Last night we had "the talk" with our kids!

in #children7 years ago (edited)

The conversation around our dinner table last night would have made me uncomfortable had my wife and I not prepared for these types of moments. The topic of our conversation was sex.

My wife and I have always wanted to create an environment where our children (ages 3-10 years old) feel comfortable talking about anything. We desire that our children view us as trusted and caring advisors. And because of this desire, we are taking steps today to ensure that we are invited to participate in important life conversations in the future.

Regarding the topic of sex, I feel that most parents take one of two extreme positions:

  • Through a lack of engagement on this important topic, some parents make it seem that sex is unapproachable or undesirable. Their absence speaks volumes, and as a result, many children run to other sources for information and instruction. In the most extreme cases, sex is verbally communicated as a disgusting act.
  • On the other hand, some parents verbalize that sex is good, but either do not show a healthy model of sexual activity or do not help their children establish healthy parameters for sexual relationships.

As parents we have an incredible right and responsibility to speak truth into the lives of our children. And sex is one of the conversations that we need to be prepared to have.

Steps to take before having “the talk.”

Preparing ourselves and our children for a conversation about sex starts years before “the talk.”

I recommend that parents take the following actions

  • Use the actual words for body parts - I know that a lot of people use non-technical names for body parts. There is nothing inherently wrong with this, but I believe that there are at least two reasons why you should teach the commonly accepted words for your child’ private parts.

    • You help prevent confusion for the children later on in life.
    • You create another barrier that may prevent your child being sexually abused. People who sexually abuse children sometimes try to downplay the importance of the child’s private parts by using nicknames.

  • Be the biggest advocate for your child - Teach your child what is acceptable behavior in regards to bathing and touching. Let your child know that no one should touch him or her (including a doctor) unless mommy or daddy has given permission. Explain what appropriate touch and talk to your child when they are being touched for medical reasons. Extend trust to your family and friends but never assume that something tragic cannot happen to your child. In many cases, the abuser is known by the family.

  • Teach your children to advocate for and defend their bodies - Empower your children to live out the principles that you have taught them. Promote open discussions and make sure that your children know they can come to you even if they feel ashamed of what happened to them. Teach your children how to fight off physical attacks that may be directed towards them.

We live in a broken world. As parents we need to teach our children how to navigate through the future challenges they might face.

couple-3064048_640.jpg

“The talk” is not a single event.


If you grew up in a home that did not talk about sex, then you may find it difficult to communicate with your children about this important matter. Remember that you are trying to create an environment of openness. Ideally, you have been preparing your children (and yourself) to have these conversations for years. So don’t treat this as a single conversation that you can mark off your list of things to do. Approach this as a series of ongoing conversations.

Consider the following:

  • Speak with confidence – When speaking to your children, speak as an expert. This is not indicative of your sexual history, but rather that you are taking an authoritative position on the topic. When you act like you are not comfortable with the topic, you children will wonder why. When you speak with confidence, your child that the topic of sex can be openly discussed.

  • Teach your children healthy parameters about sexuality - It is important that we help our child form a worldview, and they need to know how sex fits into their worldview.

    • Before or after marriage?
    • Heterosexual, Homosexual, or Other?
    • One partner or many partners?

  • Explain intercourse at an age-appropriate level - Our ten-year-old understands more than our 3-year-old, but our ten-year-old does not need all of the information right now. I did not talk about storks or other fairytale style stories. I tried to give as much accurate information as I could based on the child I was speaking to and the scope of our conversation. I wanted to factual and honest, but there was no need to overshare.

  • Explain that sex can be beautiful – I tell my children that sex is good and enjoyable. I tell them that in the right type of relationship, sex is fulfilling. I do not run away from the topic, but instead, take an active role in teaching them to pursue sex as a part of a married relationship.

  • Don’t Be Surprised if you child personalizes what you have said - I felt good about our talk overall, and then it happened. One of my children starting taking the facts and began inferring them onto my wife and my relationship. "So that is what you do when you and mommy ..." I am sure my face turned red. Looking back this seems like a natural progression in the conversation. My child felt no shame or concern in the question, but I was not ready for it.

So we had "the talk." And I fully expect we will have "the talk" again soon. This is a part of parenting. And I am preparing myself to direct and guide my children as best I can.

Your Turn

Let's continue the conversation in the comments section.

  1. Do you feel comfortable talking about sex with other people?
  2. Did you parents openly discuss sex (and other important topics with you) when you were a child?
  3. If you are a parent, have you had "the talk" yet?
  4. What are you doing to prepare yourself for these types of conversations with your kids?

Thanks for stopping by. I hope I did not make you blush too much!

