Who haven't tried a fresh young coconut water? January 1, 2017steemCreated with Sketch.

in #challenge308 years ago (edited)

Wanting for some "buko juice" or young coconut water since arriving in Manila, out we went in the streets today!

Usually, just outside where we live, there are pushcarts full of young coconuts for sale. Disappointedly, they're not around today. It's the New Year's day after all.

In our hunt in the neighborhood, we saw these young men selling near the wet market.

$ 0.50 cents each!! Fancy that?

These were harvested yesterday. Accordingly, they can live for a week with their husks on. Compared to those ones that are being imported abroad, that once their husks removed, my experience tells me they are only good for less than 24 hours.

Will you buy these?

In the supermarket for the same price, stamped as fresh, there's no date on when unhusked. As these are quite easily available anywhere, these might not be bought anymore. 

These looks more fresh, they have more chance of being bought...today. 

Importing them and still being edible is possible, but unhusked. Since a week is supposedly their time life, removing their husks early will lessen it. Or worst. 

Consume in 24 hours.

Previous experience I've learnt that unhusked, there is a noticeable smell when already nearing its' 24 hours. Even the taste of the coconut water is a little bit off at this time.

Obviously, business is business. Less husks  means more space, more coconut pieces. Less hassles to the consumers too.

But at what price?

The certainty that it is edible is low. I have seen some being sold in London, in China Town or in some Asian stores. But there is no date or expiration, so I have never bought one. 

Though this might be the case abroad, when buying, I hope they are still edible. And the coconut water isn't off.

The best way to drink them is when chilled. I can imagine seeing people drinking them on holiday in exotic and tropical places. But do they taste the same? Perhaps.

Can my own coconut man invite you to try his own produce?? Only in the Philippines!

All images are mine and taken with Samsung Galaxy S7.

Sort:  

@immajoras yes! I fancy that!
Specially that am sick now, from some bad mussels I ate last Tuesday I suppose, been sick for days, I need some IV I think but would prefer Buko Juice - it's better and more natural :)
Plus I miss the buko itself
Those guys look pretty happy eh?
Someone in The Hague sells this and they say it tastes the same. I haven't tried but haven't heard anyone say it tastes bad.

Oh poor you. You can still have the IV buko water lolsss
I'll drink them for you. Sometimes I long for buko water when I see them being sold in London. It's good that there are, but a waste if unedible.

Girl how are you? Are you in Hague? If you can invite Sass Rogando Sassot on steemit ;)

Yes I have had fresh coconut water.
I watched the man climb the coconut tree, cut down the coconut and then cut the coconut open for me to drink. it was perhaps five minutes old - still with the husk on.
Can't get much fresher than that!

True but i bet u wanted to climb the tree urself? Harvesting ive seen was kicking each coconut ;) Kids were advised to stay away.

This was done for us tourists on Zanzibar. The tree was very high, and I'm not good with heights. By the time i got to the top i'd be too petrified to do anything but cling on for dear life :-)

You could hug the tree and slide down?? That works,painful to the butt but it works ;)

Hmmm..... a coconut tree is very slender. It its usually climbed facing the tree. So it wouldn't be my butt that would be experiencing pain....

Your inner arm and butt sorry. I can only remerber the butt lolsss

I haven't tried fresh young coconut water, but it sounds delicious!

U betcha!! Lots of nutrients too right @rebeccaryan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57882.05
ETH 2579.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35