Paths into ruin

in #cambodia6 years ago

ankor wat 4.jpg

When it comes to ruins and wandering

Angkor Wat is one of the craziest places I've ever been. I mean, you buy a pass at the gate, I think it was $50 for 3 days of access ($25 for 1, $100 for 7), and they basically let you loose on this giant compound made up of dozens upon dozens of old, no, ancient, ruins. There's no one there to really supervise, and you can literally scramble anywhere and everywhere you want over the buildings. At your own risk of course. And, depending on how much you respect other peoples beliefs.

I assembled these images from an album I found.

They seemed to string together, a series of Paths into Ruin. Whether walking from building to building, or approaching one for the first time. It all felt so deep and dramatic. A thousand different potential tales of intrigue with each step. What would I see when I stepped through that doorway, what would it be like to walk up this approach, climb these stairs? The mind reels with possibilities.

Wow do I love exploring :) Hope you enjoy this collection of images! Would love to hear if you've ever been there! So much more to come :)

ankor wat 1.jpg

ankor wat 5.jpg

ankor wat 3.jpg

ankor wat.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mikesthoughts
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=paths-into-ruin


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I am lost for words! Your photos are beautiful. I really would like to visit here someday. I am interested in the lost civilizations. Have you ever heard or visit the underworld Yonaguni in Japan before?

I used to live in Japan but never heard of that place. Definitely going to have to find it the next time I visit. Thanks for stopping by and looking!

Wow! You lived in Japan before! Yonaguni is near Okinawa under the ocean. When you go back to Japan, Please check my hometown Hokkaido too. There is Oshoro stone Circle in Hokkaido. I shared a picture before. That place is very beautiful. https://steemit.com/art/@koto-art/stone-photos
I like your photos very much so I will visit your blog again! Thank you!

I remember hearing about Yonaguni now! Crazy mysterious place.

Thanks and hope you have a great day!


Congratulations!

This post has been voted Good! Upvoted and resteemed on Salt Water.

Click @alphawhale to have your best post upvoted and resteem free.

Read some of our quality resteemed here
&
Click here to read about @alphawhale

Such an amazing place! It kind of looks like a place they used for the movie "Mortal Kombat" back in the 90's; just tugged at a memory from my teen years lol.

I'm surprised you can wander round and clamber over the elements? Considering their age it must be quite risky; different cultures I suppose. Here in the UK absolutely everything is restricted. Stone Henge is now roped off and can only be seen from a certain distance because they feared they might collapse.

Risky is the right word for it. In that part of the world they still kinda believe in survival of the fittest...and smartest. Of course there were signs and occasional barriers, but nothing that was too forceful. Most of the people who go are usually in big tour groups that are like parents, or individual travelers like me, who are pretty responsible.

They actually filmed part of Tomb Raider in Angkor Wat. I might drop some of those tree pics tonight :)

That's right Tomb Raider, I remember now :-) Good to know some people are being sensible ;-)

Some...not all, lol.

Yeah, can't remember if I knew before or found out after :)

It is a huge temple is there to risk to lose the way because of its large perimeter ? I suppose they provide to you a map of the site don't they?
Hope one day to visit it as well

Hehe, you can get kind of lost. But the edges are pretty obvious. And normally you've hired a tuk-tuk to take you between the different sites. It's a huge compound of buildings including several main structures. Ankgor Wat is just the most famous. Next up would be Bayon, and a couple others. There's a map, but the scale wasn't accurate or easy to work with, hehe. Like a roadmap vs a sightseeing one. This was also like 10 year ago, hehe.

Thanks for your response

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63003.41
ETH 3122.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52