Bolathon Charity Fun Run & Masquerade Walk 2018

in #community6 years ago

header.jpg

Source: Hope Worldwide Malaysia

This post is overdue and I was supposed to do this earlier this week. Anyway, it is better late than never. If any of you remember, I posted a fundraising post, Raising Fund For Hope Worldwide Malaysia about a couple of weeks ago. I received the payout for that post a week later but I decided to not withdraw the reward until this week (more about this below).

As stated in my above post, Hope Worldwide Malaysia had organized a charity fun run and masquerade walk on the 24 June 2018, which was last Sunday. It was the first time my family attended this event. This event is held every four years in conjunction with FIFA World Cup. We did not attend the past events because my children were still too young. However, this year, my kids were older and they were ready to tackle the 3KM fun run.

We woke up at 5am that Sunday morning. We prayed and hoped the weather would be favorable and not raining. I even packed four raincoats in my backpack in case it rains. But thank God it was a sunny day. Initially, we wanted to wear masks but decided not to at the last minute. I did suggest to my hubby some ideas for our costumes but somehow that did not happen. Anyway, we probably can do better next time.

When we arrived at the venue, it was already past 7am, and the 10KM runners were about to get flagged off. We took some photos while waiting for the 3KM fun run.

Family selfie


1.jpg

2.jpg

The event was officiated by YB Dr. Ong Kian Ming, who is the Member of Parliament for Serdang. The event venue was at Malaysia Agro Exposition Park Serdang.

Even though it was supposed to be a "3km fun run", we did not run but walking instead LOL! The kids did run a bit but we mostly walked. There were hundreds (maybe more than 1000) of participants. A quarter of them were kids. Some of them wore costumes and I really loved how creative some of them were! And yes, the best-dressed participants were rewarded. I did not take pictures of these participants but you can see them on Hope Worldwide official FB page here

That's my girl jogged at the beginning of the run but soon she started to complain of leg cramps. And so we walked all the way LOL.

3.jpg

And my boy could not continue and had to piggyback halfway through. Someone had mentioned that we should bring a stroller but we didn't have any. Anyway, it was a good work out for @voltranrex LOL.

4.jpg

After walking for one hour we finally reached the finishing line! Yay we did it! We took our time to have some drinks before collecting our medals. The medals were designed and sponsored by Adidas Malaysia! Yes, our first family "marathon medals" LOL! And wasted no time and took family selfies.

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

Apart from the medals, we had some goodies like discount vouchers from the sponsors (KFC, McDonald's, Starbucks etc). Yup, that was really cool. The event wrapped up around noon and we headed to the nearest KFC for our lunch. We used our KFC discount vouchers, of course LOL.

In my fundraising post, Raising Fund For Hope Worldwide Malaysia, I pledged to donate the post liquid reward to Hope Worldwide Malaysia. I did not withdraw the fund immediately because I was hoping SBD and Steem rates would improve but alas it kept plummeting :(. And I decided not to withdraw the fund and keep it (because of the high exchange fees) but in return I used my own money to donate. The total amount of SBD and Steem after the conversion was around RM40+ and I topped it up a bit. See the bank transaction screenshot below. Yup, I was disappointed with the low SBD/Steem rates but I did my best. I knew the money will be used for the good cause and I will do this again in the future.

payout bolathon.PNG

Inkedbank transfer_LI.jpg

It was a memorable event for our family because we had the opportunity to educate our kids about being charitable and helping those in need especially those who are less fortunate. We will definitely get the kids to involve in Hope Worldwide programs if the opportunities arise in the future.

Thank you for checking out my post!

My previous posts:

Art Product Review | Touch Ten Watercolor Brush Pen

I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER.
My gifts & merchandise available at REDBUBBLE (international), & CreativeUnited (Malaysia).

Thank you!

FINALUSE3.jpg

My avatar was illustrated by @pinstory

Sort:  

WHAT a great event! And so family orientated!
Nice to see you family there participating and enjoying themselves!

Yes it was a family oriented event. I am glad they allowed children to participate.

Such great event and it looked really fun too. Come to think of it I don't think I've joined such a family oriented event before maybe I'll join one someday once my kid is big enough to run :)

Yes it was a lot of fun! How old is your child @chrislyr?

He's just 8 month old.

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Congratulations @coloringiship! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34