🌸 Desert.plants.passion / OffshootBirth

in #cactus6 years ago (edited)


image.jpg
Echinocereus triglochidiatus HK1296


Most cacti, regardless of whether they are smaller or larger, create offshoots.
They emerge from the areola, growth potential point, from which spines and buds usually come out. (Exceptions are Mammillarias, which create buds among 'mamilas')


There are always special cases, exceptions. That word, exceptions, was at least favorite to me at elementary school when I learned Latin. That language could be called 'exceptions'. 😊 But when it comes to cacti, every exception, every special case seems like a little miracle to me.


image.jpg
Echinocereus triglochidiatus HK1296


There are several cacti that make the offshoots in a kind of special way.
Rather than creating stems from the areole, as a small ball that is slowly getting bigger, in some cacti it looks like giving birth. The epidermis of the mother plant breaks, and the new head comes out of it. The new body, the future new branch is born.


image.jpg
Echinocereus triglochidiatus HK1296


Fantastic, isn’t it?
😊


image.jpg
Trichocereus bridgesii


image.jpg
Trichocereus bridgesii



Thank you for your attention!



Some of my other cacti & other succulents stories:


How do I get so many seeds?! / Astrophytum myriostigma
Genus Rebutia
African Stars / First stapeliads flowers this spring
Faucaria/ The Throat of an Animal
Pelecyphora aseliformis


If you are interested in reading about desert plants from my own growing experience fell free to follow and enjoy!


@andrijana

Sort:  

Haha it looks like it would hurt them to give a birth to such spiky baby!
I saw that myself few years ago on our San Pedro's cactus. I almost felt sorry for the mother :p

Congratulations with the baby!
Sorry @andrijana, but it seems to me that the cactus is sick with dry rot, maybe I'm wrong ...
I would like to.
What do you think about this?

If you think on that brownish color around the base ?.... It is natural process called corking. :)

And!! if both plants are creating offshoots it means that it could not be dry roots, for sure. With dry roots cactus CAN flower, but CAN'T create offshoots! And on the other hand, if the roots are rotten, they would stop growing. But both are growing and shining, have that healthy aura around themselves.

Only flaw that I noticed is few spots left by thrips on E. triglochidiatus, but they are not dangerous, and I think they are gone now. I am not using insecticide for that.

It's great that I was wrong!
But there are so many similar symptoms ....
especially since I'm not professional in this.
Thank you!

Corking is normal way of ageing cacti. But, yes, it can be mistaken with rot or sunburns or spider mites...

It does look like it is giving painful, spiky birth. I haven't seen that before, only the bud offshoots. Fascinating!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58300.22
ETH 2638.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44