Lying to the kids (almost...)!

in #christmas5 years ago

IMG_20191120_220700.jpg

Well.... these things are going to happen sooner or later... We teach our kids not to lie, and to always tell the truth... but the facts are that this is not really a reasonable way to live in society. At times, we do need to obfuscate and avoid being completely true.

Now, we are currently in the period before the Sinterklass big night... which means that the kids can put out a shoe each night (with a carrot for the horses...) in the hopes that Sinterklaas and the Pietjes will visit and leave a small present. In our house, we try to keep it pretty simple... about 1 in 2 or 3 times, there will be something... but the other nights... well, better luck for the next time!

Also, we try to keep the presents pretty small as well (after all, two weeks of crazy amounts of presents... followed by PakjesAvond and then the Christmas proper is just waaaaaaaay to much stuff and loot for a little kid! I wouldn't turn it down for myself... but definitely too much for the little ones! So, mostly, it will be a chocolate or a handful of kruidnoten or maybe once a week there will be something a bit less edible (this week, the older one got a light up automatic pencil sharpener and the little one got a new pencil case with Unicorns!).

However, with the older one being in a class with other kids that have figured out (or have been told by older siblings) that the parents are doing everything... well... the doubt is starting to settle in. A couple of nights ago, she told us her friend had told her that the parents are actually the ones that are leaving treats in the shoes... however, she wanted to write a letter to the Pieten to see if they would answer that problem (sigh.... a failure of logical thinking there... why would you ask the questionable party if they exist?).

So, there was a note left for the Pieten... which basically asked in Dutch, Whether or not the parents are doing the presents in the shoes... plus, there she said that next year, she would love to see the real Sinterklaas for the Intocht (the arrival of Sinterklass into Netherlands) instead of one of the helper Sinterklassen. Sigh... there is so much cognitive dissonance here... she is doubting the point of the Pieten breaking into our house every other evening to leave treats... but not doubting the actual existence of Sinterklass and the Pieten!

Anyway, my wife and I were pretty damn exhausted that evening... and so, we were caught without a cover story. We toyed around with different options for the response:

  • Tell the Whole Truth.... Ouch, this would open up so many other problems. If we did the presents, then there might lead to the doubt of Sinterklaas... and that would be a such a terrible thing, the innocence is so beautiful! Plus, we would have to also integrate her into the conspiracy... so that her younger sister wouldn't have her illusion shattered.
  • Tell a Part Truth.... Well, this would involve saying that we do it... on the days that the Pieten can't either get into our house or need help in some way. Too complex for a lie... this would lead to the idea that we could communicate directly with the Pieten... too many loose ends to keep tidy.
  • Lie... tell her that it was definitely the Pieten that leave the presents and treats. End of Story... continue the illusion for a little bit longer... but we can't control the flow of information from the school... so, this could backfire in a big way.
  • Obfuscate and don't directly answer. Well, this was my solution and the one that we would end up running with for this year.

Basically, I drew up (traced... neither myself or my wife can draw....) the picture above... my wife was pretty impressed, and said that it was a great drawing... but when I told her I traced it, she said it was a pretty terrible tracing! However, more importantly, the message is completely obscure and unclear... and I was hoping that she would read into it what she wanted to read (heh... I should become a political operative!).... without the message explicitly saying anything one way or the other...

The next morning... SUCCESS (I hope... time will tell).... she told me that it was definitely the Pieten that left the presents... I asked why, and she said that they had left this message for her... the Piet and the present... so, it was definitely the Pieten that delivered the presents! She also said that she knew that her mother and I couldn't draw... so, it couldn't possibly be us that drew it!


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

Sort:  

My parents have always maintained that “El Niño Dios”, Santa, and “Los Reyes Magos” are real.

One year my sister (I was 11, she was 17) refused to write a letter to Santa. She got NOTHING from Santa (mon and dad gave her slightly nicer presents because they knew she didn’t write the letter). From then on WE ALL wrote letters to Santa.

Shoot, I’m writing one this year!

I need a new fridge and, well, Santa Can get me one.


Posted via Marlians.com

Woah! That is hardcore parenting! I think I would definitely writing something every year as well.....

Good luck with the fridge! You are trying to break Santa's back?

He has a sled and magical powers... no need to worry about his back.

I only just read this.
I don't get the entire 'lying to your kids'-thing, to be honest. I mean, we expect them to be honest, still, by the time they're about 6, they find out their parents have been lying to them their entire life. Not a great example, if you ask me;

I never believed in Sinterklaas, nor Santa Claus. My mum told me the truth. Still, although I never believed, I got presents until she died, when I was 30 years old.

It wasn't always easy, though, lol. When I was like 4 years old, I told me classmates in kindergarden that Sinterklaas didn't exist. My teacher was mad at me, and tried a whole lot to make me think I was wrong. Worst part is, she succeeded. I went home that year, calling my mum a liar, lol.

Years later, I met with a friend from kindergarten. He told me I had been the reason why he never got presents anymore for Sinterklaas. in his family - just like in many other families - you only get presents as long as you believe. Once you know the truth, it's over. I don't get that either.

I never blamed my parents for not letting me believe; I have been thankful to them for not lying to me. And for all the presents, of course ;0)

It is pretty strange that we do this to our kids... but I can really imagine that it was pretty difficult having all the other kids around you believing in a falsehood when you knew the truth! That must have gone down like a lead balloon....

Anyway, in some ways it is really nice that the kids are still naive enough to believe in something that fantastical... but yes, strange from the lying point of view! This Pakjes-avond.... we managed to extend the story for one more year!

What a great idea to leave the drawing. The leaving of presents before Christmas is a new one I hadn’t heard of before your post.

As a child, I pretended to believe is Santa long after knowing the truth for it meant more gifts. 😂

LOL... so you played your parents! I'm going to be extra suspicious of my kids now!

The Christmas celebrations are pretty different all around the world... in Europe there are many ways of doing it... here, it is the 5th of December that is the big day!

Oh, Oh the cat’s out of the bag now! 😂 🎅

Santa Claus definitely still comes to my house. He only visits the believers you know. I bet it is the same with Pieten. 😉

Teehee... that's a great way to do it!

Synchronicity is awesome. I was JUST having a small comment exchange
With @scrooger about being honest, and how I tended to be anal
as far as being honest, and having lost friends and jobs
because of it. I do believe honesty is best though
Upvoted, great post as always @bengy

Honesty is definitely the best!... although, with kids... sometimes, a little deflection is in order!

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
upvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives
JOIN US HERE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Posted using Partiko Android


ibt
Congrats! on your upvotes from the IBT Community

Thanks! I had no idea that I held tokens!

Any one who played a previous original IBT on steemit is entitled to 1K reserved SMT :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61098.19
ETH 2625.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63