Chocolate Week 3/5 : Cannabis, Cuban-cigar, Wasabi chocolates @ The Chocolate Line (Antwerp/Bruges, Belgium)

in #chocolate6 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians, welcome to the third episode of my Chocolate Week blog, the Valentine's week special. Today's Belgian chocolate boutique I have picked to introduce to you is a unique, slightly unusual, chocolatier called The Chocolate Line (just realised that their shop name is rather normal..). They are unique because they sell quite bizzare flavoured pralines, such as Cannabis or Cuban-cigar... Are they even legal?

The Chocolate Line


Meir 50
2000 Antwerp
Belgium
http://www.thechocolateline.be/en/

20180213_153621.png

Entrance:


Their boutique is located on the ground floor of the rococo style Paleis op de Meir, an 18th-century palace once owned by Napoleon. It's exciting already to just enter the shop as it does feel like you're going into a palace or a museum.

20180213_144152.jpg

20180213_153552.png

Interior:


Whenever I go to a new restaurant or a chocolate boutique like this, I always look at their interior style first, I love examining their choice of furniture, lighting, wall colour, how the staff are dressed etc. For an interior enthusiast like myself, entering this chocolatier is heavenly - there is so much to look at. When I first went to the shop, I spent a very long time there just looking around and in the end didn't buy any chocolates.

IMG_3084.JPG

This below is my favourite spot in the shop. I often just walk in there after my usual shopping in town to experience the atmosphere. I just stand here and enjoy the view as well as the smell of these chocolates. It simply makes me happy to be in this Belgian chocolate palace. (The staff don't seem to bother anyway :D)

IMG_3075.JPG

Cuban-cigar, Cannabis, Wasabi....


The Chocolate Line are known for their wildy experimental flavours, such as Cuban-cigar (HAVANA), Cannabis (HENNEP), Wasabi, Sake, etc.. The creator of The Chocolate Line, Dominique Persoone, is often described as 'shock-o-latier' - you can see he is trying to break the classic Belgian chocolate rules and creating something new with these interesting flavors and fillings.

cannabis praline.jpg

chocolate line sample pralines.jpg

20180213_153702.png

These below are the two pralines I had most recently; 'Cabernet Sauvignon' (picture: right) and.. one of their most normal looking hazelnut pralines, which I forgot the name (picture: left). I should have bought some of the unusual flavoured ones, so I could tell you my opinion on them. Maybe next time!

20180213_150558.png

My Chocolate Week blog still continues with two more episodes featuring two more of my favourite Belgian chocolatiers this week. I hope you enjoy it so far. Feel free to comment below and tell me about your favourite chocolates.

Would you try the Cuban-cigar or Cannabis pralines or do you prefer more classic hazelnut ones?

Episodes:
Chocolate Week 5/5 : World's Champion...
Chocolate Week 4/5 : Superbly posh! @...
Chocolate Week 3/5 : Cannabis, ...
Chocolate Week 2/5 @ Mary...
Chocolate Week 1/5 @ Del Rey...

Sort:  

The combination of old and elegant building and chocolate of challenging recipe is a very exciting culture!!
( ・∀・)!!

I'm pleased that you read all of my Chocolate posts, thanks dear mdn! They have flavours like Sake, Wasabi, Yuzu, etc. Japanese ingredients are very interesting for European chefs apparently : )

I am always surprised by the European chef 's pioneering spirit.
From my point of view, they seem to have a very very strong confidence in own "sense".

I'd try them all! Haha. I actually use cannabis chocolate sometimes for anxiety when in a social situation. Sounds good to me!

I knew you would sarahvain! Oh by the way, we were talking about 'bacon' yesterday, weren't we - I just discovered that these guys (The Chocolate Line) did have bacon flavour. It's called 'Miss Piggy'
bacon choco.jpg

The possibilities are endless! Hahah!

Beautiful! follow and upvote for you ;)

Thanks a lot amazing-place!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 01:22:39
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 6.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61918.40
ETH 2900.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64