Ulog 16 - Curved Ridge: feeling the fear and doing it anyway!

in #climbing6 years ago (edited)


Just a few days ago I had my scariest, most challenging as well as most exhilarating and exciting mountain day ever!

Under guidance, I climbed Curved Ridge of Buachaille Etive Mor in Glencoe/Glen Etive, Scotland, descending via Great Gully Buttress.

Buachaille Etive Mor with Curved Ridge route pencilled in.jpg The pink line shows roughly the route we took up Curved Ridge. It's not pinpoint accurate, so please don't try to use it as a map!

If you've read my Aonach Eagach and Bidean nam Bian posts, you will no doubt think I'm an adrenaline junkie, constantly chasing new thrills. And while I do enjoy an adrenaline rush, I don't think I'm really a thrill-seeker. My motivation for participating in this recent expedition was actually to learn more about outdoor climbing techniques that could make me and my hillwalking friends safer in the mountains.

I wanted to learn how to use ropes – if needed – to secure myself and others during hillwalks where we might encounter steep, rocky terrain. Or for if there was a section that I felt confident walking over, but others didn't.

Having said that, this all helps me to get even more enjoyment from the great outdoors, and to climb exciting mountain ridges, and that does bring out the thrill-seeker in me!

An opportunity to try outdoor climbing


It all started several months ago, when one of the organisers in a climbing Meetup I belong to circulated a message saying that in order to qualify for his MIC (Mountain Instructor Certificate), a man called Kieran was looking for volunteers to take two days' climbing instruction.

When I contacted Kieran, he asked me what kind of climbing I'd be interested in learning, and I told him I wanted to learn how to use ropes to make myself and others more secure in rocky terrain.

Kieran needed to train people in pairs, so I invited another climbing friend to join us. (For complex reasons, she prefers to remain anonymous.)

Kieran was quite flexible on locations, and only suggested doing Curved Ridge a couple of days before the event. This is a popular scrambling route up one of Scotland's most iconic mountains, Buachaille Etive Mor.

Curved Ridge map cropped.jpg
Map showing the location of Buachaille Etive Mor and the Curved Ridge route.

Buachaille Etive Mor (pronounced "Bookle Etive Mor") means the Great Shepherd of Glen Etive. I can imagine that in the days before road transport and good maps, this beacon of a mountain must have been a welcome sight to many a weary traveller who'd lost their bearings in the glens.

I was very enthusiastic and a little nervous about it. I'd heard that Curved Ridge involved Grade 3 scrambling (Grade 1 is the easiest grade, and the Aonach Eagach is a Grade 2 scramble). I've done a bit of Grade 3 scrambling on Creise, a mountain adjacent to Buachaille Etive Mor, but on this scramble we weren't "committed" – in other words, if it looked too difficult or scary, there was a much easier alternative way up.

No escape!


On Curved Ridge, if you don't like what's up ahead, your only alternative is to go back down, and downclimbing those bits you've just climbed up would be a hairy task! That's why it's a good idea to take helmets, ropes and slings with you, although many people climb it without any of this protection.

My friend was much more nervous than I was, and she seriously wondered if she would be able to do this climb. She climbs regularly indoors, as I do, but she has only done one outdoor climb and has little experience of scrambling. I have walked with her before, and I know that her fitness is good and that although her scrambling experience is limited, she is a confident scrambler. Also, Kieran was there to instruct us, so I assured her that we would be in good hands and that he wouldn't make us do anything that we were not competent to do.

When we arrived at the car park at 8.30am, there was a lot of low cloud. The weather forecast was good, so I was hoping it was a "heat haze".

1 The Big Buachaille with cloud, first thing.jpg
Buachaille Etive Mor with early morning low cloud.

As we began our walk, the cloud soon started to lift, revealing some of the rocks we'd be scrambling over.



Kieran stopped at a river to fill his water bottle with fresh mountain water. I just took photos!

5 Gorgeous waterfall with mist.jpg

But we were soon being feasted on by hundreds of hungry midges, so I thought it was time to move onwards and upwards. The rocky scramble doesn't start till an elevation of about 550m, so the path was quite straightforward for a while. We paced ourselves and took time to admire the views, saving our energy for the climb ahead.

21 Nice one of me on promontory looking out over Rannoch Moor.jpg
Me looking at the wide expanse of Rannoch Moor.

16 Nice one of Dawn and Kieran looking at the view, Kieran pointing.jpg

Now the scrambling began. The rocks of Buachaille Etive Mor are beautiful, in grey and pinky-reddish tones. They are mostly quite grippy, though they have a tendency to break off, so you have to test each hand and foothold very carefully when scrambling.

33 Amazing pinky-grey rocks and mist.jpg

The views got better the higher we climbed. The photo below shows Beinn a'Chrulaiste, a mountain just across the A82 from the "Bookle". It has a section of pink-hued rock known as the "pink rib" which is a great easy scramble.

