Upvote a tree- Charity starts with Steemit: 12 planted to date. (5th post, 23rd Feb.2018)

in #charity6 years ago

I have recently taken to writing posts that will enable reforestation in Northern Peru. Upvoted posts plant trees! Today we  planted 2 Algarrobo native tree saplings and all thanks to Steemit! 

It all started when I won some SBD on the #Steemit Sandwich Contest hosted by @jaybird

I was thinking how I could give something back. It clicked! I could  raise funds to plant trees that are so necessary to the environment. 


 (One tree at a time, more if we upvote and I will plant)  

Here in Northern Peru, population growth has boomed over the decades. Increasing population means increased energy consumption. This ultimately meant that more trees are being cut down, than new trees taking to the local environment. I discuss in more detail why this happens and how managing this resource is vital. 

(this is a dry river bed leading to the ocean)

This week I had some tree saplings left over and that needed replanting. These saplings were part of last weeks upvotes. Next weeks tree saplings will be obtained with recent posts ending this Sunday.

 (these are the two Algarrobo tree saplings that were planted today)

 Here is the first Algarrobo planted:


The second planted for the day:

Before I continue any further I would like to thank the  following for their upvotes:  

@jaybird @jeffjagoe @cecicastor @gold84 @basilmarples @milhail.tsvetkov @brentssanders @bleedpoet @lizelle @sandrina.life @world-travel-pro @da-dawn @cryptocatz @judejulius @gideonedemekong @pv-p @criptokingko @lifemovedbysteem @sumatranate @minnowsupport @artwatch @branusko @derovict @vavvvav @andrest05 @zovra-lidell @aldenvs  

A total of 2.754 SBD was upvoted. Their upvotes led directly to trees being  planted. Do not worry, your upvote from now on, can plant trees too. 

I donate 100% of the SBD earned on the reforestation posts  (like this one) to a local ngo called ecoswell. This ngo has a  reforestation program in which they have small garden nurseries in the  village. I donate to them and I get lots of tree saplings to plant  myself. This on behalf of all you upvoters. I also place the receipts of  the donation on here too in other posts. An example is found here

Everyweek I add all the SBD for the upvote a tree posts  (including from the comments in that particular post). Once added I  personally convert this in Peru Soles and donate it to the local ngo in  exchange for native tree saplings. 

(within weeks, a steem planted tree is creating a habitat)

Not only are you upvoting for free, but the SBD generated is going  into something tangible. Into something that will most likely out live  us all. Into something that reduces are carbon footprint and it wont  cost a cent. 

My most recent posts that  includes a written description, photos and personal  comment feedback:

4th post: Upvote a tree- Charity starts with Steemit. Your upvote will plant trees in Peru: 10 planted to date

I won some steem on SSC, so I bought a tree and planted it. [18th Feb. 2018: 3rd Post] 10 trees planted to date. 

My first post about this: I won some steem on SSC, so I bought a tree and planted it.  

If you would like to read my posts, then find me here @intrepidsurfer


Sort:  

This is a brilliant project, mate! I'm resteeming this one!

thank you @conradino , it wouldnt happen without steemians like yourself.

Nice work!
Dont forget to water them :-)

hey @brizhorticulture trees are well water and living :) just planted and posted about the latest trees. You got a mention in the post for your upvote. Couldn't have done it without you.

https://steemit.com/charity/@intrepidsurfer/upvote-a-tree-charity-starts-with-steemit-your-upvote-will-plant-trees-in-peru-16-planted-to-date-6th-post-2nd-march-2018

Hey @intrepidsurfer thanks for the ,mention and THANKS FOR PLANTING TREES!!!

thank you @brizhorticulture for the reminder. I just went out and water them all.

@intrepidsurfer ! Glad my vote is helping you plant more trees!

Regards, @gold84

Couldnt have done it without your upvote @gold84 , thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68342.52
ETH 3806.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63