SH2OMI - Should I? [DIY Stealth Water Methanol Injection System]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cars7 years ago

Hello All,

I've been toying with the idea for several months now about building my own water/methanol injection kit for my little Skoda 1.6Tdi, I've even created a name and logo for it ;)

The car has already been uprated from the factory 103hp (105ps) to around 132hp (135ps) with a Bluespark Automotive 'Pro + Boost' module but I'd like to take it closer to 150hp with W.M.I.

The car weighs 1144kg(2522lb) and has a 0-62mph time of around 9.0secs (up from the factory 11.2secs).

I believe the Snow Performance system for 1.9-2.0 VW diesels (the Skoda has the VW 1.6 tdi engine) can muster 35hp and 40lb.ft. torque increases. Obviously, my ad-hoc D.I.Y. system on a smaller engine with probably half the pump pressure of Snow's output will undoubtedly yield lower figures. Hopefully something like a 15hp/20lb.ft. increase, although modest will make a noticeable improvement in acceleration. If I do build this system, I will incorporate an ON/OFF switch somewhere on the dashboard as for 99.9% of the time, the system will be deactivated.

shomi.png

I've worked on several different designs, all with an aim to make a virtually invisible (stealth) system under the bonnet. Each one has it's pros & cons. :-

1) using the existing screen-wash bottle or a bespoke hidden one under the scuttle.
2) manual throttle switch activation or boost controlled activation.
3) pre or post turbo nozzle placement.
4) etc., etc.

the EGG-mobile
skoda.jpg

SO WHAT IS WATER / METHANOL INJECTION?

I'm glad you asked!
Basically, the injection of a fine mist of water or water & methanol into the intake cools the charge of air that is about to enter the combustion chamber. Cooler air is more dense i.e. more oxygen is present in the chamber creating a bigger bang and more power. Luckily, this bigger bang doesn't come from increased chamber pressures (engine failure risk) but from extended torque characteristics on the downward piston stroke as the detonation timing is very slightly delayed by the cooler air/fuel mix. (I'll need confirmation on the validity of the above statement :) A side benefit of water/methanol injection is two-fold. Firstly it can increase efficiency (more mpg) and secondly the steam created by this process can clean/remove soot deposits from piston crowns, valves and EGR valves (extending service life of the EGR valve).
W.M.I. is a big WIN, WIN, WIN all round!

List of parts required:

1) High pressure 12v water pump.
2) Boost pressure switch.
3) Misting nozzle.
4) Custom mounting plate for pump and boost switch (for under the scuttle).
5) Various tubing, connectors, check-valves, wiring, switches, LEDs, etc.


I thought it was about time I follow the trend and throw an animated gif in here ;)

SO THEN FELLOW STEEMIANS, SHOULD I ENTERTAIN THIS PROJECT???

I reckon all parts for the chosen design are available on ebay and should cost not much more than £100. In terms of labour, probably about 3 months to complete lol........ all depends on my competency and looming winter weather.

If my fellow steemians are happy to get behind this project, I will gladly Steemit my progress throughout.

I greatly appreciate your time for reading this post.
Many thanks,
Robster.


footer.jpg

Sort:  

They used water injection on the WWII warbirds. You might get some tips from what they did. People are studying it these days. Interesting experiment. :)

Upvoted, I am a minnow, so it is not worth much.

I gratefully appreciate all upvotes @smithlabs :) I've given you 100% comment upvote as a thank you :)

Yeah, I think that's where I heard about it first as I've always had an interest in aviation. I think it runs in my blood (I use to fly paragliders) as I have a cousin who use to fly the harriers in the royal navy, an uncle (on same side of family as my cousin) who retired as a Sqn. Ldr from RAF Coningsby and his brother who's been an air traffic controller all his career.

Many thanks,
Rob.

Beyond my technical understanding, but sounds like a good idea to try.

Full upvote to support it.

Fully supporting your support ;)
Many thanks @pennsif

It'll go one of two ways........

  1. More power (which is nice)
  2. Big noises, smoke, steam, oil, sad faces

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55128.91
ETH 2303.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31