2017 Review: My best paintings

in #busy7 years ago (edited)

2017.jpg

Revisiting the drawings I uploaded this year I was shocked to see that one of the nine wasn't published here before, I thought that I would have shared all on steemit but it wasn't. That's why I'll make a brief comment when we get to "the non published"

This year was full of dreams and some remain smouldering for this year that's about to start. I felt really proud for the repercussion that some of my drawings achieved in the community ("The long road" obtained the most upvotes in one of my posts ever) and, in general, it was really positive.

If I had to distinguish with a word this year I would choose: Challenge. Challenges I put myself into, as you can see below in my illustrations the paper is different in some and that's because I tried to use watercolor on very thin papers to improve my handle with water, something key in this technique. The results weren't always what I would have wanted to be but I feel satisfied knowing all I've learned.

This drawings were chosen by my followers on Instagram (my username it's also @siucatti) and as an introduction, I wanted to show you the most liked from 2015 and 2016 before the best 9 from this year.

2015 - Astronaut Anna Fisher
Anna Fisher.jpg

2016 - Two Footprints
two footprints.jpg

And now, the best from 2017

"The Cave of Forgotten Dreams - Tiger"

The cave of forgotten dreams-tiger.jpg

"Hong Kong at night"

Hong Kong.jpg

"The long road"
The long road.jpg

"MechWarrior and the Universe Battletech"
mech final.jpg

"Imagine Dragons"
imagine dragons-full.jpg

"La dame dans l'auto avec des lunettes et un fusil"
La-dame.jpg

"A very sad Wrenn Schmidt"
Wrenn Schmidt.jpg

"Halloween for 90's kids"
halloween.jpg

"Saved by the moon"(The non published)
saved-by-the-moon.jpg
With this illustration I wanted to represent the differences between men and women, this idea came from the time I spent reading Osho speeches transcriptions about his ideas, one of his concepts portrayed the idea of how we all have to take different journeys to connect with our essence, who we truly are, and the magic things that happens when we end up finding us, men and women, in the middle of our path. I don't consider myself a follower but I like to learn about what people believe in and take from that my own conclusion.

And these were the most liked by my followers. I hope you share with me this year that is about to start and wish that every day we get one step closer of fulfilling our dreams. Happy new year!

Sort:  

I really like "The long road" with its early XX century orientalist style.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #6 (3/1/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

i particularly like the animal paintings, they look so real especially the tiger one! the Halloween for 90's kids bring back some memories :P

Thank you! Yes, the tiger is one of my favorites too, I used really thin paper and when I finished I was surprised at how it ended up looking. Happy new year!

happy new year too with more paintings!

Haces un buen trabajo no dejes de dibujar tienes talento ;)

Gracias Lourdes! Un placer.

These are amazing, it deserves a huge upvote!

Great achievements you have there! Keep drawing keep steeming!

Thank you and happy New Year!

really nice stuff! I could never wrap my head around watercolour beyond just using it as an accent but you managed to get some really vibrant colours in there. I like The Long Road in particular.

Happy new year to you and I'm looking forward to seeing more new artwork from you in the new year! :D

Thank you! It's just trial and error, using the brush really loaded can be a little overwhelming but it's just a learning process. You can check the progress photos for The Long Road in the post linked in the title.

Happy new year to you too!

Yes I saw that! I love stuff like that - there's always something new to learn through watching processes.... :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by siucatti from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.05 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43