Color Challenge: Sunday Purple -- Daisy Fleabane

in #colorchallenge7 years ago

I've not done a Color Challenge before, but looking at all the summer and fall colors converging around me here in Appalachia, I see so many opportunities to not only hit the Color Challenge points, but talk about the local flora (and some fauna) that fascinates me to no end. I've posted about some of the edibles and medicinal plants I've found growing on my property due to my failure to mow the grass this year. I didn't talk about daisy fleabane, though. Then, when considering "Sunday Purple," I though this would be a great opportunity to feature it.

"Fleabane" gets its name from an ancient belief that sprigs of this plant scattered in a home would repel fleas and other biting insects. But it is not a true "bane," belonging instead to the daisy family. True banes are typically toxic through through ingestion and sometimes even with contact, like wolfsbane.

Leaves of daisy fleabane can been cooked and eaten. They do have some medicinal benefits for the neurological system, as well as contain powerful antioxidants.

Fleabanes can be various colors, ranging from white to purple to orange to indigo. The varieties growing in my yard are mostly a pale lavender color, although I do have several white plants as well. Near the creek, where this photo was taken, the hues seem to be a bit deeper, while on the hillside, the lavender is very pale. White fleabanes just seem to grow wherever they choose.

Sort:  

Wow! Cool! And very informative as well as pretty. You will teach people to value some of those "weeds."

Informative post, great pictures

This post is upvoted with 90.48% Voting Power by @rougebot.

bkasia215093_final.jpg

FOR MORE DETAILS:
Click here

Fantastic Colorchallenge and Good work..!

Thank you!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @rhondak to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Really beautiful flowers with the appropriate retrieval shots..

I like your ColorChallenge post.
Any way if you and anyone reading this would like to see my #colorchallenge post
Check it out https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@isteemithard/colorchallenge-sundaypurple-wildflowers-at-saint-mary-s-glacier-original-content

Waw nice flower.
I like your post...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61915.54
ETH 3000.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59