Use Your Words

Moron Trivia

So, what's next?

Five letter word synonymous with bereavement. Rhymes with brief.

Hmmm. Let's see...

What does bereavement mean?

I think that means when you're bereaved of something.

mistake-968334_1280.jpg
Image source—Pixabay

Okay, Sherlock, but what does that mean?

Well let's see. Reave means to plunder, or steal. So bereavement must be the act of being plundered.

Plundered asunder!

Yeah! Pillage and plunder!

Uh, guys.

So, five letters, rhymes with brief.

Um, well. Hmmm.

Leaf?

One, two, three—no that's four letters. And how does that mean being plundered? Oh I was plundered by a little leaf!

Guys?

Yeah, okay. How about belief?

Not even close. Six letters. No plundering.

Look, you've got the wrong def...

Thief? That's five letters.

Doesn't mean plunder, you cretin.

Actually...

Fine! Let's see what you got then!

Uh, okay, so there's relief...

Relief is six letters and is pretty much the opposite of being plundered.

You guys shouldn't really be doing a crossword puzzle. You might hurt yourself.

What other words are there? Reef?

Nope.

Beef?

Nope?

Sharif?

Oh, good grief!

Hey! What about grief?

Five letters. Does it mean to be plundered?

You might feel it if you were plundered.

It works! We did it!

What's next?

Five letter word for succinct. Rhymes with grief.

What's succinct mean?

Well, suc means you're really bad at something, and cinct means to coordinate, combine...

Smack. You guys are bad combined, or separate. Slam!

What's with her?

The word...?

Right. Succinct, five letters, rhymes with grief...


About This Post

This post is both for today's daily five minute freewrite and the comedyopenmic contest #26. Prompt of the day is grief. Nominated are @headchange and @jackofcrows.

Sort:  

HAHAHAHA! This was sooooo funny! And you picked the perfect title! Thanks so much for the laugh! I hope this tip! makes you smile too. : )

Hey, @whatisnew.

I'm glad you liked this, and you're welcome for the laugh. Thank you for the piece of SBD. :)

My pleasure! I liked it so much that I nominated you for my favorite freewrite of the week. : )

I saw that! Well, thanks again. You're very kind. :)

howdy sir Glen! are you telling me you did all this in just five minutes? that's alot of typing in five minutes, or at least it would be for me! very funny and clever though! sorry my vote is shot so I am recharging today

Glen you still up?

Nope. I went to bed roughly a half an hour before you posted this comment. Did you want to talk about something, or were you just checking to see if I were awake? :)

oh yay you're there? well I knew you had your son coming to visit or something but I didn't expect you to not be posting so I was kinda concerned. I asked noname and Lynn if they had heard from you! everything's okay?

Well, sounds like you've called in the calvary. I'm here. Just hit the proverbial wall after last week's results and have not really been able to convince myself to get back in gear. At some point it will pass, I'm sure, but my wife is going in for hernia surgery on Monday, so I could be limited as to what I do on Steemit for a while.

My oldest son and his wife won't be around for a couple more weeks.

oh wow, I will be remembering to pray for your wife, I remember she had that problem, can it be fixed fairly easily? is it the same hospital that she works at? Well at least you know that steemit isn't going anywhere and will be waiting for you when you get back.

I'm just glad you're not ill or something. it's good to take a break once in a while and you'll get back to cruising along because writing comes so naturally for you.

Oh, probably. Apparently, I do have limits, though, which is nice to know. I'd rather not take entire days off, though, other than Sunday. Part of a day I can live with. But if the heart's not in it...

It's an outpatient surgery, so apparently yes. It hasn't really hurt her that much, other than being visible and knowing that it's there and not getting any better. And yeah, it's through the same hospital network where she works.

Well, hopefully Steemit's still around when I'm 'back'. Got too much going for it unless everyone gives up on it. :)

well maybe it's just the people who are sticking with it but they are sure convinced of it's longevity and expansion.
I'm glad your wife hasn't been in pain and I hope this totally patches her up and fixes the problem for good.

Oh, and thank you for the prayers on her behalf. The more the merrier. :)

absolutely sir.

There you go, showing your broad streak of intellectual humor!

Well done, Glen!

Hey, @willymac.

Thanks for the kind words here. I know I found it funny myself, so if nothing else, I'm entertaining me, which is probably an accomplishment of some sort. :)

That is absolutely the best kind of writing, Glen! When you can entertain and amuse yourself, you have reached the gold medal level of creativity!

Keep doin'!

That was a fun and light-hearted take on the prompt. Writing on grief has a tendency to open a vein and many people, including me. I enjoyed this little smile.

Hey, @wandrnrose7.

Well, I'm glad I was able to get a little smile. I spent about four hours thinking on and then leaving and then coming back to write this and finally came up with what I wrote.

Basically, I didn't want to open a vein, as you put it, on anything—real or imaginary. Wasn't in the mood to explore that. And I kind of like to hide the prompt, too, so didn't really want it front and center.

Hi glenalbrethsen,

Thank you for your entry in to #comedyopenmic comedy contest. We have asked the judges below to review your entry and give it a funny rating, this will determine your ultimate position when the results are tallied.

