B&W Photocontest: Plants - Mossy Forest Gap

in #bwphotocontest7 years ago

Greetings, Steemian friends! This is my 3rd entry for this week's B&W photo contest hosted by @daveks. Made possible with the continued support of @papa-pepper, who serves as this week's judge as well.

This photo was taken just before I reached Mt. Tabayoc's peak. As me and my trekking buddies were about to reach the summit of Mt. Tabayoc, we encountered a large gap brought about by timber falls of around 3 large trees in the area. At face value, one may decry such timber fall occurence, even though it's due to natural causes. But gaps in forests generally improve a forest's heterogeneity of species. Simply put, an opening in a forest, in this case a montane mossy rainforest, enables other low-lying plants and grasses to be be given a higher chance to receive adequate sunlight for them to survive and propagate. So gaps like these promote biodiversity in forests. The said gap has given us a chance to see the view below.

As you can see in the photo, at an angle, we were able to peek through the vegetable terrace fields of the local residents. I wanted to see Lake Tabeo, but the trees were in the way. A cloud was passing by when I took the photo; I waited around 10 minutes for it to completely pass but it seemed determined to hang around. Anyway, the cloud served as somewhat like a filter for the photo, making the view somewhat monochromatic - adding some sort of mysticism vibes in the photo overall! :) Just like my 2 other entries, this photo was taken using my trusty Nikon D3100.

Tabayoc Pre-peak bw.jpg

I know it seems unreal and photoshopped, but sometimes ideal conditions present itself, and you just have to have your camera ready. That's what I also like about photography!^^ Here's the colored version for your reference:

Tabayoc Pre-peak colored.jpg

Hope you like this entry. If you want to read up on my trekking experience, click here. If you want to view my other 2 entries, click the links below:

Thank you for your interest in my post. I would appreciate it if you could give me an upvote and tell me what you think by giving me a reply below. Have a happy week end! :)


Thank you for visiting! :D

Sort:  

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 4000 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!
Read here how the new bot from Berlin works.
@resteem.bot

Congratulations @dean101! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @dean101 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Turned out pretty well @dean101 photography is difficult moving from dark into light.

This is actually my 6th shot.T__T The others were overexposed due to the light.

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

nice pic frustrated photographer here

That makes two of us! Still has a lot to learn. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70287.75
ETH 3955.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66