BACK UP YOUR NEW BYTEBALL WALLET - DON'T BE A LOSER! HOW-TO & WHY YOU SHOULD

in #byteball6 years ago (edited)

backup-byteball-by-grow-pro.jpg

Don't Be A Loser of Good Crypto!

If you have recently claimed your FREE BYTEBALL AIRDROP, then there is one more thing you must do to be a truly vigilant HODLER. If you have no idea what airdrop I am referring to - please read the OFFICIAL POST HERE.

If you have already claimed your airdrop, you will want to follow this simple advice below!

REMEMBER THAT YOUR REWARDS ARE SPLIT INTO LIQUID/ LOCKED. You will have funds locked up for one year, so it is more than wise to backup that wallet before losing that device that holds it! You won't have to worry about losing that crypto before it unlocks if you perform a full backup.

GET STARTED! BACK THAT WALLET UP NOW!!

You will want to click the tab that the red arrow is pointing to above.

BYTEBALL-Wallet-backup-step-02.jpg

CLICK SETTINGS / GLOBAL PREFERENCES

BYTEBALL-Wallet-backup-step-03.jpg

SCROLL DOWN TO FULL BACKUP

BYTEBALL-Wallet-backup-step-04.jpg

SET YOUR PASSWORD + WRITE IT DOWN ON TWO PIECES OF PAPER AND STORE THEM IN TWO SAFE PLACES

DO NOT CLONE WALLETS / USE THEM ON TWO DEVICES AT ONCE. USE MULTISIG

DO YOU WANT TO LOSE YOUR CRYPTO? OF COURSE YOU DON'T!


It is absolutely vital that we remind everyone that we can who took part in this wonderful opportunity to be safe and backup the new wallets. I would hate to see BYTEBALL go through all of this trouble and effort to gift the Steemit community this FIRST-EVER airdrop opportunity and see people make a simple mistake that costs them their tokens. If you have any questions regarding how to backup your wallet, please feel free to comment below.

HOW TO CHANGE UNIT OF MEASURE TO GB INSTEAD OF BYTES

change-unit-byteball-.jpg

Selecting GB will show the unit of measure that you will find on an exchange when looking up $GBYTE

change-unit-byteball-2.jpg

THE DEFAULT IS SET TO BYTES, BUT YOU CAN CHANGE THAT

sharing-is-caring-_steemit_grow-pro.jpg

THANK YOU10 TO THE BYTEBALL TEAM

IF YOU APPRECIATE WHAT I AM DOING & WISH TO HELP OTHERS AVOID LOSING THEIR CRYPTO - PLEASE RESTEEM & SHARE THIS WITH FRIENDS!!

Helpful links:

• OFFICIAL BYTEBALL AIRDROP POST - https://steemit.com/steemit/@punqtured/official-byteball-airdrop-to-steemians
• MY HELPFUL ARTICLE - https://trybe.one/first-airdrop-on-steemit-•-byteball-airdropping-now/
• BYTEBALL Slack Channel: https://slack.byteball.org/
• Extensive BYTEBALL Wiki: https://wiki.byteball.org/
• BYTEBALL EXPLORER TOOL: https://explorer.byteball.org/

*NOTE: Use the explorer tool to search address of those asking for funds for attestation. Beware that dishonest people are everywhere and users like @rival (who was one of the MANY offenders that I observed) will paste their address hoping unknowing users send funds although the user had already attested - FRAUD. That is sad. BE SAFE, NOT SORRY. TRUST BUT ALWAYS VERIFY, as my friend @finnian,​ would say.

IF YOU HAVE NOT YET CLAIMED​ YOUR BYTEBALL TOKENS, I WILL GLADLY ASSIST • YOU WILL NEED AN ATTESTED USER TO FIRST SEND YOU THE FUNDS TO PAY FOR YOUR STEEMIT ATTESTATION - I WILL NOT ONLY PROVIDE THAT BUT ALSO SPLIT MY REFERRAL BONUS WITH THOSE WHO HAVE NOT YET CLAIMED.

