Byteball Know-it-all bot weekly update (3)

in #byteball6 years ago

I started to write some code for a Q&A Byteball chatbot and think I am starting to get a hang of it. Previously I made a plan on what I wanted and completed the setup.

Development Process

I keep trying to streamline my development process and got a little further in getting the node REPL to work with Byteball, but turned out the node's built-in REPL takes over stdin. So even though I got past the chatbot Passphrase, but when the headless-wallet goes to logging output to log.txt file, the REPL has already lost control of stdin. So, back to restarting the wallet whenever I want to try out some new code.

Data Persistence

Since I prefer not to work with SQL for data persistence across wallet restart, therefore I opted to use node-persist , which is a key-value store that works directly with the filesystem and has a mainly Async API. Since my Q&A data structure is mainly based on device address lookup, this seems like a reasonable way forward; and I get to store to filesystem asynchronously, so hopefully things will work out.

Economics

While I am developing the code, I have been thinking about the economics. One problem that I'll probably hit quite soon with a Q&A bot is that I would need critical mass, otherwise questions goes answered. Since there are a couple of chatbots with a good number of users, is there a way to bring users in from other chatbots? For example, could I advertise my bot in their bot? Or maybe inter-bot communication, such that people can ask questions on other bots, but have the questions sent to my bot?

Next Step

I haven't gotten to the most interesting payout part of the chatbot yet, but reading other's progress that's probably the next step.

Sort:  

Congratulations @whoisterencelee! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58102.40
ETH 3065.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26