🌸 Desert.plants.passion / Turbinicarpus pseudopectinatus

in #cactus6 years ago


Turbinicarpus pseudopectinatus


P5020687.jpg



T. pseudopectinatus is very small Cacti, as all other members of genus Turbinicarpus. It is recognizable by white spines in comb like formation. All cacti that have that kind of spines are called 'pectinated', and usually have that word in their name. Root of this plant is tuberose, it function as a tank, so it can endure long period without water. How important roots are shows the fact that roots can be bigger than stem itself. Life under ground has the same importance as life in the sun.


26501583857_20ee0068d2_o.jpg
T.pseudopectinatus in early spring


41372749371_d6f562a9db_o.jpg
T.pseudopectinatus forming buds


This one that you see on the photos is about 20 years old. Although this species is not recommended for beginners, I bought it among first as a young plant and was fortunate enough to have bought it from a seller who planted it to a good soil mix. T. pseudopectinatus is particularly sensitive to the excess water, and must have soil that dries fast. Knowing that fact I even put it in a clay pot so that it dries quickly even if it gets wet in the rain. Sometimes the wind blows a lot, so rain pours even in those that I keep in a sheltered place. It was a caution that I had neglected with years, so one year I have planted it in a plastic pot and of course it happened to got wet in the rain and the root has rotten. As I looked at my Cacti often I noticed at a time that this one was not progressing as it should be. I checked the root and they were rotten completely, but, fortunately, the steam was healthy. I cut off the root and put the plant back in the mineral mix, in clay pot (!) and in the sun. It was summertime, good time for rooting any Cacti, and it recovered easily and quickly. I will never plant this one in a plastic pot again! Growing plants sensitive to moisture in a plastic pot can only succeed if they are grown in greenhouses where temperatures are much higher and soil is drying much faster.


40659599824_87a123b645_o.jpg
T.pseudopectinatus forming buds


Last year I was very pleased, it gave me many seeds that I sowed immediately, in the same year. Seeds of many species of Cacti have better germination next year, but seeds of Turbinicarpus genus have good germination in the same year when the seed emerged. The seedlings of this T. pseudopectinatus that germinated to me last summer are still very small, slowly progressing but healthy while 'mom' continues on growing and progressing successfully.


P5020671.jpg
*T.pseudopectinatus in flower



P5020684.jpg
T.pseudopectinatus in flower



Thank you for your attention!



Some of my other cacti & other succulents stories:


Desert.plants.passion / Turbinicarpus valdezianus
Desert.plants.passion / Cacti spring flowers
Desert.plants.passion / Cacti collection waking up
My 2018 - This is my Hobby: Growing Stone Eaters
Desert.plants.passion / Stapeliads / Flower Seduces Flies!


If you are interested in reading about desert plants from my own growing experience fell free to follow and enjoy!


@andrijana

Sort:  

Beautiful pictures. Interesting post.
I liked your cactus. Beautiful!
His thorns remind me of caterpillars.
Cacti with such thorns (but not so white) were sold in our store. But I did not buy, because I did not know how it blossoms.
I would like to see pictures of your little cacti grown by you from seeds.
How many days does the flowering of one flower last?

Flowers last for few days. I'm not sure exactly how many days. I have never count.
Seedlings of this one T. pseudopectinatus, only 9 months old ! (photo taken right now):

WOW!
Pretty what! But I probably do not have the patience for growing seed!
I need flowers right now!

:-) :-)

:D
Yes, huge patience is needed.

And I have not enough of it. All my patience goes to cats and orchids :-)

Hi! Thank you for subscribing to my blog! I'll sign up for yours too. I also love cacti, these are my favorite flowers! You have a great art, what technique is your favorite?

Hi! Your blog seems very interesting. :)
Thank you very much for a compliment. Mostly I'm painting; using acrylic, oil and oil pastels, but love also ink, graphite pencil and charcoal. Sometimes I'm painting watercolors, but it is not my favorite technique.
I also love sculpture but have never dedicate myself to it. The color is my greatest interest.

At the University I had a thesis on sculpture! Now I am studying the technique of oil pastels, I would love to see your work in this technique, please give a link )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68775.79
ETH 3844.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66