You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lying to the kids (almost...)!

in #christmas5 years ago

I only just read this.
I don't get the entire 'lying to your kids'-thing, to be honest. I mean, we expect them to be honest, still, by the time they're about 6, they find out their parents have been lying to them their entire life. Not a great example, if you ask me;

I never believed in Sinterklaas, nor Santa Claus. My mum told me the truth. Still, although I never believed, I got presents until she died, when I was 30 years old.

It wasn't always easy, though, lol. When I was like 4 years old, I told me classmates in kindergarden that Sinterklaas didn't exist. My teacher was mad at me, and tried a whole lot to make me think I was wrong. Worst part is, she succeeded. I went home that year, calling my mum a liar, lol.

Years later, I met with a friend from kindergarten. He told me I had been the reason why he never got presents anymore for Sinterklaas. in his family - just like in many other families - you only get presents as long as you believe. Once you know the truth, it's over. I don't get that either.

I never blamed my parents for not letting me believe; I have been thankful to them for not lying to me. And for all the presents, of course ;0)

Sort:  

It is pretty strange that we do this to our kids... but I can really imagine that it was pretty difficult having all the other kids around you believing in a falsehood when you knew the truth! That must have gone down like a lead balloon....

Anyway, in some ways it is really nice that the kids are still naive enough to believe in something that fantastical... but yes, strange from the lying point of view! This Pakjes-avond.... we managed to extend the story for one more year!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67801.51
ETH 2617.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72