It's Not A Bomb !!! ---------- DIY - Stealth Water Methanol Injection System [SH2OMI] - Update 15.01.18steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cars6 years ago

Hello Folks,
I've been a busy chap again today. I've cut out the mounting plate I mentioned in yesterdays post. Easily done with the trusty angle grinder, followed up with some deft filing, sanding, degreasing and a splash of black spray paint all the while my fingers were losing sensation in the bitter cold.

20180115_172019.jpg

footer2.png


Below is a chronological collection of today's antics, I'll throw in a few bits of information along the way :)

1mm thick aluminium mounting plate all cut to shape and drilled
20180115_125521.jpg20180115_125533.jpg

test-fitting main components
20180115_145158.jpg

a 'Sub Zero' boost switch
20180115_145209.jpg
20180115_145218.jpg

a nice 'back-side' shot ;)
20180115_145309.jpg

tried my hand at crimping up the wires, this was my first attempt at such a task and after a few mistakes things started to 'play ball'
20180115_172032.jpg

20180115_172047.jpg

I'd appreciate advice/comments regarding wiring as although I attained my City & Guilds Part 1 & 2 in Electronics many, many moons ago, I've never wired anything with an automotive component to it. You've probably noticed the 'Earth' strap? I intend to take all the negative wires straight to the chassis, is this normal practice? There will of course be a fused feed taken from the fusebox when things progress further :)


Previous posts on this project:

https://steemit.com/cars/@eggmeister/diy-stealth-water-methanol-injection-system-sh2omi-update-14-01-18

https://steemit.com/cars/@eggmeister/new-video-part-2-diy-stealth-water-methanol-injection-system-sh2omi-update-12-01-18

https://steemit.com/cars/@eggmeister/new-video-diy-stealth-water-methanol-injection-system-sh2omi-update-6-01-18

https://steemit.com/cars/@eggmeister/increasing-power-diy-water-methanol-kit-sketches-and-musings

https://steemit.com/cars/@eggmeister/more-power-water-methanol-injection-product-placement

https://steemit.com/cars/@eggmeister/sh2omi-should-i-diy-stealth-water-methanol-injection-system

Many thanks for stopping by,
Please show your support by doing the usual U, C & R ;)

TTFN,
Robster.

footer2.png

Sort:  

Looks really pro. I’m useless at wiring, but I do know you can run everything neg to the chassis just as Chris says also.

Why thank you kind sir ;)
Cheers for advice, it'll make stuff easier knowing I can go straight to earth :)

Can't wait to see this in action bro!

I'm probably building myself up for a massive fail here LOL
I certainly hope not.
Take my time and make sure I cover all eventualities,........ well, that's the plan :)

Either way you have still put in a ton of effort and if it does blow itself up you can learn from your mistakes and built it better (and even compete with the likes of devils own and the rest haha)

If I hydro-lock the engine then the missus won't be to happy [she's the breadwinner lol] I greatly appreciate all your support @nelkeljdm :)
Mmm, competing with the 'big-boys' might be pushing it a bit ;)

I do like the Banks Power kits though, fully computer controller incremental injection (well, some sort of water/meth wizardry)........... plus that Pikes Peak truck of his amazing.
http://www.trucktrend.com/cool-trucks/1311-freightliner-cascadia-birth-of-a-super-turbo/?iframe=true&width=660&height=100%25

Looking good so far. From what I can see wiering looks ok negative to chassis should also be ok if you signal is positive

Hi, much appreciate the advice :)
Yup, I believe the signal is +
Thanks again,
Robster.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57258.35
ETH 3065.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33