Judges:

If you have any questions or quieries please feel free to contact one of the judges or come say hi in discord: Click Here

Click To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

Thanks for confirming receipt of my entry, @com-judge. The message is very much appreciated.

Nice how you tied both together. I love words and can appreciate a wordsmith at play. Thanks for the laugh.

Hey, @practicalthought. Thanks for the kind words. Wasn't feeling much like 'grief-ing' this evening. So, when I realized where this was going I thought another combination of tasks might be good, since I've been meaning to do another for comedyopenmic. My humor just doesn't seem to rise to the level, though, so I get a little picky about what I throw their way. And then I'm never sure if I even should bother. It's all very subjective. And in this case, you do have to like words. :)

Hey, hope all is well. Have missed seeing you post and am concerned.

Hey, @practicalthought.

Thanks for being concerned and checking in. I was kind of wondering if someone might.

I'm okay. Nothing major, like life threatening. Nor am I giving up on STEEM.

I've fallen into another funk (third or fourth since I started here), and this time it has to do with everything feeling repetitive and meaningless. Not a good combination for someone who's trying to pump out a bunch of comments and posts a week. :)

So, I've basically been out of it since Thursday (though I wasn't in it that much to begin with prior to that), taking an involuntary leave of absence. Next week my wife goes in for hernia surgery (outpatient, again, nothing major), so she will be off work for a few weeks. That will work out too (she has time off), but she's more worried about it (the time off, not the surgery), than she really needs to be.

I'm also not where I want to be after 7.5 months on STEEM (have yet to fine my niche and larger core of adoring fans :), which means some kind of strategy is in order that I haven't had much of energy or desire to figure out. Two many steps in the way, which bring up other steps when I go to solve them.

My wife really doesn't see the value here, and the fact that I haven't gotten any farther isn't helping, and regardless of whether or not I understand this is a longer game and try to explain it, she can't get past the present and the very immediate future. She wants me to find a job, which will severely hamper what I'm doing here, and the whole idea of trying to do that (searching, finding, interviewing, actually getting the job, then doing it), is frying my circuits even more.

I've been trying to stave all this off for months, and now it's kind of coming to a head.

Other than that, everything is great. :)

Actually, I believe things are fine and will continue to be fine, with patience and some faith. However, I'm more alone in this than I should be. We're far from destitute, we have insurance, she has paid leave, she's got short term disability as a back up, her procedure is non-evasive. Without being wealthy, we're in about as good a shape as we can be for this to all occur, and the rest (if she takes it) will actually do her some good.

On the flip side of that, it will probably mean my efforts here will be curtailed while she recuperates. Unless she's actually sleeping, she's probably going to want me doing things because Steemit isn't "doing anything."

Okay. I think that about covers it. Thanks for asking. :) I hope all is well with you, too.

Hey, I appreciate you getting back to me so quickly to let me know all is (sort of) well.

and this time it has to do with everything feeling repetitive and meaningless. Not a good combination for someone who's trying to pump out a bunch of comments and posts a week. :)

An observation on this. If your heart isn't into some of the things you are posting, you should stop posting it. I am unsure of what passions you hold that may correlate nicely into hot topics here but you should reassess anything you might be able to hook onto an area here that is rewarded. This way it won't seem repetitive as you enjoy it and will be spending more time with those who have the same passions. I know you already know this, but wanted to bring it up so you might rethink it in connection with your postings. It's cool that we connect with others on here, and even cooler if there is a strong shared interest. You used to run a paper if I remember correctly, as well as being a self published writer. Examine what the topics were that helped sell your paper/books and see if there might be a match there? This could get you into that niche you mentioned.

My wife really doesn't see the value here, and the fact that I haven't gotten any farther isn't helping, and regardless of whether or not I understand this is a longer game and try to explain it, she can't get past the present and the very immediate future. She wants me to find a job, which will severely hamper what I'm doing here, and the whole idea of trying to do that (searching, finding, interviewing, actually getting the job, then doing it), is frying my circuits even more.

I am almost laughing at the parallels in our lives right now. Mine does not see the benefits much either, and just started a crappy job that I already know will at most maybe be a year or two, hopefully less. I have even been considering getting back into publishing again so I can cut the time down on the crappy job, lol. If you find the niche you were mentioning it is possible you can duplicate what you are posting so much with much fewer posts. I do feel the pain though and yes, it sucks for now. Hopefully if we plod ahead and keep growing in small increments those small ones will be worth much more in the coming years. Then our women will be happy we did this as they compile their lists of things to be bought that will improve the families lives, lol.

On the flip side of that, it will probably mean my efforts here will be curtailed while she recuperates. Unless she's actually sleeping, she's probably going to want me doing things because Steemit isn't "doing anything."

I will be here when you have time to come around, albeit not as much either as I adjust my schedule too.

I hope all is well with you, too.

Have been having my tribulations as well, but just using patience as best as I can to ride my way through them. They always pass (so far) so trying not to allow myself to get hooked on the negative energy to much till this does too.

Hey, @practicalthought.

