You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Parallelization Obsoletes the Desktop Computer

in #computing6 years ago

Wow, that's a lot to digest. Amazing, I was just thinking about you and logged in to ask you a question. Can the steemit program be doctored to restart under the name Love or something like that with Love tokens and Love backed Dollars? We already know what went wrong with steemit in the early and late stages. The distribution needs to be fairer from the start to begin with. Can the witness system be implemented or better to just have every user running a copy?
I'm just waking up so need some time to read through your thoughtful comment.
Chat with you soon 💕

Sort:  

Wow, that's a lot to digest. Amazing, I was just thinking about you and logged in to ask you a question. Can the steemit program be doctored to restart under the name Love or something like that with Love tokens and Love backed Dollars? We already know what went wrong with steemit in the early and late stages. The distribution needs to be fairer from the start to begin with. Can the witness system be implemented or better to just have every user running a copy?

Unfortunately I don’t think “love” is a theme that will drive millions of users, which is necessary to gain the economies-of-scale to be a serious social network.

I think what will drive a social network are seriously needed use cases that users can’t obtain without a tokenized, decentralized (i.e. nobody controls it) blockchain. I mentioned two of those use cases in my prior comment to which you replied. Another major one (perhaps the most important) is gamification (not the same as what most people think of as games but rather gamification is all about human psychology), which becomes much easier with tokenization.

A truly decentralized blockchain enables §Thin Protocols which is discussed at the end of my recent blog. However, I haven’t written the blog on Thin Protocols yet, so refer to this link in the meantime.

Also initial distribution isn’t the only reason Steem was doomed. It was doomed because as I explained in 2016 (and c.f. my follow-up blog), the concept of minting tokens from a collective money supply for rewards that are determined by voting can’t possibly be designed in any way that doesn’t aggregate to a few whales over time. That is math and logic. So to fix Steem requires throwing away everything that Steem is, including voting.

Also I have explained many times that DPoS can’t be decentralized. Thus EOS is ultimately doomed also.

I will repeat I am working on solutions to all of this. I will reiterate that my illness is slowed me down considerably.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75