Something for the vegetarians: Smoked & Pulled Chicken Sliders - A BraaiBoy TV Recipe

in #chicken6 years ago (edited)


In this episode I aim to accommodate the vegetarians, and so I do a pulled chicken with pickled onions slider recipe. Non-vegetarians will also enjoy this as a lekker lunchtime snack.

Start off by making some pickled onion slices... while that chills in the fridge, smoke some chicken pieces. These are then pulled and then tossed in a sweet & tangy sauce. All of this is then placed onto a small toasted roll for a delicious little snack.

Lightly smoked chicken thighs
Pulled and topped with pickled onion


snap.jpg
Let's Eat!

Please check the video out and let me know what you think or if you have any suggestions to tweak the recipe in the comments.

Please UpVote the video if you enjoyed it, and please remember to follow me on Steemit (https://steemit.com/@braaiboy) so that you don't miss the next episode of #BraaiBoyTV.

P.S. Printable recipes of #BraaiBoyTV up on my website : http://braaiboy.co.za/braai-recipes/


in case you couldn't view the @dtube version:

Do you have any recipes or ideas that you would like to see me try out? Let me know in the comments below and if I use your idea there will be a reward in it for you. I don't know what that reward is just yet... but there will be a reward, and it will be cool ;-)

Connect with me on Social:

Steemit: https://steemit.com/@braaiboy
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BraaiBoy
Twitter: https://twitter.com/braaiboy
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/braaiboy/

Some recent posts that might also interest you:


BraaiBoy TeamSouthAfrica Footer.png
footer by @bearone for #TeamSouthAfrica


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

My husband and the real boere around here call chicken "ampervleis". Seems you're in the same camp! LOL

However, as a wannabe veggie, but backslidden carnivore who happens to cook sometimes for vegetarians and vegans, chicken, fish and yes, sometimes also cheese can't be included in vegetarian meals.

Good thing none of the lentilheads have stopped by here. They can be quite vociferous an abusive!

Nice flavours there, will give it a go - when I do "veg" burgers...Lekker braai!

@fionasfavourites

hahahaha, yeah... I've felt the sharp end of the veggie tongues on FB, twitter etc. etc.

The joke of it all is that I actually have (admittedly only 2) Vegetarian friends, but a few more that prefer only fish and/or chicken ("ampervleis" as you say... I'm stealing that BTW :P) because they literally don't like the taste of red meat... yet we still manage to be friends... each to their own I say.

As you say, each to their own. You may use "ampervleis" with pleasure - not mine to give. Coined by one of the local farmers who regularly asks, as we leave the local, whether The Husband "gaan huis toe om hoender te vreet?"!!!

wow indeed... you should try it... delicious!

Hahaha. I see I'm not the only one calling Chicken a vegetable!

haha... Ja jong... I actually have no problem with Chicken, and considering the fact that I have to braai every day, it does offer a change of scenery from my go to favourite, rump steak.

...but, every so often I get (unprovoked) flak from the vegetarians on my Facebook and Twitter accounts... so now I do it just to annoy them ;-)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by BraaiBoy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hahaha I was really excited for you to do something vegetarian and now look here!

Hahaha! I got caught, too. I need to find vegetarian offerings and also get really annoyed when I look at a vegetarian offering on a menu and on inspection find VEGETARIAN chicken mayo or tuna salads....

Sorry about that :P

As I've already promised @shenscott , my next recipe is a fish dish (Pescatarian at least... we're getting there)... and I've already made a promise to 2 more people that I will work on something vegetarian as well.

Hahaha! anytime! I do have a stash of recipes - will share some in due course

Sweet... please hit me up on discord BraaiBoy#4913 , or any of my social channels.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99