Doing my part to help keep the Planet CleansteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cleanplanet6 years ago (edited)

I can never understand why people feel the need to throw garbage out their window while driving down the road. I mean it's not that hard to just throw it away whenever you stop the vehicle. Basically every place you go there is a trash canister for garbage whether it be the gas station, grocery stores, malls, wal-marts, you name it they are in nearly every parking lot everywhere you go! But unfortunately that doesn't stop people from littering, especially when driving in the country. So I try to do a trash pick up once in a while to keep they route that I walk daily clean and since I haven't done one since the hurricane it seemed like the right time to do it again.

I did this cleanup yesterday on: 11/14/2018 but I didn't have time to finish this post until today.

The Start

Today I started by my house and planned on doing about a mile worth of cleanup along the side of the road and in the culverts. The last few times I went out I didn't have big enough bags and they filled up fast so this time I grabbed a 13 gallon tall kitchen trash bag thinking it would take quite a while to fill up.

A lot of times the trash laying on the side of the road gets mowed over by the tractor mowers and it shreds anything and everything things to pieces. This was a towel one day and the next day it was about 50 pieces of towel... That's a lot more pieces to clean up! LoL


What Did I Pick Up?

Most of the trash I pick up was things like food/drink containers and wrappers. Things like soda cans, beer/alcohol containers, boxes, cigarette packages and a lot fast food trash which is a bit surprising considering I live in the middle of nowhere North Carolina and there isn't any fast food within probably 20 miles of me?! There was actually even more trash than I thought there was, the bag was filling up a lot faster than I thought it would.

But that wasn't all!



I found this insulated ducting laying in the ditch, normally I would think this is a really weird thing to be out here but with hurricane florence not to long ago there is a lot of weird debris around. The ducting was in the culvert and it was water logged so it was heavy and way to big to fit in my bag. I looked around and saw a garbage bin at a community center down the road and figured it was a good place to place it especially considering it was trash day. The ducting wasn't easy to pick up so I ended up rolling the bin down the street a bit and threw it away, I can't imagine what the cars driving by thought LoL. After I loaded up the ducting (along with some other trash I grabbed along the way) into the trash bin and drolled it back to its rightful place .

There ended up being a lot more trash than I really expected, you can see my bag was filled up to the top. Unfortunately I didn't get to do the entire length I had planned on doing because my bag was full and bad weather was moving in fast. But there is always another day and the section I did does look great!

There is something incredibly fulfilling about doing things like this. I know I will never get a thank you and to be honest I am probably the only one who will notice, but I still know what I did and it feels great to help keep mother earth clean! :) It really is the little things in life.

Be the change you want to see in the world
-Ghandi


Oh, just in case you haven't heard yet there is an amazing initiative called @cleanplanet that will pay you to help keep the planet clean! Not only will they upvote you on steemit but they will pay you with their crypto currency also, well at least they keep track of it right now and will release the tokens when Smart Media Tokens become available early in 2019. It's a great initiative to be part of and they are always looking for new delegations and new participants to keep this great idea moving forward. Check it out! So join the @cleanplanet revolution and help keep the world beautiful!

"Peace, Love and all that Hippie shit"

Sort:  

LOL... Of course, a green one... 💪😄👍

Picture1.png

I remember when bottles had 2 cent deposits. Bottles were about the only trash then, there was virtually no fast food to be divested of its wrappings. We would take a burlap sack and walk the highway to the nearest store, however far that was. When we got there our sack was usually worth five bucks or so. A week or two later we would do the other side. We did this twice a year I think. Forty bucks a year was not a good salary even then, but shared between two small boys it made a pretty good supplement to our pocket money.

This excellent post was included in our new curation effort The Magnificent Seven -- a collaborative work by @enchantedspirit and @catweasel. You have received a 100% upvote from each of us to show our appreciation for your post. To see your creation showcased here ... and the fine company you keep ... please visit this link.

The Magnificent Seven # 42

We appreciate your support both for our work on this project and for the other creators of exceptional content who make it all possible. (Follow @catweasel to catch our future Magnificent Seven posts. @enchantedspirit says I'm really not as annoying as you might think, but she doesn't mean it.)

rcw.jpg

Oh how the times have changed. LoL. No more do we see glass bottles, only worthless plastic bottles so there is no money incentive to do it anymore.

I do it because I hate walking past it everyday, it makes my walks less enjoyable. So I take it upon myself to fix it because no one else cares. But taking a walk and not seeing trash makes the extra effort worth it for me :0)

People who litter are the real trash. If only we could throw them out the window.

You went above and beyond and the planet thanks you. Well done.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by moderndayhippie from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Awesome, did u ever get a grabber??

No, not yet LoL. I totally forgot about it until I was bending over to pick up the garbage.. I have to remember to get one next time im at the store! I smoke a bunch so my memory isn't the best Hahahaha..😉

Well done "MDH" I second that grabber request. We did a Riverwalk cleanup awhile ago and you would not believe the number of needles out there. Stay safe! :)

I am happy to say I haven't seen any needles yet so that makes me happy! I still want a grabber tho, I can only bend over so many times. Lol

Great work. People are trash not the trash itself.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @moderndayhippie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 25000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 30000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hey, @moderndayhippie!

Thank you for your contribution to the crowd. We are the Steemit project dedicated to empowering The Wisdom of Crowds. You can find more about us on our official blog, whitepaper and website. We are also inviting you to join our Discord server. Happy crowdsourcing!

Good job!

Be the change you want to see in the world
-Ghandi

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62020.79
ETH 2420.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64