PLOTSICK - Graphic Novel Preview (Feedback Encouraged)

in #comics6 years ago

Hello Steemit! In an effort to embrace the creative community here on Steemit, I’ve decided to post a preview of the graphic novel I’m in the middle of making. This hasn’t been posted or shown anywhere else as of yet. I don’t want to give away the farm before you get a chance to see things for yourself. So in broad strokes, it’s a detective yarn in the Lester Dent pulp tradition, as well as a meta fictional study on the nature of creators and their creations. Feedback welcomed and encouraged.

AD3B0FDF-42FE-4BCE-A964-AD97A22854C6.jpeg

F161BD78-D907-4F3C-B230-F1750D2E0A45.jpeg

72C9AE23-5A61-494E-A8E3-32974008FA2B.jpeg

CDA40763-9B5B-42F4-AD89-9E2B8623C236.jpeg

80CD7D4E-A446-448E-B200-27CF9D62417B.jpeg

DE941EE8-534A-4D78-B536-A1714E2D353F.jpeg

865756A3-7239-4F8D-B51A-9BC0CDFF4E87.jpeg

The following page has yet to be lettered, but I’m including it as this the first of the fully digital pages.

08D09599-2D1C-4A88-8EE0-F0552ACA0B37.jpeg

Also a few promo images I made up for the internets.

F11F65AF-A969-4D8F-B131-B5B84253BC86.jpeg

A0A1A3D4-FEEF-4A23-A339-3BBBCD643C0E.jpeg

So thats the preview! Thoughts? Reactions? Would love to hear what y’all think!

Sort:  

I love this, @swarddraws ! Amazing atmosphere * ___ * The pacing is really good, also, and the art is wonderful. I also love the style of internal 'real' monologue in white lettering you've got going on here <3 Really add to the ambient and character development so well <3 Beautiful work, I really look forward to seeing more from you <3

upvotes and resteems

Thank you! I am thrilled to hear the pacing is working. This book is all about atmosphere and and mood; long slow burns. Sort of throw back to some of the 90s Vertigo books. And I’m supe glad that the internal monologue comes off as what it is. I’ll for sure post more as it’s finished!

It's looking good! You know I'm a sucker for interesting backgrounds so that pages of the street is my favorite. Have you ever read stray toasters? It's by Steinkowicz, and pretty obscure. Some of these pages remind me of that, except the pacing is better in yours...he was often a bit heavy on - form over function.

Thank you sir! I’m familiar with Toasters in name only, but often enough that it seems worth tracking down. Glad the pacing seems to work. I often worry about slow burns, like the first five pages is just a dude smoking and being grumpy lol. But that’s some serious praise. Much appreciated man. You coming to Fallcon?

i love the style so much, and the personality of him also can be quiet relatable xD
it must have taken a lot of time, and personally i think it is going well so far

Much appreciated. The pages take around 6 to 8 hours each, as most are a huge blend of traditional and digital. It’s a lot looser than I usually work, so I’m glad it’s resonating!

Why does this guy look so sad and grumpy? But I guess he's being interrogated right now so it's understandable.
Is that your writing on the comic page, or a good font? It looks so artistic.
As for the comic pages itself, I like them a lot, the drawing is lovely as is the colours and the panel composition. I am looking forward to see more :).

He is a generally grumpy character, but with good reason! It will be come more apparent why as the book progresses. The text in the speech balloons are fonts, the white inner monologue text is my handwriting. I write it out in black on paper with an 08 micron, then scan it and invert it and layer it over the art. Thanks for the kind words!

I've said it before, but I have to repeat myself, your handwriting is so pretty <3.
May I suggest that you should wear an avatar? It makes it easier for people to remember you :).

It looks intrigueing. I like how you interspersed the thoughts between the speech bubbles (I don't know why but I've always hated thought bubbles XD plus it flows so much better this way) I'd totally pick it up and have a flick through if I saw it in a bookshop (and possibly even buy it!), and it wasn't because the seemingly out of place "writer's block" on the very srs bzns cover cracked me up.

Amazing work! Going to have to watch for this one to come out!

Thanks to @tcpolymath, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Thank you! I was hoping the narration/inner monologue would flow better. I don’t mind will placed caption boxes for narration, but thought bubbles seemed super out of place. The writers block seems like it landed where I aimed too lol. I wanted it to cause a double take and a smirk.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62460.04
ETH 2435.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65