My Procedure in Comics, and How I Learned To Simplify Things.

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

Hello!
So I thought I would show you some of the creative steps to my comics pages. I personally enjoy seeing the stages of other artists work as it gives a glimpse into their process and the development of their style.
When I started Second Wind about two and a half years ago it was meant to be an exercise in drawing different environments and angles. It quickly turned into a full 104 page comic which I recently just completed.
As this comic is the longest I have worked on to date, there were many things that changed as I grew in figuring out my process. When I started the series I was using Canson Fanboy Comic Strip Boards, which were bristol board pages sized at 5"x17" (the standard size for a Sunday style comic, and a little under half of an 11x17 sheet).
I was also creating my blue line drawing and then inking directly on top of it. Below are the raw scans of the blue line pencils and final inks of a page:
PROCEDURE 1.jpgPROCEDURE 2.jpg

As you can see, these pages came pre marked with measurement lines and a place to put the page information.
I used this for the first two 16 page issues of the Second Wind story. It worked fine, but I noticed I was spending a lot of unnecessary money on this specialty comic paper. I then realized that I could purchase the standard Strathmore 300 Sequential Series Bristol Board measuring at 11"x17" for less money overall, and just draw two pages on one sheet of bristol. I also opted to not buy the version with the pre printed blue lines as I could just use the same measurements from the Canson paper. The results were as shown below. The top image is the blue line pencil, and the bottom is the inked image over the original blue line.
PROCEDURE 3.jpg
PROCEDURE 4.jpg

Though there is not much in the change of the look of the drawing, it saved me a lot of time and money to use this method. I was still trying to decide what information to write on each page, thus the writing on the left side. The one thing I was still having issue with was the blue line drawing underneath the ink. Though it's easy to ink directly on the blue line drawing, I was having issues with little grey bits ending up in the final black and white scan that I would have to edit out. The thing is, blue line drawings worked great back in the day when scanning technology was not as advanced as it is now. In this day in age my damn scanner is TOO good and picks up every single line, mark, and color on the page. I then finally decided to draw the initial blue line image and then ink the lines using a lightbox on a fresh piece of bristol board. It was at this time that I also bought a much lower quality bristol board to scribble out the drawing on, and then use the nicer Strathmore 300 bristol to do the final inking (still drawing two images on one 11"x17" piece of board). The results were as follows:
PROCEDURE 6.jpg

PROCEDURE 7.jpg

This left me with a very clean inked final page that required very little post drawing digital cleanup. This is the method I have stuck with every since. Though it is a little more difficult to ink the pages using a lightbox, it has made be think more about the blue line drawing so that I have to do less guesswork on the inked page.

In the end the final image that is ready for print does not look much different between these pages, but there is a significant amout of saved time and money between them. Below are the final images that are ready to be sent to the printer:

fINAL.jpg

I hope you have enjoyed seeing some of my work! I am currently working on getting everything ready for Second Wind to be sent to the printer, and I will be starting a kickstarter soon. I will be posting more work from this book on Steemit soon so keep an eye out!

Sort:  

Hi there I found you on the @c-squared page. I read through a couple of you posts already. Hope you are enjoying the platform. I have had a blast here making new friends.
I featured you in this weeks @pifc curation. here
Maybe you will get some more visitors and make some more new friends.

Thank you! That's awesome I will check out the page!

I like this work, has some kind of unique personality into it....

Whats with animal cruelty, BTW?

Thank you! It's actually a small twist in the story. The pigeon thinks it's the end for him, but it is actually someone using the knife to remove the soda can rings from his neck. It ends up being a sweet moment :)

I certainly enjoyed looking at how you created your comic panels. One thing I noticed is your blue sketch already looks so good and similar to the final version, it makes me wonder if you really need to sketch first before you go inking ^^.

Well done and I'm looking forward to what you will share about your comic on Steemit :).

-upvoted-

Thank you so much!

Cool comic drawings you have there. Do you create a comic book? I mean you mentioned you have 104-page comics but I wonder if those are a story in a book or all comic clips. If you do comic stories, maybe you can include the story on your next posts.

I came across your post through @headchange who featured it on her post as her entry for Pay it Forward Curation contest. It is a contest to feature and boot other users with good quality articles. You are welcome to join anytime.

Keep drawing!

Thank you! Yes these are pieces of a larger story. I will certainly upload more work of the story itself! Thank you for the interest :)

Great. I really think you will gain more viewers if you publish the comic along with the story for our better comprehension.

You're welcome. 😊


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Fantastic thank you!

Hi @vesteban, as you may know @headchange featured you in this week's @pifc's Pay It Forward contest. It is a contest to give visability and exposure to unknow or undervalued Steemians. It's a great way to meet new people and give others a lift up. Check us out, we'd love to have you join in.

I really like how the end product came out. Why do scanners have to be SO good? LOL. 104 pages, that is simply amazing. Check out @corpsvalue, I think he runs a contest for comics. There is someone else, I just can't think of who it is maybe @thedarkhorse can give you a little better direction. There is always @eyeforart and @artzone which cover all types of art too. Keep up the great work. Looking forward to seeing more of your work.

Hi there! Thank you for this information! I am still getting used to Steem so this is fantastic, I really appreciate it.

I use pretty much that same paper you do. That specialty stuff is a total scam! and I don't know about you but anytime I've used the paper with the pre printed lines it don't want to take ink as well. I think the printing gives is a second pressing of sorts and thus the ink takes longer to soak in? anyhoo...this looks great! I like the lettering affect a lot too.

Thank you @arsenicllulaby! And yes, the pages with the pre-printed lines did not accept the ink nearly as well as just the straight clean bristol does. I actually think I got that tip from you a few years ago back at one of the Cape Comic Cons which initiated my switch, and it worked much better.

One more comic creator! Great work. I have added you to my autovoter - I am not always that attentive - too busy. But I like to support fellow comic artists. I have published a creative commons comic here on Steemit for almost two years. You can read it here: http://phillfromgchq.co.uk/

gorgeous post, @vesteban ! love to see your process from the sketch stage through to the finished version <3

seems like the cheaper bristol products do a proper job as it is, so i am glad to know this ! (not that i will ever have enough motivation to do comicking, but ... you know, just in case)

good luck with second wind ! i look forward to seeing more about it on steemit <3 <3 <3

Thank you so much. And your right on the bristol, it just depends on what you are using it for. I know some comic professionals that go on up to the 400 series and higher, which is fantastic paper, but it is WAY out of my budget. The 300 series seems to do just fine. Anything below 300 for taking ink doesn't seem to hold well.

super cool these are..I would love to see more of your work. as a kid, i aspired to be a comic artist but didn't have the humor and skills for it... really love your work
came through @headchange from his curation post for @picf

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60410.66
ETH 2598.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62