What's Your Most Consistent Habit For The Last 5 Years?: May 30 Days Writing Challenge - Day 8

My most consistent hobby for the last 5 years is traveling. I have been travelling consistently from 2012 till date.
336606_S.jpg
Creative common of Pixabay

Though all of my travelings has been within the different states in my country. I look forward to traveling to other countries of the world soon. The first time I had the opportunity to travel outside my state was in 2009, during my high school days when I went for an Excursion at Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike.

When I got admitted into the University, my travelling experience got much better, as I got exposed to more opportunities to travel.

I enjoy traveling long distances, the chatter from other passengers in the bus, the sound of music that keeps blaring from my headset, the beautiful sight of forests and trees, buildings and people going about their normal day businesses and more.

I rarely read during my travels, but I've enjoyed a couple of books and novels during some of my travels.

In 2012, I traveled to Ibadan for the first time, it was for an academic conference/competition which held at the University of Ibadan (Nigeria's premier University), we were lodging in an hotel within the heart of Ibadan. Asides the conference, I had the privilege of touring the city which is one of the largest and oldest city in West Africa. I enjoyed the sight of ancient Abrahamic buildings with brown roofs as brownish as the Color of the cabs that ply the city. This experience and more later fueled my passion of returning to the ancient city.
FB_IMG_1518537409596.jpg
At Delta state during my NYSC

In 2013, I travelled to Port Harcourt, Rivers and stayed there for an outreach. In the same year, I also spent some time at Yenogoa, the capital city of Bayelsa for a conference.

My first time of traveling to Lagos was for SPAN conference which held at the University of Lagos, Akoka in 2014. I had the opportunity of also getting to see my elder sister who resides in Lagos. Lagos is indeed a bubbling city. The next time I visited Lagos, it was on an official trip to a company (Pz Wilmer) from a company I was working for in Delta (IMC).
FB_IMG_1521879828336.jpg
At Jos, Plateau state, battling the cold

My first traveling experience to the North was in 2015, Kwara state, I was at the University of Ilorin for an academic conference/quiz competition. The following year I spent some time in Jos, Plateau state. Jos is as cold as Ice.

I have travelled several times to the East and spent some time there. I've been to Imo, Anambra and Abia specifically. I was in Delta for my NYSC from 2016 - 2017.

Earlier this year, I had the privilege of traveling again to North, Nassarawa and Abuja, for a steem meet-up with @lordjames and @xpency respectively.
IMG_20180312_164815.jpg
on my way back from Abuja

I've had a wonderful time too staying in the west; Ogun, Ondo, Lagos, Osun and currently Ibadan (OYO).

The fascinating thing is that, each of these places I travel to hold a beautiful piece of me, and these pieces make up my life story.

One of my long-term goals is to travel all the 36 states of my country and 109 countries of the world.

Travelling has been my most consistent hobby for the last 5 years.

Thank you for your time.

This challenge is the initiative of @dragosroua, if you're interested in joining or knowing more about it, Just click HERE

Here are my previous entries to the challenge;

Sort:  

So many beautiful memories

Yeah, lifetime memories

Your writing thrills me

Likewise yours, thank you

Travelling seems to be a hobby for you. The president of the Federal Republic of Nigeria should make you his minister of tourism. Lol. It's fun though but I hate having to sit on one spot for hours. When it comes to travelling, I prefer flight.

Hahaha at Minister of tourism, that will be a gone one. Don't worry we'll be flying planes and jets soon, @lordjames has already informed me about this.

I didnt kno you have visited almost 36 states of Nigeria... great traveller indeed!

I will someday, but I've traveled through the 6 geo-political zones.

I love to travel but unfortunately I haven't travelled much. We have 30 states in India but the number of states that I have visited so far is just 4 and have never travelled to any other countries. You are far superior in that case. You have visited too many countries so far! Come to India when you set out to travel the world.

Thank you so much @sathyasankar, do well to travel the remaining 26 states.
When I set out to travel the world, I would certainly to India atleast to get to see you and your family. Thank you for stopping by

Mr Traveler!
I love to travel too, but I'm limited for now.
Hahahaha, long-term goals? OK na
Let's travel the world together 🙌

#wastingtimeonyou

Hahaha, Brownie, you know it will be a dream come true for me to travel the world with you. I can't wait

#wastingtimeonyou

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63475.87
ETH 3121.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87