Color Challenge: Thursday GREEN!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #colorchallenge7 years ago

Actually, GREEN and WHITE!

While I was out perusing my own garden and taking a photo of my Annabelle Hydrangea, which has started to open up into full blossom after surviving the attack of the Leaf Tier bug (https://steemit.com/gardening/@gardenlady/metamorphosis-arachnophobia),

I realized I have a few Green and White specimens...might as well add them into the mix for the whimsical Color Challenge!

But please! Please don't characterize my actual photog skills! I know they aren't up to par with so much great photography on this site...I do what I can with my iphone 6+ ;0)

Here's the Annabelle Hydrangea - you can see damage by the Leaf Tier bug on one of the leaves near the bottom of photo

post hydrangea annabelle.jpg

Here's my Goat's Beard (Aruncus dioicus) Goat's Beard is like a giant astilbe, altho the flowers seem to last much longer

post Goat's Beard.jpg

Here's my Oakleaf Hydrangea - it's SO big this year!

post oakleaf hydrangea.jpg

Happy Gardening everyone!

@gardenlady

Sort:  

I am diggin all the green.

Nice green @gardenlady!

Hydrangea are great bushes but they need a lot of water. They are the first bushes in my backyard that wilt when it gets dry. You have some huge bushes. Nice pictures!

The hydrangea macrofilia don't like to be in too much sun and will wilt, especially not good if in afternoon sun. The macrofilia are the blue ones (and sometimes pink) that bloom on old wood.
The limelights and the paniculatas (also called peegees) are fine in full sun. They are the white ones.

who's characterizing your photography?
lol .. be kind people

(just me :-)

We have the macrofilia which bloom pink for us. I didn't realize the white ones were more drought resistant (or sun resistant). Thanks for the info.

you're welcome!

I like your post, and I like your photos.
I'm new here on steemit, just getting started.
I will follow you

Welcome! Good luck! and have fun!

Thank you, everyone is so kind. I look forward to your next post.

FYI....I recently re-steemed lots of posts (within the last 2 or 2 1/2 weeks or so) written by some posters who have lots of good info for new posters. Check them out when you get a chance; you may find some good people to follow and some good advice ;0)

Thank you for the warm welcome and good advice. I will check it out.

beautiful flowers...

Nice pictures, following you now :)

Your photos are very calming, one day I hope to have a nice garden of my own :)

Do you have a botanic garden in your area? I do, it's one of my favourite places to take photos.

lots of botanic gardens! I'm near NYC - great gardens are Brooklyn Botanic Garden and NY Botanic Garden and of course ALL of the parks!!

Awesome :) I've been to USA twice in my life, but never to NYC. I hope to one day though!

Nice pictures

nice work
upvoted
If you have the time please check my post

Wow. The plants look so GREEN and healthy. The flowers enhance their beauty. A fitting Green Thursday pictures. Your garden is amazing. Upvoted and following you.
Would love to see more posts from you. Following you. Please feel free to follow me and see my posts today if you like interesting wildlife pictures with a story like this one https://steemit.com/wildlife/@vm2904/riding-high-free-ride-with-a-meal-of-ticks, https://steemit.com/bwphotocontest/@vm2904/bwphotocontest-nature-s-artwork-of-symmetry-the-passionflower and https://steemit.com/photography/@vm2904/attitude-the-meek-shall-rule-the-earth
Also travel blogs like this one https://steemit.com/travel/@vm2904/my-visit-to-sarnath-a-buddhist-monastery-a-calming-experience-part-1#@team101/re-vm2904-my-visit-to-sarnath-a-buddhist-monastery-a-calming-experience-part-1-2017616t21024564z
Please provide your comments, upvote and resteem if you like any of my blogs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56855.76
ETH 2540.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24