@sumatranate


Image Source: https://pixabay.com/en/couple-romance-love-kiss-lovers-3064048/

Sort:  

Nice article. My wife, @funfarmgirl, handles the sex talks with our girls. I would be too distracting, making inappropriate jokes about it, j/k. Its defiantly a topic that needs to be broached with all kids to keep them from going into the world blind.

@qwaser, I am glad that you and @funfarmgirl work together on important things like this. Appreciate the phrase "keep them from going into the world blind."

I think that is an important part of our responsibility as parents. We help our kids see with eyes wide open.

There’s a conversation I don’t remember havingthis conversation, but know that it did occur. My mom says the first time we started asking questions is around the same time we thought it best to educate all our friends of this new knowledge.

@kubbyelizabeth, I am glad that your parents helped guide you through this important topic.

I can totally see my kiddos going out and sharing this new found knowledge with other children.

Thanks for stopping by. I always appreciate your comments.

How interesting - Derek and I were talking about this just last night. He and I are preparing ourselves for when it's time to have 'the talk' with our girls. My parents did not speak to me about sex so I learned everything from school and friends. What I did learn from family is that sex is for after marriage and it was not communicated that it was pleasurable. Our ultimate goals are to educate and to create an open dialogue. As you stated, it's a ongoing conversation and we want to be sure that our daughters know they can come to us at anytime with no shame or guilt.

  • Kareen

Hey @teamturnerlive! I am glad to hear that you are preparing for the conversations now. I truly believe that is an important step.

So glad to hear that the Turner girls will be raised with loving and open dialogue.

This is a well written piece. I wish more parents would not fear tackling the subject of sex like this.

@wandrnrose7, thanks for the kind words. Parenting can be challenging, but it does not mean that we are allowed to walk in silence.

@sumatranate

I am not comfortable talking about sex to just anyone, but I am with my husband and close friends
My parents didn’t talk about sex at all... it was just “you don’t have sex because it’s not ok when you’re not married”.
Our kids are 13 and 14 and we have discussed sex with them and the boundaries as well... what sex was designed for and for whom. We are Bible believers so we have strong values when it comes to not sharing ourselves freely. The media has changed the worlds perspective of sex, which we try to explain as well. It’s definitly an open topic in our home. Our goal is the same as yours, to keep the communication open and that they feel secure in conversation.
Very well written, nice to see others who think this way.

@jeejee

@jeejee, thanks for the comment. I appreciate the approach you are taking with your children. It is challenging as parents when we start making changes that our parents did not mentor well.

My beliefs on marriage and sex based on my faith in Jesus. I am glad that we can start redefining the stereotype that religion and sexuality are in contention with each other. As we create conversations with our kids, we help them understand that God has a beautiful plan for all of their relationships.

Thanks for stopping by!

Yes, our Heavenly Father has an exact plan. Knowing WHY we should or should not do something is paramount to obeying. This is the definition of understanding.
@jeejee

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 37 (2/6/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

@thesteemengine - It is an honor to be selected. Thanks for helping Steemians like me growth in our community,

Oh I can't imagine having that talk yet.

The Philippines is a predominantly Catholic country and sex talks or anything remote to it is frowned on and considered improper.

Even Sex Education classes are not taught in school so people go about it floundering and getting their info through clandestine searches in the net.

@maverickinvictus, you bring up an important point. A lot of cultures view the conversation of sex as taboo. My wife and I want to be trusted advisors and good sources of knowledge so that our children do not have to flounder and look for information in bad places.

I really appreciate your input. It is important to acknowledge that we are all starting in different places.

What a comprehensive post on such an important topic @sumantranate! I am yet to have "the talk" with my 8 year old son. When the conversation happens it will happen organically because I encourage him to speak with me and his Mum about anything and everything. I absolutely agree that "the talk" is a an ongoing process rather than a single event.

@themikepitt, great point about being organic. My wife and I had not planned on talking with our children, but the conversation naturally occurred and we were prepared to address this questions and concerns (at least most of them).

I am encouraged to hear that you are creating an environment now so that your son will talk with you about these important topics. Keep up the good work!

Keep our children away mistakes...
Children is next generation in future..
Success is always for you @sumatranate...
Thank you...

@boyelleq, we can help our children learn how to avoid mistakes, but we most help them learn how to overcome them as well.

Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment!

I strongly agree with your opinion @sumatranate. because every problem there must be a way out. so the problem to overcome is not inhabited...

Every mistake teaches us to better the future

Our son is a precious pearl for us...

Thank you for this post sir!

i will save it and read it again when my daughter gets a bit older...

You are welcome @phgnomo! Best of luck as you raise your daughter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57960.12
ETH 2482.73
SOL 155.31
SBD 2.43