Colourful Houses in Olinda, Brazil

in #colourfulphotography6 years ago (edited)

O, linda! is Portuguese for "Oh, how pretty!". Apparently, this was the first expression that came to the mind of the Portuguese explorers when they first set foot in this place and founded one of the continent's oldest European settlements.
Their first impression was very right; Today, Olinda has a beautiful colourful old town. Actually, every house has its own special colour! The reason for this is that until some years ago, addresses were not referred to as "51 Main Street", but as "that blue house next to the yellow house and the one with the slightly purple-reddish touch in Main Street". At some point, that became too complicated, but luckily the colours stayed!

01-jpp-20150709.jpg
35mm, f9, 1/1000; Click on image to enlarge

Camera Gear

The camera I used for these photos is a Sony A37 (APS-C) with a Sony DT 18-135 mm F3,5–5,6 SAM lens.

Check out my Recent Posts

By the time you read this, this post or some of the posts below may be older than 7 days so you can not vote for them anymore. If you want to support me, please consider voting on one my recent photo posts!

Please Follow, Upvote and Resteem

All my photos are @originalworks. I am just getting started on Steemit and have many more great photos to offer, so if you like my content please follow, upvote and resteem. All my photos are also available for licensing, please contact me through my Website or Steemit chat @jpphotography.

Join the Steemit Travellers on Discord

Sort:  

Hi! Congratulations on winning a daily challenge of my 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge. What an amazing picture of my capital:).... Kindly see to attend your winner announcement post to answer some congratulation comments for your extended publicity. Have a great day. Tomas

7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge – European Thursday week #17 – winner announcement!

Thank you Tomas! You live in such a wonderful city!

Olinda is such a beautiful place :) Thanks for the resteem!

Olinda is a really beautiful place in Brazil!!! And this color, makes me happy!

I loved Olinda :) Thanks for your comment!

Thank you! I haven't seen you on our Discord server yet ;)

haha you are right have to look into that still, did actived steemchat, so that's a start! one day i will be super digital

Haha, once you have tried out Discord you will see that it is so much better than steemit.chat ;)

Lindissimo trabalho!!! Sucesso :)

Brasil: O linda! :D
I don't speak Portuguese but thanks for the comment!

Beautiful houses! So lively and fun. Thanks for sharing.
 

Thanks for your comment! What does the photo mean?

My photo is just my banner, like a sample of my work. And it livens up the reply feed considerably! In this case, this is a picture I took in Spokane, Washington, in 2016.

Indeed! Thanks for your comment :)

Whoa , it must be a hell of a job to paint the houses every season. I guess the colours are bleaching fast under such strong sun. But it looks lovely...

It sure is.. But they get many tourists and I think they are even a UNESCO world heritage, so I am sure they don't mind ;)

$$$$ probably

Love those colorful houses.

They are so beautiful, aren't they? :) Thanks for leaving a comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48