POLIS: The Trial of Socrates - Graphic Novel Page 18 Update

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

Socrates_018_tease.jpg

Here's page 18, and we finally get a glimpse of Socrates!

POLIS: The Trial of Socrates

A historical graphic novel that examines the events that led up to the trial and execution of Socrates​ in ancient Athens.

After Critias condemns Theramenes, the latter is seized and about to be dragged to execution. Then in walks Socrates to stop the tyrannical move.

Socrates_018board.jpg

And here it is inked:

SOC_PAGE_018.jpg

While we do meet Socrates earlier in the script (pages not yet done), I love Socrates' entrance here. I think Daniel did a great job of making it dramatic and powerful.

Will Socrates be able to save Theramenes? We'll have to wait and see.

Previous pages: Page 14-15 | Page 16 | Page 17

Thanks for your support and any feedback! Your upvote is definitely appreciated.I hope you'll stick around and watch it all come together.

Like what you see? Follow to watch history come to life! @jpgaltmiller

UP-VOTE -- RESTEEM -- FOLLOW


Recent posts:

Sort:  

Oh this is cool! I'm gonna check who your artists are... 😁

This is awesome! Following you now.

Thanks for taking a look!

I love the art! And I really appreciate that you've included the rough layout sketch. Is this going to be in colour or black and white? I have a particular affinity for B/W graphic novels, lol :3

This will eventually be in color (colorist should be starting work in the next couple days). Part of it's because of me - I'm usually better at reading comics that are colored, so I want to offer the same to my readers. Also, I'm trying to fight the assumption most of us have in our heads about ancient Greece - it was a lot more colorful than we'd expect from the surviving architecture and sculptures!

Thanks for taking a look.

your second point is a great reason for colour, I totally can get behind that! Well much luck to you all as you get through all the work. Looking forward to seeing more pages!

The art looks great. Can't wait for this to come out in full.

Thanks for the support!

Lesbian Zombies from Outer Space isn't really up my alley, but this I'm definitely interested in! Going for digital distribution only, or will you do a print run of the graphic novel as well?

There will be a print run. My plan right now is to start with Kickstarter - so at the very least, Kickstarter backers will get their print copy. Depending on the ​response, hopefully I'll be able to expand beyond that.

Well, you'll have at least one backer for that Kickstarter!

I know that quite a few comic book nonfiction works have been published by conventional publishers lately, like the Comic Book History of Beer. It might actually be worth your time to attempt that route with this one- worst the publishers can do is say no, and if they say yes, they tend to have much, much deeper pockets than normal comic book publishers.

Hey, I appreciate it! My thinking on this is that it's hard to get a publishing deal without completed work (though it's also hard to get a publishing deal with a completed comic). In any case, my plan is to tackle the the full book in three volumes - each volume completed on Kickstarter. And then, with all three complete, offer it as a full book. And it's at that point that I will feel out some publishers.

Nice, I am a fan both of history and comics! :) You should put the links to the past posts related to the comic in your next post to make it more searchable.

You're right. I've added Next/Previous buttons in the other comic I've been uploading here, Lesbian Zombies from Outer Space - but for some reason, I haven't done so here.

Edited to add previous page links!

Nice, I will read through it tomorrow :)

I checked out the rest of the posts, and I love it! How many people are working on this?

Aweseom - thanks for following up. I'm the writer and letterer, Daniel Becker is the artist. I've got a colorist working on the pages next - nothing back from him yet. Will be posting when I receive.

Nice to see there are some more group projects here on steemit. I will keep following this one. Do you have some ETA on when it will be finished?

First volume, I'm planning by summer. The graphic novel as a whole will first be released in three volumes. So, about a year in total.

Great :) I don't know here you are based, so will we be able to order it in Europe?

Extremely high quality artistry here. And wrapped around an historical story of note. Best way to digest history I think.

I love historical graphic novels and I think the idea is fantastic. Stumbled upon your post but will check out more of your stuff. :-)

Socrates one of the greatest thinkers known to man...yes the art is impactful

lol, now you have my attention all wrapped in this.

i want the full work already

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52