be my dear bestie, @Nayzer, whose blog likely consists solely of tumbleweed these days because she’s so busy being a Professor of English Studies. And since she wrote her Master’s thesis on the role of language controls in dystopian fiction (did I mention her minor was in linguistics?) I thought she would be the ideal judge for the Man versus Society prompt. I--of course--will not be competing.


Mainly so I don’t discover that our friendship does not extend to rigging the results

Also, you’re going to have longer to write. The submissions window will not close until 11:59 pm (EST) on Friday the 17th of November. I would advise holding on to your submissions until Wednesday or Thursday that week, so when we announce the winner and discuss the post on the following Tuesday’s Fictioneers broadcast, there’s still time for a payout bump, modest though it may be with our limited fan base.

Fair warning: @Nayzer is a harsh taskmaster so take time to be critiqued. Use the Fiction Workshop, for realsies. Please. Not just for your own sake, but because in exchange for her spending her very little free time judging this contest, I really want to provide @Nayzer with more entertainment than her sophomore essays, 85% of which focus on how well Grey’s Anatomy prepares one for a career in nursing. Since the other 15% focus on how much Game of Thrones has to teach one about the history of that time period, she really, really needs this.


Actual footage of a college sophomore learning that GoT is set in an entirely fictional universe

Okay, back to the contest! Rules are:

  • Entrants must upvote and resteem this post to help our future payouts in the contest.
  • Deadline for submission is 11:59 EST, Friday, November 17th.
  • Submissions must use the tag #conflictprompt so reviewers can easily find submissions. You may also link your submission in the comments, but if the tag #conflictprompt is not used, we cannot guarantee it will be included in the judging.
  • Must be a complete work. While the entries will be judged according to @SFT standards and @SFT does curate parts of longer works, entries to this contest must be stand alone.
  • Word count may be no more than 750 words. This allows for careful review, and challenges writers to make every word count.

Listen to last weeks show here!






Sort:  

Here is my entry. Got it in for the deadline yesterday but didn't see this updated post till today. Thanks @jrhughes for this contest which proved to be quite a challenge. https://steemit.com/fiction/@cizzo/the-invisible-man-man-vs-society-contest-entry

I had a lot of fun with this contest. Thank you @jrhughes! I managed to squeak my story in ahead of deadline. But I wanted to be sure and add my link here too: https://steemit.com/fiction/@jayna/the-happiness-project-short-story-contest-entry.

@ering has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Ok, I'm in! Thanks so much for all the work that goes into this! I have upped, followed and resteemed!
@dakini5d

Thank you, @jrhughes, for a challenging contest.

My eleventh-hour entry:

"Jesus Wept"

😄😇😄

@creatr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59583.90
ETH 2578.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48