My #ranttosteemfest #1

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

Last Steemfest, @andrarchy asked me about my thoughts and feelings about Steem. I failed miserably to explain any of my concerns. Instead, I made myself look like an idiot.

This year, I will try to use the tag #ranttosteemfest to address some issues ahead of time.
The idea is, that during Steemfest it will allow me to behave normal around everybody and just meet them as a person.
If they ask me about how I see certain things, I can calmly point to my blog - I do not have to force a debate on anybody, though.

In these rants, I hope to be able to show how frustrating it can be to use steemd, the state of steem libraries and how Steemit Inc's actions and policies appear from my perspective.

#ranttosteemfest #1

15 minute curation burn

Hardfork 20 came with a lot of changes.

One of them:
If you vote before the 15 minute mark, your voting power gets burned.
If you vote too early, you might burn all of your curation rewards.
The rewards will not go towards the author, but instead go back to the reward-pool.

The main effect is that it further impedes organic and manual usage of the blockchain.
What happened to KISS ( keep it simple stupid ) ?
How do you think the average internet user will handle this rule ?
How many will understand it ?
What is the purpose ?
How is this better than giving these shares to the author as curation rewards ?
Why does the steem api still support the 'autovote' feature, when it clearly would be a complete waste of resources to use it ?

Why did this come with a full host of changes again ?
Why do hardforks have to be this drastic ?
Can we not incrementally change one feature at a time and observe the outcome independent from other tweaks ?
Was it necessary to include this change into HF 20 ?

As usual, I feel like shouting these questions into a void.
Other than github, I have no sources to see who is working on what and what their intentions are.

Perhaps this will become clearer in the next episode of #ranttosteemfest:

Who is the CTO of Steemit Inc ?

I bet you did not know and have no idea, when he was employed.

Spoiler: http://goldibex.com/ <- this is his personal/professional homepage.
... Yes, it does not load

For now, I invite everybody to join the tag, and rant away.
How do you think about the 15 minute lockout ?

Let's get it off our chests, so we can fully enjoy Steemfest !

Hope to see you there,

@felixxx

Sort:  

If you vote before the 15 minute mark, your voting power gets burned.
The rewards will not go towards the author, but instead go back to the reward-pool.

That's not true. Parts of the curation share of the votes before 15 min remain in the pool for HF20 which went to the author before (source). 75% of the vote value go to author in any case.

corrected.

Honestly, better 15 than 30 min. And as long as the reward pool stays the same, the now "missing" rewards should just be redistributed.
--> no losses.

Unless my logic doesn't work atm.^^

right...

I propose you delegate all your SP to me.
I will use them to redistibute as I see fit.
--> no losses.

^^

What it really does is shifting some rewards to curators who wait 15 min before voting. And it's quite effective against early self-voting.

Different question: Is your witness disabled long-term? Because if yes, I have to unvote it.

I have one server, only.
In about 1 hour it should be finished replaying the STEEM blockchain.
I will then activate my witness again.

Perfect, ty.

Hmm I have to re-tag all my last Postings.
Or copy my discord rants here.

To boil it down:
Proper management is needed.
The Management of steemit Inc is a utter failure and disaster.
There is neither development planing and managing nor service management.
It just doesn't exists.
For me it seems like a bunch of kids playing around with dad's money.

But we had this already at the beginning of the Web bubble, before it burst.

Again, where is the Roadmap for hf22?
Where is the deployment plan for hf21?
Where is change and release management?
Can you display the processes for releasing a new version, patches, hotfixes ?

Let's see, what witness votes I will lose this time..

There is neither development planing and managing nor service management.
It just doesn't exists.

It does exist. Communication is just poor.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Isn't it just self votes and of those self votes its just the curation aspect which gets returned to the rewards pool?

Happy to be corrected but that was my understanding

First part definitely not, second part would be a huge relief ...

From what I gather, we are only talking curation.

And from that, only the author of the post loses out?

For the curator, voting at 7.5 mins today, was like voting at 15 minutes in the past, only the 50% now goes to the pool not the author?

@crokkon - sorry buddy, one more time for me? :D

Yes indeed, that's what I get from it!

If the first part definitely not that is quite grim

Are the 15 minutes already over? Can I vote now?

Again I have to agree with you. The things you call rants i find to be constructive criticism. Unless there is information posted somewhere in plain sight no one is going to see this stuff. Especially a new user who is all bunny-fresh and just posting and commenting.

It is sort of missing the contructive component and was also poorly researched.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61059.95
ETH 2677.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61