Unlocking the Power of Chrome: Issue 29

in #chrome6 years ago

Did you miss me? I am back from a great vacation spent with my wife and some close friends.

We had a great time, and I will write about my trip in some future posts, but now it is time to get back to work and bring you some great extensions for Chrome.

To help myself ease back into it though, I am actually not going to cover an extension. I want to write a quick follow-up on a previous extension I covered.


In one of my first posts in this series, I covered URL Shortener. It is basically an extension that allows you to take those tremendously long url's and shorten them down into something a bit more manageable.

I recently read in this article from Engadget that Google is shutting down the Url Shortener service.

A quick synopsis of the article is that Google is moving to Firebase Dynamic Links and they are phasing out the use of shortened links after April 13th, 2018.

They suggest that if you want to continue using shortened url's, to look into the bitly or ow.ly services.

I try my best to keep you updated about the newest and coolest stuff for Chrome, but I also want to make sure I am doing my due-diligence to inform you about things that are no longer supported or have been compromised.

Thank you for reading and helping me ease back into my schedule. Check back in a couple days for the next issue. Remember I will be covering a new extension every two days now.

Many of my posts in this series have been featured in The STEEM Engine and SteemRepair, Check them out!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Yeah, I found out about this at about the same time. I was mainly a user of bitly but liked having the google options. However, I used bit.ly much less after they discontinued the j.mp TLD

Have you used ow.ly at all? I haven't had a chance to check it out yet. I am also planning to dig into the Firebase Dynamic Links but I don't think they really work the same at all.

Cool! We have always used bitly at my work, I never realised that chrome actually had an extension for this.. Its a shame it is being discontinued.. but its also pretty damn awesome that you reported that as a follow up. due diligence indeed! Keep up the excellent work! :)

Thanks, I appreciate it. I have only ever used the Google one, so I will have to check out some of the others. I think Google is trying to move away from it because of the emergence of bad url's being disguised with shorteners. I did write another post about an extension that un-shortens and scans the url for you, so that is cool too. Thanks for the comment!

Oh interesting! I didn't realise they even had an extension to unpack shortened URLs!

cool thanks! I will read it right now :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #97 (4/7/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57776.16
ETH 3060.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35