Thanks for the all the suggestions. They really are appreciated. It sounds like you weren't expecting me to get back to you so quickly. Funny thing is, I was out here in my office with everything up for work as normal—I just wasn't doing anything—so was alerted to the fact that you had commented. And since you were the first to inquire, I felt a speedy reply was in order. :)

re: subject matter

I agree that all of what you suggest would be great. I have been trying to do that. Unless I have some interest in what I'm posting, I typically can't even write it. There needs to be some kind of purpose to it, too. I'm primarily interested in getting my fiction writing up here, which I have, and will continue to do. I do need to come up with a different way of presenting it, though, because it doesn't generate nearly as much conversation as does some of the other topics I will talk about.

My mind did wander around the latter part of last week into ideas for stories, particularly one I've been working on for a while, but I kept running into walls with it, so didn't get very far.

As it is, however, the repetitiveness of the comments I referred to, and by extension but to a lesser degree the posts, was more of a systematic thing, I think. While the posts I write interest me, not all of the posts I read do to the same level, but if there's something I feel I can say, I will try to do it. The problem becomes when reading posts about similar topics, particularly the creative kind, there's only so many ways to say I like it and then try to pick out the parts that I found most meaningful that it just all kind of runs together.

I didn't think this was possible, but I also believe I've been hitting upper limits on how much I can write over a period of time, regardless of what I'm saying or what it's about. Especially if it turns out to be grinding them out for grinding's sake. I try to stay away from that as much as possible, but I think that may have also been a part of it.

So, I need to settle into my own groove, where I'm doing enough but not doing so much that I end up losing the point.

Not sure if that last part made sense, but basically, that's it.

re: parallels

It seems inevitable for those of us who are on Steemit, more or less in the same age range, between having some experience, having some success being our own boss or in some endeavor we enjoy, but for whatever reasons, being faced with the prospect at least, if not already taking the plunge, of returning to the world of 9 to 5. I wish you luck with the job and with whatever publishing you might get back into. And I thank you for coming and looking for me. :)

Yeah, I was thinking maybe you weren't logging in as much so wasn't sure how quickly I would hear back.

I'm primarily interested in getting my fiction writing up here, which I have, and will continue to do. I do need to come up with a different way of presenting it, though, because it doesn't generate nearly as much conversation as does some of the other topics I will talk about.

The problem I see with this is once you get several chapters in, as you are way past that, the less likely you are to gather new readers to the posts. So they will always be stuck at the initial level of interest, or worse, dwindling levels as people who were interested drop off of Steemit or they don't have as many votes to cast due to the downturn in value affecting the votes.

I didn't think this was possible, but I also believe I've been hitting upper limits on how much I can write over a period of time, regardless of what I'm saying or what it's about.

I totally get this, which was why I thought maybe you could spend some time poking around at some of the topics on here you haven't written about but are commanding lots of interest and votes. If you can find some like this perhaps you could earn as much or more for less work on your end of it. I know for myself (more due to my voting limitations) I at most post once every two days. Anything more than that and I can't upvote back above dust thresholds.

returning to the world of 9 to 5. I wish you luck with the job and with whatever publishing you might get back into.

Yeah, I must admit it blows after spending much of my life on my own schedule and not having to deal with others personality faults that have a semblance of authority over me. It gives me the drive to think about getting back into publishing just to end this phase quicker, lol.

And I thank you for coming and looking for me. :)

Of course, I missed seeing you in my feed and worried that maybe a health issue or frustration had taken you from here. I appreciate your quick reply so I wouldn't keep worrying. I hope that things resolve themselves quickly in a way that at least it is palatable for you.

Yosh, do use Comedy Open Mic Round # in the title.
ありがとう! (Thankz in Japz.)
Hmmm, so, bad at something and...combining...
Which means, you're not so good at combining or mingling with others which equals to a lot of fights, and it rhymes with grief...so...

Is it beef?

Hey, @sharanaithal.

Just getting to this. Were you telling me I needed to put the Comedy Open Mic Round # in the title for this one, or is this a future reference deal?

Seems like I keep running afoul of rules with y'all. :)

Thanks for the thanks in Japanese. Are you from there? My son spent two years around Tokyo.

re: combining and mingling

Not sure if you're being funny or actually psychoanalyzing me. :) Not sure how you got from what I wrote about our crossword bumblers to me, but it does kind of fit. I mean, I can be really good at combining and mingling if I try, it just takes more effort than I care to put into it or maintain.

Not a whole lot of fights from it yet. :)

No nooo!
It was supposed to go along with the story lol.
'You' as in, the general you.

I'm currently learning Japanese, from India. One of my wish is to stay in Japan though, preferably for 3 years.
How'd he find the place to be, btw?

Yep, gotta put the Comedy Open Mic thing in this one and even in every future entry's title.
It's just one of the rules.

Thanks for participating! :)

Congratulations @glenalbrethsen! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks once again for letting me know. I can tell my activity here has picked up by the frequency of these updates. Keep them coming. :)

Well, thanks, tipu. I hope there's someone on the other end of this to thank, anwyay. I'll just mark this as the first time I've ever received one of these. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59232.58
ETH 2523.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47