Purple. Punch. ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ‘Œ | Photography technique: Using color to influence your gaze unconsciously |

in #colourfulphotography โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

Purple. Punch.


This is going to be a very simple technique in order to make your shot more interesting. ๐Ÿ“ท
Can you see how the purple and greens in this pictures background are completely colliding with the yellows of the in-focus wasp? ๐Ÿ They could not have been more different.

Your brain tells you that there is an anomaly in the frame here, consequently it does immediately lead your eyes to it. We are born to spot irregularities in everyday life. This makes us spot the lion in the bushes, and also makes us evade falling trees. Since we are long past the survival part of this phenomenon, we are still obsessed with irregularities.
Try to think of the last time you were touching the neurotic part of you? Do you remember walking past a table that had a plate on it on which 4 out of 5 candles were lit? ๐Ÿ˜” This is basically the same idea. unconsciously making you view the wasp by annoying you just exactly the right amount. ๐Ÿ‘Œ


LogoLicious_20180118_174424.jpg

Leiden, Hortus Botanicus with a 35mm Pentacon lens at 2.8 on my Sony A7II


I took this shot when visiting the botanical gardens of one of the oldest universities in Holland.
If you want to have a little laugh, I invite you to imagine the struggle I had while trying to take this shot. with a manual focus lens... The wasp was moving from flower to flower every 4 seconds. I can get quite obsessed when having my goas set. So there I was jumping back and forth, left to right. to finally after 40 tries get this shot right.

Disclaimer: I am not saying that taking a smartphone selfie of you and the sunset and sliding the saturation up to 300% is a great idea. Please use this technique with caution.

PSX_20171229_160240-02.jpeg


As always thanks for your time, I hope you enjoyed this. Feedback is always appreciated!

"Emotions are there to be expressed, not to be suppressed and bottled up. I do photography in order to take my mind away from the dilemma's I encounter during my medical internships."

thi-js. Out.

Up-vote, re-steem and follow โ™ฅ

Sort: ย 

This image reminds me of an old movie - What dreams may come. ๐Ÿ‘

I can see why indeed! lols
lol


t.

purple makes everything so good

Not my favorite color haha!


t.

Nice photography!

Thank you @thi-js for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 4.25% on this post! Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem! The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me! For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily? To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Manual focus on a moving insect. No thank you! :D
But the image is great! Very dreamy...

Wow
Thanks for tips. Really nice photo. You are a good photographer

You have earned 5 XP for making 5 comments today!

>Learn more here<

Lovely shot!
Abstraction is my passion! Thank you for creating such beauty!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95