MORE POWER!!! Water/Methanol Injection - Product PlacementsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cars6 years ago

Hi all,
Just a little update on the SH2OMI (Stealth Water Methanol Injection) project I intend to perform on my little Skoda 1.6 diesel.

shomi2.png

skoda2.jpg

A couple of months ago I removed the wiper arms and scuttle panel so as to see the size of the cavity underneath for all the parts I am wanting to place there, completely out of sight to the casual observer. As stated in a previous post, I now intend to use the existing windscreen washer bottle as the source for the water/methanol mix and NOT the cheapo ebay purchased 1.4 litre tank I managed to test fit in front of the cabin fan intake in the pic below.

20171025_142359.png

So if you can imagine that bottle removed from the cavity and instead a preformed aluminium sheet bolted to the vehicle at point '3' which will have mounted on it the water pump, solenoid valve and boost switch. Those of you with a keen eye may have noticed an extra cable along side the bonnet release cable at point '1'. This is some twin core electrical cable that I have fed through a hole in the rubber grommet and into the cabin, accessible via the dashboard passenger panel. As all components will be earthed via the chassis, I therefore have 2 'lines' available. One for making the system 'live' (simple on/off switch in hidden location) and a 2nd for the return circuit to light an LED to show when system is actually active (when boost switch receives sufficient pressure from turbo to send 12volts to the solenoid and pump). There is also a grommet at point '2' but I had difficulty feeding cable through.


Below you can see the pipe connector for the washer jets. I will insert a T-connector and check valve (non-return valve) between these two points in order to divert water to the SH2OMI water/methanol pump without sucking in atmospheric air from the washing jet nozzles instead.

20171025_142028.jpg
20171025_142124.jpg

I hope this has started to give you guys a bit of an insight of where I am going with this project. Please feel free to upvote and resteem.

The original post is available here: https://steemit.com/cars/@eggmeister/sh2omi-should-i-diy-stealth-water-methanol-injection-system

Many thanks,
Rob.

footer2.gif

Sort:  

Interesting to watch this project progress.

Greatly appreciate your support :)
Thinking I might do a post on the BlueSpark tuning box.............. when it ain't sooo cold outside :)

Upvoted what I can to support this goodness :)

Thank you @nelkeljdm
Much appreciated :)

I seriously want to see where this ends. Love creativity and you seem to have that going for you. Hope it works

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99