Thursday is Butterfly Day Giveaway- Week 10

in #butterflyday5 years ago

Thursday is Butterfly Day Giveaway: Week 10. Post your butterfly photos or art work for a chance to win Steem Basic Income Shares. 2 SBI shares will be given away, one for art work and one for photos. If no art work is submitted, 2-SBI shares will be given away for photos. You have 6 days for entries in this post and then a new one will begin. Photos and art work will not be judged and winners will be chosen at random. The winners for Week 9 are @felt.buzz and @maxili63. Congratulations!

Here are the rules for the Giveaway.

1-One submission per person per week.
2-All photos and art work must be your own work. Photos and art work from the internet will not be accepted.
3-Make your own butterfly post and use the tag #butterflyday as your first or second tag.
4-Drop the link of your post in the comments below.
5-Upvotes to this post are not necessary but would be greatly appreciated, and will allow me to give away more prizes.

I am looking forward to your photos and art work!

Here are my photos for this week of the Silvery Checkerspot.

The Silvery Checkerspot flies closer to the ground than other butterflies do and can be easily found on Black-eyed Susan flowers because that is their host plant to lay their eggs. The can also be found sipping nectar on common milkweed, asters, daisies, red clover and a few other flowers.

Male Silvery Checkerspots can also be found sipping from mud puddles and wet soil as shown in the photo below. They do this to add important minerals and nutrients to their diet.

They are fast fliers so have your camera ready.

Thanks for stopping by!

Image Source: All photos are my own.

Information Source: insectidentification.org

This fun nature banner of the things I love is brought to you by @shasta. Thank you!

Sort:  

Such a cool contest I still havent got any shots of butterflies but I am looking out for them

Thanks for your support @tattoodjay and keep looking. I am sure you will find one. : )
I missed another one of your #wednesdaywalk because of another migraine and now the photos are out of date. Hopefully I will be able to participate next Wednesday.

Sorryt o hear about the migraine, and I am not tight on the Wednesday rule, so if you have shots you can feel free to do the post anyday :)

Thanks! I get migraines every 2-3 weeks and they usually last 2-3 days. Last week it only lasted one day which was a miracle. I am very busy on Wednesday's (if I don't have a migraine) so I am happy to hear that I can still post the Wednesday Walk on another day. Sigh! : )

I am glad this migraine was so short for you, Lets hope that becomes the norm,
and for the walk I am pretty easy going anything goes :)

Hi @irvet! Thanks for your entry. : )

Hi @biti! Thanks for your entry. : )

You got a 4.18% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @whatisnew! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Howdy there Butterfly! Great shots of that beautiful creature! Almost makes me want to like butterflies! lol.

Howdy @janton! Thanks for your kind words and support. All of us will get you to like butterflies sooner or later. : )

haha! Probably so...I was going to say I like to swat them but that would just be mean because I don't
really do that. Moths yes but not butterflies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63506.20
ETH 3065.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04