41 Lovely one of Beinn a'Chrulaiste with a gorgeous pom-pom cloud over.jpg
Beinn a'Chrulaiste.

We donned helmets and harnesses and Kieran started to show us the ropes.


It was a long way down, so we weren't taking any chances.

55 Vertiginous one looking down to the ground.jpg

Kieran attached the rope to each of us and then anchored it to a stable piece of rock using a sling and a carabiner.

60 Kieran showing the rope (clove hitch) and sling to Dawn.jpg

He then climbed nimbly up the tricky section, having asked us to unclip the sling from the rock as we climbed up.

62 Kieran hopping over the top of a rocky section with the rope, readying it for us.jpg
Kieran sprinting up the rocks.

69 Closer one of Dawn declipping the carabiner and the sling from the rope. Can use.jpg
My friend unclipping the sling from the rock.

The climbing got trickier as we climbed higher, but to be honest, it wasn't anything that we couldn't handle. The exposure is the biggest challenge on this route. For much of the way up, you can't afford to put a hand or a foot wrong!

79 Me, head down, scrambling up, taken from above.jpg

But we were safely roped up, with Kieran continually leaping on ahead to anchor the rope.

87 Kieran scaling the rocks with the rope.jpg

We stopped for a refreshment break near the foot of the Rannoch Wall, a vertical cliff face popular with climbers.

95c Rannoch Wall.jpg
The Rannoch Wall.

After this, it was just a short scramble until we reached a small cairn marking the end of Curved Ridge. We were partly elated to have done it and partly disappointed that it was all over!

95d Cairn marking the end of Curved Ridge.jpg
The cairn marking the end of Curved Ridge.

Now it was just a case of getting to the summit, Stob Dearg, to bag Munro number 87!

97 Steep path leading up to summit.jpg

The steep path leading from Curved Ridge to the summit of Stob Dearg. It leads up past Crowberry Gap, a spectacular "window" between the rocks (below).

103 Gorgeous one of Crowberry Gap.jpg

One slight disappointment is that we were unable to climb Crowberry Tower, a steep rocky protrusion that crowns the top of Curved Ridge. Kieran told us that a large boulder at the top of it had been found to be unstable – it may have become dislodged over the winter, and he felt it was unsafe.

I would not have wanted to put that theory to the test!

111 Top of Crowberry Tower from above.jpg
Crowberry Tower. The possibly unsafe boulder is at the left.

One short, enjoyable scramble later, and we were at the summit of Stob Dearg, (1021m), one of two Munros on Buachaille Etive Mor. We decided not to "bag" the other one. This is one mountain I will look forward to climbing again and again – sometimes, but not always, via Curved Ridge.

123 Summit selfie 4, Stob Dearg.jpeg

Summit of Stob Dearg, 1021m.

The day had turned out to be warm and sunny, and there were quite a few people on the summit, as well as quite a few midges! The other people had come up via the more straightforward, popular route. We hadn't seen anyone else on Curved Ridge.

The views at the top were spectacular.

115 Lovely one of Beinn a'Chrulaiste, the Blackwater Reservoir, the Easains etc.jpg Beinn a'Chrulaiste with the Blackwater Reservoir and the Easain hills beyond.

131 Another lovely view out to Buachaille Etive Beag, Aonach Eagach in bground, and Ballachulish Bridge.jpg
Buachaille Etive Beag and the Ballachulish Bridge beyond it.

125 Glorious mountainous summit view.jpg
Panorama of the Mamore range.

After lunching at the summit, Kieran gave us a choice of returning via the popular route or going back via Great Gully Buttress, which would involve more scrambling, downclimbing and abseiling!

At the mention of abseiling, my heart lurched. This was out of my comfort zone! Despite the fact that I happily do a type of abseiling several times a week when I go to the climbing centre, and I've done it when outdoor climbing too, I knew this would be much more scary. In fact, just the idea of descending via one of these buttresses gave me the fear.

We both voted to do that route anyway. We might never get another chance!

When Kieran described the route to us, I said "Right..." in a way that my friend thought was hilarious. She perceived my trepidation – and she wasn't as nervous as I was.

143 Kieran heading down over Great Gully Buttress.jpg
Kieran approaching the bit where Great Gully Buttress becomes extremely vertical!

We scrambled our way down the steep bit until we reached some sheer slabs. It was time to abseil. I braced myself. I was to go at the bottom of the rope with my friend attached further up, while Kieran belayed us down.

I was confident that our guide knew what he was doing, but communicating that to my subconscious was another matter. It had spent decades training me not to launch myself backwards over cliff faces!

145 Vertiginous view down from Great Gully Buttress.jpg
We were 650m up, and this was the view down!

As Kieran started to lower us down, I squealed quite a lot! My friend thought it was very funny. She was used to me being the adventurous one. I managed to shout up to her, "Everyone has a particular fear, and this is mine!"

