Running my own curation trail experiment to promote chainBB testing/feedback

in #chainbb7 years ago (edited)

A couple week ago, @cryptoctopus ran an experiment - How to become a paid beta tester - to encourage users to give chainBB a shot and help solicit feedback. It brought many new users the chainBB to give it a shot and helped reward those users for doing so. 3 Days ago, that experiment ended and the auto voting stopped. It was simply too draining after HF19 to continue voting with the patterns he had set out. I decided to try my hand on it as well since it encouraged participation so well!

My Curation Trail

So starting last night, I crunched some numbers, and decided to take my own shot at it.

Currently, every post made via chainBB is getting a 0.05% upvote from my account. While my account isn't as large as many others, this tiny fraction of a vote still awards $0.20 in estimated value, and doesn't drain my voting power quite as harshly as using larger percentages. Over the last 12 hours I've cast votes on roughly 350 posts made via chainBB and my voting power has remained quite steady above 99%.

I am not sure how long I'll be running this experiment, but for the time being, it's on until it becomes a problem or needs adjusting. It may be discontinued at any point in time, at my discretion.

Larger upvotes for Feedback & Bugs

Another thing I've been doing is giving larger upvotes to those users who find (new) bugs and provide great feedback. This type of information is incredibly useful to me as I'm building out chainBB so I want to encourage it as much as possible.

You can participate by using the following forums:

Within the bugs forum - unique (and unreported) bugs will by far receive the largest votes on my behalf, and the more details/effort put into the report, the higher I'm likely to upvote.

For suggestions - I really want to know, in detail, what you think of the platform and what it would take for you to make it your permanent home for Steem. Writing "I want this!" and nothing more isn't incredibly helpful, but if you explain why you want a specific feature, cite examples (with links) of places that do that well, and even go so far as to technically describe implementation... those are all factors that influence my vote. I'd love to engage with you on your ideas! As a community we can truly build something great.

This is all subjective from my opinion of course - so please keep that in mind.

Others are welcome to join my trail or even delegate SP

I'd encourage others who are capable (and know how to setup either a trail or a bot to autovote) to follow my curation trail and promote 3rd party platform usage of Steem. Simply follow my voting patterns and I will do my best to not deplete your voting power, while still awarding those users who are giving the new platform a shot.

Edit - It's also been suggested to me that a different way to support this experiment would be to delegate some Steem Power to my account. You're more than welcome to delegate SP to my account (and revoke it at will) for the duration of this experiment. Just remember, it takes 7 days to return to your account after revoking :)

Did this whole thing sound confusing, and you're not sure what chainBB even is?

Here's a few posts to get you started, some by me, some by other users:

Success in Steem via multiple platforms (besides steemit.com)

Bitcoin isn't at it's level of success because a single website implemented and is using it, and the same holds true for Steem.

We need thousands of websites with different purposes powered by the Steem blockchain to truly levels of global penetration. As a user, I'd encourage you to check out all the various websites and apps that integrate into the Steem blockchain, and help them all reach their maximum potential.

If I had a post I could link to that highlights the various platforms and their differences, I would link it here, but I don't have one on hand.

This ecosystem revolving around Steem is going to grow at an exponential pace as we fan out across the internet, and I hope you are all as excited as I am to be a part of that!

Sort:  

We need thousands of websites with different purposes powered by the Steem blockchain to truly levels of global penetration. As a user, I'd encourage you to check out all the various websites and apps that integrate into the Steem blockchain, and help them all reach their maximum potential.

Well I'd looked and thought "cool" but never used ChainBB before; now my next post with be through ChainBB just to understand it better. I will give my feedback on it later via a post using it.

The same here..loving it

It's certainly different. Maybe a good idea would be to find an existing bb community and get them to start a BB community.

That's the plan! Just waiting until the forums are less-beta and most of the bugs are fixed :)

/r/ethtrader/ is a pretty robust, crypto familiar group. If they could make crypto while posting and benefit from similar upvote sorting mechanisms, might be a good fit.

How nice of you to leave yourself such a large Upvote... lol...
@pocketechange

@Jesta, is it an automated process of upvoting or you are manually doing this much hard work?

It's completely automated via a bot. The bot votes on posts made through chainBB, but throttles itself to avoid voting on too many topics and draining my voting power. I still like to cast votes manually for bigger amounts ;)

i will get on the chainbb forum platform and drop my opinion of it soon

Great isnt it? loving it. Lets stay in touch

How much voting power i should use if i want to follow your trail? Same as you 0.05% or more? Though my vote does not worth much. But i would like to help you on your project.
I am very new to blockchain, would love to learn n help but right now i cant run even cli wallet or minning steem 😭

Mirroring my 0.05% votes would make the most sense, but being able to vote at 0.05% requires a certain amount of SP.

How much to be exact? I can buy thatin steem and convert it to SP?

I don't have exact numbers, but it's probably a pretty high amount. If I had to guess, I'd say thousands of SP, if not 10k+ to go sub-0.1% voting.

I also don't want to encourage anyone to buy SP just to support this experiment :)

Great strategy I am all in . Upvoted and following you in order to see your posts and support you become more successful
Lets stay in touch.

Also see why steemit will take over social media -including facebook:

https://steemit.com/steem/@charles1/why-steemit-will-disrupt-social-media-and-make-socializing-profitable-again

I've got two questions: If I post on chainbb, will the post also be visible on Steemit? And do you have deleted the gaming section?

  1. Yep - all posts are made on the Steem blockchain, and thus visible via Steemit.com
  2. Nope, it's under 'Entertainment' now as a sub-forum, available here.

Oh there it is. Thank you for the quick respond!

I've just now stumbled across making curation trails, autovoting and such. Interesting. Didn't know it existed, and don't quite understand it just yet.
Luckily, I stumbled across this forum a couple days. Been great. Appreciate the 20 cent votes! As a noob, they are fairly valuable. Haven't experienced any bugs or issues at this point, so nothing to report on that front.
It's starting to blow my mind how big Steem and it's blockchain are going to be.
I'm only learning coding at this point...wishing I could contribute in the same way as jesta has. Eventually will.
Investing outside funds into Steem at this point. So, third party apps such as this to expand the Steemit landscape help everyone win in the longrun. Good job.

Thanks for upvoting.

Thank you as always for making chainbb great! I love being a paid beta tester! :) More power to this platform.

Can I see anywhere if the user chose 100% powerup option. I like to pint out to people not to do that!

Not yet on chainBB you can't, I haven't integrated any information about payouts or what type of payout they choose yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63774.40
ETH 3406.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59