That is right! I'm giving people half of the liquid rewards I earn from their sign up. Just ask my new friend @cryptoslicex because he just got his own referral bonus back from me within the hour. You can also ask my pal @jackmiller who I was also glad to share the liquid bonus with - he might not have claimed any otherwise without my incessant begging and bribes 🤣.

Sharing is caring and I am happy with what the BYTEBALL team has shared with me, so I am paying it forward a bit. The majority of rewards for referral are locked for one year, but as a believer in GBYTE and also a token holder (aside from this lovely addition) I would like to put my faith in the team and let them show the progress I feel is to come. Progress that will surely be rocking the web and changing the way that we crypto. I'm so glad to see this happen, honored to take part in it and I look forward to the future for Steemit and BYTEBALL alike. Another friendly reminder....

Since those tokens are locked into the smart contract, be SMART - BACK UP YOUR WALLET NOW!!!! Don't be a loser!

IF YOU FOUND THIS POST HELPFUL AND WOULD LIKE TO BYTE @GROW-PRO

BYTEBALL ADDRESS:
JIBCMLOKLO26JAMKA36OCNPAZCJ4ZSDD


click to visit @witnesspage on steemit, managed by @jackmiller

Sort:  

This is really good advice here. Because the wallet doesn't remind users to do the full backup after the attestation, I also think that many users will loose access to their wallets within one year when their smart-contracts will be open. More people should be talking about backing up cryptocurrency wallets.

Congratulations, your post received 15.33% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @grow-pro! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

Thank you for reminding me. I honestly completely forgot to do this. I'm waiting for it to export now but it seems to be being a real pain. I'm sure it will work though.

Just wanted to add one thing - I read this morning that the bytes required for the attestation bot are no longer necessary. Users can apparently now do so for free :)

I read this morning that the bytes required for the attestation bot are no longer necessary. Users can apparently now do so for free :)

Hey @herbertholmes! Where have you read that info? ¿Can you fling that link to us please? :)

https://medium.com/byteball/byteball-steem-attestations-now-referral-by-link-only-8ec6c79276b5
Medium article from BYTEBALL - they've halved rewards for lower rep users, eliminated attestation fee, referrals are now via download link only, new accounts after 7/12 are not eligible. All welcomed changes if you ask me!

Thank you mate!! :)

Yeah, curiously I found that same article by myself a few hours ago through a link on an interesting post made by @themarkymark.

Cheers!!

I tried backing up last night, it said it completed, but no idea where the file saved on my chrome book, its a bit odd. I will have to investigate and see what happened.

How do you use the explorer to search address of those asking for funds for attestation?

Try searching for the filename on your HD - ByteballBackup this is the default filename. If you set your password and click "EXPORT" it opens a drop-down menu to select where to store it. Try searching for the default file name (unless you altered it).

You can use the BYTEBALL EXPLORER TOOL to see the address of those asking for funds:

https://explorer.byteball.org/

Open that tool and simply paste the address into the search box - you can see if someone already has funds to attest their account. You can also amend the link with the address like I have for my own here:
https://explorer.byteball.org/#JIBCMLOKLO26JAMKA36OCNPAZCJ4ZSDD just add the # + Address.

Hope that helps! Thanks for dropping in @senstless

Reading compression prior to my morning caffeine leaves a lot to be desired. Your showing how to verify if those asking for funds actually require them, not a way to find people who need the funds, duh... time to brew some tea.

You can find people asking for attestation in comments in Byteball related posts, but just beware most of them are playing a con game..lol I would suggest making some tea and sifting some Byteball threads if you wish to find users who need the funds. 😉☕️

Hey hey what a great and informing post to all new wallet holders! I have not attested yet? Not sure how to do it but would love to do it through you? What do you want me to do?