By the time we reached stable ground (ie a platform about four metres wide) my heart was racing! The photo below shows the cliffs we had just abseiled down, with Kieran still at the top. I didn't even notice how he got down.

147 Kieran at the top of the cliff I'd just abseiled over.jpg
The first cliffs we abseiled down.

We then scrambled for a bit, doing some tricky downclimbs, which seemed so easy and comfortable in comparison to the abseil! I even managed to take a photo of the lovely view.

148 Great view out to Nevis and the Mamores from Great Gully Buttress.jpg
The Mamore mountains, with Ben Nevis near the left, its summit in cloud, and the "Devil's Staircase" going up the hillside towards Nevis, with the A82 and our car park at the bottom.

Then, more big slabs appeared. My heart sank. But it had to be done! This time, my friend got a bit tangled up in the rope on the way down, but with some shouting and colourful language we managed to make it down to the next "safe" ledge in one piece.

149 The rocks we'd just abseiled down (where Dawn started hollering).jpg
The second batch of slabs we abseiled down. They did seem to get a bit less vertiginous the closer we got to ground level.

Kieran remained calm and unflappable throughout, and once we were safely down, he nimbly trotted down a groove in the slabs, tossing the rope aside as he went.

150 Kieran walking down the rocks and catching the rope.jpg
Kieran descending via a groove in the slabs.

By the third abseil I was starting to feel a little calmer about the process. After that the scrambling got a bit easier too. We were certainly being put through our paces!

151 Views up to the rocks.jpg
The gradient eased a bit as we lost altitude.

By the time we reached level ground, I had a feeling of exhilaration. I had conquered a big beast, and a few fears!

152 Views up to the Big B.jpg
The view back to where we'd just been.

My friend and I were both in awe of what we'd just accomplished, with Kieran's assistance.

We had one more instruction day ahead of us, after a rest day. It was to be slightly lower key. What did Kieran have planned for us? I couldn't wait to find out.

154 Buachaille Etive Beag and the River Coupall.jpg
Buachaille Etive Beag and the River Coupall.

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://ramblingandscrambling.co.uk/uncategorized/ulog-16-curved-ridge-feeling-the-fear-and-doing-it-anyway/

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Fantastic! Thanks for the support.

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in today's Travel Digest #305. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Holy moly! That is amazing. So much beauty and yet so terrifying. Thanks so much for all the detail and wonderful phots.
Ren

Glad you enjoyed reading it! I enjoyed writing it and reliving it all over again. What an experience!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 238 (8/26/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=natubat
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=ulog16-curvedridgefeelingthefearanddoingitanyway-6meux5vmq7


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations to you and your friend, Ms. Anonymous, on doing this outdoor climb. I just have one question. On the way down, how does the instructor get down? If comes down the rope after you two, then how does he get the rope down? I guess that was two questions, okay, I had two.
Having never been around this I don't have a clue.

Thanks, and that was one of my questions too! Sometimes he just walks down - he's been climbing for 25 years and is like a mountain goat. Other times he does a self-belay, where you wrap the rope round an anchor (a stable rock or very large tree) so it's doubled over on itself. With both ends fed through a belay device and your harness, you can belay yourself down in a controlled way. Once you're at the bottom, you untie yourself and pull the rope back. Genius!

Thanks for that reply, those must be some long ropes he needs in those cases when he does repel down.

Thx/ that's a big rope.

What a great hike. I have done some indoor climbing for a while, but never outdoors. Would love to do such a thing. I enjoy walking up mountains and I like climbing as well. A hike like this looks like a sweet combination of both! Such a view at the top. Have not yet been to Scotland, but I see a lot of similarities with the Irish landscape.

Scotland has many similarities with Ireland. Our mountains are bigger, but apart from that I can't say very much, as I've only been to Ireland twice!
And yes, the hike was very much a combination of hillwalking and climbing. I just love scrambling – in other words, climbing rocks using your hands and feet. When you use ropes to secure yourself, it means you can be more adventurous with your scrambling moves, which helps to build your confidence and ability. Definitely a sweet combination!

Wow oh wow! This was such an amazing and heart racing post. The pictures you took on your journey were breathtaking as if I were there. I am
afraid of heights so my heart was racing seeing some of these pictures. Great job to you and your friend as that was a huge accomplishment! I’m glad everyone remained safe. Thank you so much for sharing this beautiful adventure, the view is truly amazing!

Thanks @crosheille! There certainly were some heart-stopping moments, but we knew we were secure with the ropes and in good hands.

I’m glad you were in good hands ;)

My heart dropped to the floor when I saw that 'window' photo.

Yes, my heart did exactly the same when I saw that view! :)

OK, I'll just stick to Pen-y-ghent thanks. I'm getting vertigo just looking at this.

Yeah it did make the Aonach Eagach seem a bit like a walk in the park.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58572.58
ETH 2551.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47