Polis: The Trial of Socrates - Page 17 update

in #comics6 years ago

Page17_tease.jpg

A historical graphic novel that examines the events that led up to the trial and execution of Socrates​ in ancient Athens.

POLIS: The Trial of Socrates

At the end of Peloponnesian War, Sparta defeated Athens, and the democracy was replaced by a small oligarchy. This puppet government was headed by thirty men, later referred to as the Thirty Tyrants. Theramenes was one of these men, but he attempted to argue against some of their unjust practices. Critias, the unofficial leader of the Tyrants, sees his rebellion coming from a mile away, and he has a plan set up to stop it.

Here you'll see two sketches that lay out the actions for page 17:

Socrates_017.jpg

Socrates_017_v2.jpg

You'll notice a couple panels were changed between these two versions. Much of this sprang from mine and Daniel's discussion about the altar - how it looks, and where it should be placed. I wanted Theramenes to grab a flaming torch that stood near the altar, so the best bet was to move it against​ the back wall.

Overall, I think the change adds to the motion and the conflict of the scene.

And here is the page inked:

SOC_PAGE_017.jpg

Looking at the page, I wonder what you think about that last panel? The guy in the center there looks a lot like Theramenes, and it confused me when I first looked at it. Am I crazy? Anyone else think it's the same guy in panel 2? Anyway, I asked Daniel to change the guy's face - just in case anyone else gets confused like me. :)

Thanks for your support and any feedback! Your upvote is definitely appreciated.I hope you'll stick around and watch it all come together.

Like what you see? Follow to watch history come to life! @jpgaltmiller

UP-VOTE -- RESTEEM -- FOLLOW


Recent posts:

Sort:  

Great work @jpgaltmiller, reminds me of Larry Gonick's History of the Universe.

Thanks, @aron.wolde - haven't seen that. I'll have to check it out.

You're not alone, I thought it was the same guy as well, being in the centre of the image also contributes to this, sinceTheramenes is sort of the "main character" of this page

Agreed. I talked to Daniel about it - he said while drawing it, he feared the same. He'll be sending a new version.

Congratulations @jpgaltmiller! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I am @earnmoresteem and you got a 100.00% upvote courtesy of @jpgaltmiller! I invite you to send SBD with other post in memo and I will upvote you this new post.

I'm really looking forward for this one :D to be ready

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94