Right on! Yeah brother I'd be happy to help you claim those tokens and even send the liquid referral funds back to you. You need to setup a wallet for whichever device you are using.
• Download a wallet first:
https://steem-byteball.org/#JIBCMLOKLO26JAMKA36OCNPAZCJ4ZSDD
• Once installed you will want to get your wallet setup - making sure "Single Address Wallet" is selected.
• At the bottom of the wallet, Click "RECEIVE" to copy your wallet address.
I sent you a private message on TRYBE, toss me your wallet address that way or someone will likely snag that ref reward and I doubt they'd share like I will..lol
• Once you have PM'd me your wallet address, I'll send the funds for attestation.


After you have the funds, we a fire up the attestation process:
• At the bottom of the wallet, you will see a button "CHAT" - select that.
Screen Shot 2018-07-17 at 10.44.32 AM.png
SELECT THE TOP OPTION "BOT STORE" and select the STEEM ATTESTATION BOT
• This should prompt a robot message:
Screen Shot 2018-07-17 at 10.46.05 AM.png
• CLICK THE CIRCLE WITH 3 DOTS & SELECT INSERT MY ADDRESS
Screen Shot 2018-07-17 at 10.47.09 AM.png
Next, Click the SEND button and that should prompt you to ATTEST via Steemconnect. NOTE: You will need your STEEMIT POSTING KEY to link using Steemconnect. Do not use Memo keys because they have been recently disabled for Steemconnect. POSTING, ACTIVE, OWNER keys will work.
• Once that is successful, it will tell you to close the window and return to the CHAT, where it asks to store public or private (PUBLIC) is how you will attest your Steemit name. Click your response "public"
• Then, all you have left to do is send the attestation fee to finalize your process. This can take a few moments but you will get a message from the bot stating your attestation is now complete and also how much reward to expect in your wallet.

If you have any issues, I'm always happy to help. Let me know when you've completed the attestation and I'll check my wallet & send the liquid funds that I earned from your referral right back your way!

Hey so when backing up the wallet after hitting the export key it wants access to photos, media, and files? Anyway around that or is that no big deal? Part of the process so it seems but whats up?

That is news to me and I've attested my account and my wife did hers without that. Might be a question for @punqtured or the byteball support.
I would double check that.

Someone else I asked just said this is normal for the backup process and not a big deal. IDK

I guess it depends on the type of the machine and the app that is used because I did not get any messages like that, but I am also using mac. That might be different for mobile devices. Always good to check around 😉

Yeah it is a phone app so I can see where it's different now. I went ahead a did it but still reluctant. Anyways thanks for taking the time to reply and ease my mind brother. I've always got questions when it comes to crypto!

No problem at all!

I've always got questions when it comes to crypto!

That boat is full of us, brother...hahahahahahaha It's a process that requires constant learning. I think that is what keeps things interesting here in the world of crypto. Hurl questions at me anytime and we can poke around the web for answers 😉

Huh so after you set up your pass word and hit the export key a window didn't pop up asking you to "Allow byteball to access photos, media, and files on your device?" Options are deny or allow. When I deny it it states export failed and won't let me continue?

I will be doing this my friend!! Thanks for the easy tutorial!

Thanks for this post @grow-pro, I am quite a n00b at this whole crypto world and this was the first airdrop that I have participated in, and it never even occurred to me to back up my wallet. I put mine on my phone and it is highly likely that I will upgrade before the 12 month contract unlocks. Resteemed.
Peace.

It occurred to me as I was looking at a cracked iPhone screen - this wallet would not be any good to me without the device and data within the wallet. I quickly realized that I had not taken, literally, any proactive measures to protect the 'gift' that I was given. It's better to be safe than sorry is what I was always told as a child, so I backed up the wallet right away and figured the information wouldn't hurt to share. THANKS10 for the resteem and support ✌️😎

Well said - very useful and informative - it'd be a shame to lose it because of something silly like this. Resteemed to do later on and let others know.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by grow-pro from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62816.09
ETH 2466.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64