POLIS: The Trial of Socrates - Graphic Novel Update

in #art6 years ago (edited)

It's official: I've decided on an artist. For real this time.

POLIS: The Trial of Socrates

As my previous posts have illustrated, I've been struggling with choosing an artist for my upcoming historical graphic novel. It's been tough because I've had to choose between some great talent. I've gone with Daniel Becker. I posted an earlier draft, but here is the final inked spread pages of Theramenes speaking to the limited Assembly in the Athenian Bouleterion:

Socrates_014-015_v4.jpg

What's really cool is that Daniel has sent me the page in layers. In the future, I plan to turn this into a motion comic, so I'm layering in the foreground characters so I can animate them down the road. (Simple animations; but it will be more effective than just moving panels around the screen.)

Now I've got to find a colorist and a letterer!

Also, here are some more character sketches:

Theram_Charm_charsketch.jpg

Socrates_Critias_FullBody_v1.jpg

These last still need some work. I want Socrates to be a little bulkier, especially around the belly. And the military garb for Critias here is a little off. I should have some finalized character sketches soon.

Thanks for your support and any feedback! Your upvote is definitely​ appreciated.I hope you'll stick around and watch it all come together.


Like what you see? Follow to watch history come to life! @jpgaltmiller

UP-VOTE -- RESTEEM -- FOLLOW


Recent posts:

Sort:  

You chose an artist and you chose well

I really love the idea. I was a history major back in the day, lots of real life, nitty gritty stuff in history.

I am working on my own graphic novel project, a similar kind of cross over dealio. Would love to chat with you about it sometime.
peace~

Thanks for taking a look! Sure, let's talk. I'll help where I can. What topic will you be tackling?

It would be a dog training graphic novel.

Kind of a storyboarded view of dog training, allowing the reader to read the situation from the handler's perspective as well as from the dog's. I've done a lot of POV shooting (dog and handler) and am rather creative when it comes to conceptualizing dog training.

I want to combine that to deliver as close an experience to first person learning as possible.

I've also got a fun background story and want to have disc play, training, and the general narrative be represented by a different style of artwork.

The fun general narrative, a dozen dogs flying around in a Zepplin / Bus Airship in a future / past mashup is the filler... a page or two here and there... it's the arc that drives the training.

Our Bus

()

The Training is where the meat of the story will be. How this shit happens, and why we do it.

It will feature myself, my GF and our pack of dogs. We'll walk right out of the bus and into real life. Demonstrating the storyboarded nature of the train.

Sounds interesting. Any time you can marry education and entertainment has to be a good thing!

awesome! the art is amazing and I'm looking forward for the story, seems like it would be captivating :D

You're combining two of my favorite things, history and graphic novels, awesome!

really nice, professionnal level art here ^^

Everything seems to be coming together pretty well!! It's all looking pretty good!

This post has received a 2.24 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @jpgaltmiller.

Greetings! I am a minnow exclusive bot that gives a 5X upvote!
I recommend this amazing guide on how to be a steemit rockstar!
I was made by @EarthNation to make Steemit easier and more rewarding for minnows.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52