🌸 Desert.plants.passion / Turbinicarpus valdezianus

in #cactus6 years ago (edited)


Turbinicarpus valdezianus


image.jpg



T. valdezianus is a small plant, growing very slow, even slower than many other members of Turbinicarpus genus. There is no problem with growing if it is potted in mineral mix that dries very quickly, if it is watered with care and caution and if it overwinters in a dry and cool place. In summer it likes lots of sun, naturally.


image.jpg
T. valdezianus with its first flower bud, 2015.


image.jpg
T. valdezianus with its first flower, 2015.


This little being that I care for many years, has been progressing perfect at first. It looked flawless and bloomed for the first time in 2015. And then suddenly it stopped making any progress, there were no growth or flowers. It just stopped. I checked the root, everything was fine. Than I decided to repot it, I gave it deeper pot, and new mineral mix. Two years later it began to grow again, and this year it is blooming. But if you look more carefully at the shape of its body, you’ll notice that it is no longer flawless, there is a 'waist', a constriction in the middle of its body. It is clear that something has happened few years ago. Now it is growing and blooming, which means it has overcome the obstacle that has emerged and now everything is fine, which I am very pleased with.


image.jpg
T. valdezianus 2018.


I am very sympathetic to this botanical herb, it looks like a tiny white candy. It’s flower can be white, magenta or pink. With years it can become interesting branched plant. I'm wondering how progress will go further with this one that I care for. Will it be branched or it will stay solitary? It still didn't give me any seeds. I would like to sow it once because I like its flower color, and it would be nice to have more of these beautiful creatures in one pot. It would look like tiny, feathery rocks that bloom. :) I’m looking forward to it and am aware that I have to be patient. Cacti growing is just impossible without patient.


image.jpg
T. valdezianus 2018.



Thank you for your attention!



Some of my other cacti & other succulents stories:


Desert.plants.passion / Cacti spring flowers
Desert.plants.passion / Cacti collection waking up
Desert.plants.passion / Echinopsis mirabilis / Miraculous Creature
My 2018 - This is my Hobby: Growing Stone Eaters
Desert.plants.passion / Stapeliads / Flower Seduces Flies!
My Cactus World of Joy


If you are interested in reading about desert plants from my own growing experience fell free to follow and enjoy!


@andrijana

Sort:  

Very beautiful cacti and photos!
And I liked the "waist" cactus! It gives it originality.

Thank you! Oh, I will tell that to this little creature, I'm sure it will be happy ;)

Wow you know your cactus...thats so amazing. They surround us here but we don't know their names 😎😎

You're very lucky! :) I love arid places and stony lands and everything that grows there!

Lol. Well keep checking back, we have arid and dusty in abundance during the summer. 😎😎

Think about using steemSTEM tag, because this post looks very promising.

Join us on Discord to see the details.
https://discordapp.com/invite/5v7sWVg

A možeš pisati i na našem jeziku uz yu-stem tag:

  • post mora da sadrži reference
  • slike ne smeju da krše autorska prava
  • post treba da ima naučni pristup. Primera radi, ovo je neka biljka iz familije Cactaceae u koje spadaju... a Turbinicarpus nastanjuje... ima primenu ...
  • volimo da vidimo originalne radove ljudi koji poseduju zaista dobro znanje o onome o čemu pišu

Zabranjeno je:

  • copy-paste, i direktno prevođenje
  • upotreba slika koje su pod zaštitom autorskih prava

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68846.60
ETH 3872.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66