Community Series #12: Changing Beliefs

Our beliefs and what we stand for don’t often change but there are some things that have revisions over time.


I used to pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America - I don’t anymore.


No, it is not a recent decision, and it is not attached to the anthem protests going on across the American sports world. Personally, I think the protest narrative has been hijacked for political purposes, but that is another discussion.

There is one word specifically that influenced my decision not to pledge allegiance to the flag, and that word is indivisible.

Who are we as man to say that anything we create is indivisible? There is only one being who is indivisible, and that is God.

While I consider myself patriotic and support my brother in his endeavors with the Marines (while talking him through the deep state landscape). I am not naive enough to pledge my allegiance to a republic when my only allegiance is to a kingdom.

My Father in heaven deserves my only allegiance, and He is jealous for that allegiance. Besides, I believe He holds the Trump card when it comes to raising up or destroying nations.


Is there something you believe now that you did not believe earlier in your life?


Image Source: 1

Sort:  

your citizenship is in heaven but your body is here on earth. There's a social contract involved here where your security is guaranteed by the government that flag represents. This is your home, and like your family, you didn't ask to be born into it, but you do have obligations nonetheless. I see no conflict between pledging allegiance to your country and being a Christian. The only caveat being the principle, 'My country right or wrong, up to a point.' That point is anything that contradicts your Christian tenets. Would you fight in a just war, like your brother, to defend your family and neighbours? I hope so. Would you defend him if he were being attacked? I hope so. Just think about it lydon, because right now it's not a life or death matter, but some day it might be.

A just war, absolutely I would fight. There are few things that tick me off in life, but one of them is someone messing with my family.

I just have a hard time pledging allegiance to a government that does not secure the rights of 4,000 unborn babies each day. Still working through it of course, and glad I have iron men like you around me.

You know, lydon, we have government health care here in Ontario and my fees go toward supporting that. It greatly disturbs me but we have no choice in the matter.Ironically, the pro choice side does. Still, there are many compromises that we're forced to live with, in a family, a community and a democracy. An old Russian proverb says it best: to live your life is not as easy as to cross a field.

life is totally some times un believe able ;p

"My Father in heaven deserves my only allegiance..."

Amen. AMEN!!! Brother, your vision is clear. Hold fast!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Figured you would appreciate this post. :)

I believe I don't know now what I thought I knew then...

The more we learn, the less we know. :)

very good insight, thank you

You’re welcome

This post has received a 1.70 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @lydon.sipe.

This post has received a 6.30 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @lydon.sipe. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lydon.sipe to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Check out our contests as well!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72