Upvote a tree- Charity starts with Steemit. Your upvote will plant trees in Peru: 10 planted to date.

in #charity6 years ago

I have recently taken to writing posts that will enable reforestation in Northern Peru. Upvoted posts plant trees!

It all started when I won some SBD on the #Steemit Sandwich Contest hosted by @jaybird

I was thinking how I could give something back. It clicked! I could raise funds to plant trees that are so necessary to the environment. 

(One tree at a time, more if we upvote and I will plant)

Here in Northern Peru, population growth has boomed over the decades. Increasing population means increased energy consumption. 

Not everyone here can afford to buy a 25 USD gas bottle and refill it for 15 USD. There is a section of society that cannot even afford the down payment of the gas bottle. Resorting to buying daily, wood or charcoal to cook with. Per day is like 30 to 40 cents us, but over the year it adds up to a lot more. 

Poor get poorer as everything costs more in smaller amounts. 

 

(to give you an idea of the local environment where the trees are planted)

You cant tell someone who cant afford anything else, you cant use firewood to cook with, never going to work!

Though managing natural resources is vital, especially with a growing population that is pushing over the natural threshold capacity. Threshold in regards to the natural local environment sustaining the needs of the local human population. 

(native Algarrobo tree saplings)

You will have more chance of managing resources, in this case planting multiple trees to replace what is used to support local populations. This is especially true if there is a financial incentive. In this case the sale of firewood. Developing other cottage industries from reforestation such as tourism, medicinal, agro-forestry etc.expansion will of course take time and A LOT of effort. I have worked in international development for over a decade. It always isnt that simple as it seems. 

In the first step of addressing this issue (local deforestation) in partnership with steemit. I have started to plant native tree saplings around where I live. I have been able to do this with simple upvotes. 

I donate 100% of the SBD earned on the reforestation posts (like this one) to a local ngo called ecoswell. This ngo has a reforestation program in which they have small garden nurseries in the village. I donate to them and I get lots of tree saplings to plant myself. This on behalf of all you upvoters. I also place the receipts of the donation on here too in other posts. An example is found here


(ready to be planted)

Everyweek I add all the SBD for the upvote a tree posts (including from the comments in that particular post). Once added I personally convert this in Peru Soles and donate it to the local ngo in exchange for native tree saplings. 


(hostile terrain but it will host this native tree)

Not only are you upvoting for free, but the SBD generated is going into something tangible. Into something that will most likely out live us all. Into something that reduces are carbon footprint and it wont cost a cent. 

My most recent post from yesterday highlights the whole process for that week. It also includes a written description, photos and personal comment feedback.

I won some steem on SSC, so I bought a tree and planted it. [18th Feb. 2018: 3rd Post] 10 trees planted to date.  

My first post about this: I won some steem on SSC, so I bought a tree and planted it.  

If you would like to read my posts, then find me here @intrepidsurfer

Sort:  

You are doing great work my friend. I keep pushing back my travel dates. As I spend my days on my computer writing and back logging post for hours on end. The depression and cabin fever is getting to break out of cage levels. Which the side effect is I'm going to be more than thrilled to get moving again. I pretty sure the plan is Machalla Ecuador for one night. Mancora for three nights. Then I'll come and visit you for a day or too! Totally NEED to get the %*#$ out of here now! lol Keep up the great work with the trees bro. Maybe we can't plant a few of them together!

please dont tell me that you are STILL in Guayaquil! I would have gone stir mad weeks ago! here is getting super hot and humid, but you will be used to that. Machalla is in the mountains, I think, I bet you will stay there longer than expected.
Totally down for tree planting with you. Project of upvote a tree is picking up pace on steemit. Bloody amazing!

Bro! I just got a call from a business partner in Quito. I have to take an overnight bus there tonight and sign some papers. a Lot of money on the table. SO I guess it's not bad that I'm still in Ecuador. But you are totally right. I'm going stir crazy. I'm working my rear off on steemit. Since my sh%t blew up, this has turned into a 40 plus hr a week job, with some serious $$$$. I almost can't believe how my hard work here has paid off. But it's almost like be careful what you wish for kind of things. So I think I'm just going to bus it up to quito tongight. Score some cheap tickets and fly back to Guayqayuil. Go straigh to the bus station to Machala., Machala is on the coast an hour north from the border. I'll just chill there a night two max. Then Get down into Peru. I'll keep you posted. With me nothing is set in stone, but it almost always get's done.....in time! lol

Congrats with your success with your tree post. It's really an amazing platform where success can come out of nowhere like a storm steem and SBD! Just crazy!

Id love to have the problem of my posts taking off like yours, but I see what you mean about the time input necessary. I actually look forward to posting and growing on here. I see so much potential and I am glad I got in relatively early. All going well, I wish to travel with steemit and continue the reforestation program too.

No worries about nothing set in stone. I am the same until I have travel tickets in hand or a work contract.

Have fun in Quito and good luck for your business .

Great news! I was literally an hour away from bailing on my paid night at the hotel here in Guayaquil and going to the bus station to sit on a bus all night. Horrible.

I get a phone call, oh can you just email me your ID. You don't have to come to Quito now for a while!

Uhhhhhggg, Ecuadorians! I'll tell you. But I'm happy and relieved.

Yes, my blog blowing up, you see some these whales. They get like 100 replies. It's insane and I haven't learned how to manage my time right. I'm not making crazy money like some are but at this rate it's more than I ever have in my life, if I keep posting twice a day!

But I'm telling you, be careful what you wish for!

Before I was wealthy in time and lifestyle, now I'm wealthy SBD! lol Just insane. I'm working on finding a balancing act. There's a lot we can talk about in person. We'll turn it into a blog post! lol

So I'm heading out tomorrow, finally, if not the day after for sure. I'm pretty sure Machalla, then Mancora, then to you. So I hopefully will see you in a week....give or take a bit.

I'll keep you posted.

bru, I really look forward to sitting down with you and chatting about all things steem.

You just got a vote from Sndbox-Alpha! Please help us find more great contents about Meet Up and Philanthropy. Click here for more information.

Wishing you and ecoswell much success with the reforestation, much needed there, well done for doing your bit to change the world you find yourself in now!

Hello @lizelle, awesome sandwich you presented this week. I feel you are a strong contender for the win :)
Just to let you know I planted and posted with your upvote today:
https://steemit.com/charity/@intrepidsurfer/upvote-a-tree-charity-starts-with-steemit-your-upvote-will-plant-trees-in-peru-16-planted-to-date-6th-post-2nd-march-2018
Thank you ever so much for your support.

Thanks @intrepidsurfer aka steemitupvotetreeplanter;) not so sure about that! Well done with your project, will check your post out but upvote when my VP is a little higher.

Fuckin eh man! This is really great, I hope it grows huge and we can start to see a tree community popping up in that hostile environment.

How old do these trees usually go? You mentioned they will probably outlive us lol.

Keep up this initiative !

Some of the older ones will be well past 100 years. There are a variety of native trees and shrubs that do well in this environment. We also have the end of a water shed zone within the district. Used to be loads more trees but most have been cut down.

The rate this is going, there is going to be a lot of reforestation going on via steem. Just trying to figure out on how to present, inform and educate on all this. One step at a time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63924.41
ETH 3120.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88