When Will You Give Up? Great Question!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

The other day @snowpea asked me a great question and I wanted to answer it here.

She was responding to my post saying Steem isn't dead we are regrouping...

image.png

The best thing about her question is it is one I've asked myself. I know I have lost some perspective on Steem and I have a bias for hoping it does well.

Due to that bias, I've had to consider, "When is Enough, Enough" When should this non-quitter quit?

I do have an answer, for me the signs that Steem is past being worth my efforts are pretty clear.

  *When we can't retain witnesses
  *When the blockchain is having problems consistently
  *When we see any double spend problems
  *If the place was filled with filth  (arbitrary) but when I am turned off by most of the content.
  *So little trading volume we are delisted from large exchanges.

I loved the question because it implied to me that she is asking if she can trust my judgment or if I am always optimistic. I am also sometimes critical and I am also well aware we have some heavy problems.

My background is startups. I've never worked for one that went from beginning to end without some really ugly regrouping places in the process.

It's okay to be messy and have legitimate issues, the entire crypto industry does.

Anyway, thanks for the great question @snowpea

For the rest of you...

What is your breaking point?

@whatsup

Sort:  

@whatsup,
When we consider this question based on crypto industry, I will give up when STEEM reach $100-$1000

Cheers~

I don't have a beaking point because I'm already broke.

I stick around for the entertainment.

hmm, i do not think I have a breaking point yet. After December 2017, I see this platform like a football match.....anything can happen. In that case, let me use this time and gather as much as I can.

Yes, anything can happen. It's an interesting point and because of the football reference it made me think of...

Any Given Sunday. Which is a real factor in crypto.

Thank you for this! Your answers were great too. I agree 100%, especially with what you said about filth taking over. I would also like to add that if we lost too many people and I barely got any replies to my comments/posts - I'd be gone. Really no point in being here if there's no interaction. In the past a handful of posts received over 100 comments. Not so sure if that will ever happen again, but you never know. We'll just keep on keeping on. :)

I reckon I'll be here 'til the lights go out and they start stacking up the chairs.
I love it here so I'm hoping for a crypto revival and a resurgence of interest in Steemit.

I also think there will come a time when crypto is cool again. I am working while hoping for that end.

Well, my feed is pretty sparse of late, so I guess most of my entertainment on here is via the interactions with the few people still around. I guess my breaking point would be having no-one left worth talking to. I dislike leaving comments only to have no reply and love some of the longer chats I've been having.

Posted using Partiko Android

Last time when we went to .07 cents it worked out that it was easier to find each other. You would likely gain a lot of followers and then if we go through another fast time, you already have a nice following.

With all the bad press Facebook gets these days, I think Steemit is in a good place to fill the inevitable void. They just need to hurry up and make signing up easier, get private messaging, and photo albums on here.

While I totally agree we are missing a great opportunity with the issues of Facebook, the problem on steem is..

Who is "They" this is regarding... They just need to...

Mine are pretty much the same as yours, in effect it's when it literally isn't working anymore. Like it's failing at the technical and functional level. As of right now, the price is depressed, a lot of users are depressed, but everything is still working and development is still going strong. The potential is still here even though a spotlight has been put on some of our biggest problems.

It could end up being a blessing in disguise because we all know now where the biggest cracks in the hull are.

Yeah, that is my point also.. It isn't about the money until the lack of money brings about a dysfunction we can't get past.

This post has been included in today's SOS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



I like your description of "regrouping". I am totally seeing that as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99