SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry: 3 Animal Portraits

in #steemitphotochallenge7 years ago (edited)

Here are my three entries to the SteemitPhotoChallenge hosted by @jamtaylor. The theme of this challenge is animal portraits, so I have chosen some of my best photos of animals.

Crocodile Portrait

This might be the most dangerous photo I ever took. When I was volunteering at a biological station in the Paraguayan Pantanal, we did a three-day kayak trip up the Rio Negro. This is where I found this crocodile laying in the sun on a meadow in the wetlands. To get this photo, I went way too close to this dangerous animal since I only had my 135mm APS-C-Zoom with me!

01-jpp-20150816.jpg
135mm, f8, 1/500; Click on image to enlarge

Ara Portrait

Contrary to the crocodile photo above, this photo was not captured in the wild but in a bird park near the famous Iguazu Waterfalls in Brazil. I love how colourful the birds of the Amazon are!

01-jpp-20150726.jpg
135mm, f5.6, 1/250; Click on image to enlarge

Llama Portrait

Llamas are popular animals in the Andes since they provide wool for clothing as well as meat and can survive easily on barren land. In wide parts of Southern Bolivia there are herds of domesticated llamas roaming the Andean highlands. Luckily, this Llama decided to pose for this portrait and not spit on me!

01-jpp-20150918.jpg
135mm, f9, 1/640; Click on image to enlarge


Camera Gear

The camera I used for these photos is a Sony A37 (APS-C) with a Sony DT 18-135 mm F3,5–5,6 SAM lens.

Check out my Recent Posts

Please Follow, Upvote and Resteem

All my photos are @originalworks. I am just getting started on Steemit and have many more great photos to offer, so if you like my content please follow, upvote and resteem. All my photos are also available for licensing, please contact me through my Website or Steemit chat @jpphotography.

Sort:  

Love the Llama:) Really cool shot. Saw some crocodiles in Florida. I guess you don't want to meet them in the water😁

I hope you didn't come as close to them as I did :D At the same place where I got the photo of the crocodile I also went for a swim in the river, always on the lookout for crocodiles..

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #animalphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Server time: 18:18:53
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1495.04/1600.00
Total Photos: 70
Total comments: 35
Total contest wins: 28
And have also received a 4.68 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

awesome..upvoted see my latest!!

Wow! Cant even decide which one is the best, they are all astonishing! The first one definitely took some courage man :D You also never fail to surprise me with how much you have already seen and experienced in your life, thats incredible.. especially for your young age :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

As a photographer you see a great picture and your brain turns off. I don't know how many times Mike had to safe me. Love the shot, very well worth the risk.

Haha, exactly. I was probably lucky that the crocodile wasn't hungry :D

As a photographer, no matter how risky it is, as long you could take and share beautiful photographs like these, you would do it.
These photos are totally wonderful @jpphotography!

Keep it up man!

Thank you! I am probably lucky that I can still share these photos now, I couldn't have done that now if I had gone any closer to that crocodile haha

Hello , I Invite you to participate in contest if you are interested !

Thanks, I will think about it, but I usually don't participate in contests that require a resteem.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jpphotography to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57589.28
ETH 3109.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37